Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability von Universität von Zürich

4.8
Sterne
1,299 Bewertungen
514 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top-Bewertungen

NS

16. Sep. 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

VI

26. Apr. 2022

Wow. What an amazing journey. Engaging, exciting, and as far from broring as it is possible while providing actual knowledge. Perfect balance. The only downside of this course is that is it too short.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 518 Bewertungen für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

von Mohummud D

25. Jan. 2017

I have been looking for a stats course to unlock further learning. This was it! I found the pace, content style worked for me to allow me to proceed on other courses. Yes, I 'hated' stats when younger and feared it. But I am more comfortable and eager to learn more now and put into practice the extensions I am now able to move on to. Thank you.

von Matthew A

16. Okt. 2017

A great overview of basic probability, with interesting applications and motivating examples.

Short quizzes after each video gives invaluable quick feedback on comprehension.

Prof Schmedders is an engaging and insightful instructor.

My only criticism is that it is just 5 weeks of material, it's all over too soon. A followup course would be wonderful.

von Lenis G

12. Mai 2022

Exceptional course. I completed an undergraduate probability course from my bachelor's program, but didn't get the core of probability. Now, thanks to this course I finally got that core, and wanna keep studying probability, even redo this course, in order to correctly apply probability. THANKS TO PROF. KARL, and Jose Parra, for this course.

von Vinayak J

29. Dez. 2017

A great way to revise the basic concepts of probability before you dive into advance topics. This course provides an intuition behind each of the important concepts that makes it easy to understand why certain things are done the way they are done. Perfect length for an introductory course. Assignments could have been a little more complex.

von Kamalkishor P

23. Juli 2021

I was apprehensive at the beginning, should I enroll, should I learn, should I start this course, what if some other course has a better content...etc...etc. I am very happy that I did enroll and complete this course. The professor is one of the best one can find out there! The course is amazing, Go ahead for anyone who wants to learn!

von Alperen Ç K

18. Sep. 2020

Very good course on Probability. As the title says it is an intuitive introduction. No formulas or plenty of problem solving. If you would like to understand the ideas before going deep into the Probability then this is the course. Clear explanation and a lot of real world examples. The professor is absolutetly amazing! Thank you!

von Giovanni V

3. Dez. 2017

It finally got me convinced of bayes' theorem rationality (I used it a lot before).

There are a lot other courses about probability and statistics that goes way deeper, but this one imho is definitely the best to start, since it explains thoroughly the basic concepts, letting the student overcome their initial counter-intuitivity.

von Anastasia T

29. Juni 2017

The instructor is so great. Cheerful and to the point, he wants you to learn without much sweating. The information is simple, and through examples it becomes very well acquired. However, it helps much, if you have some background in working with probabilities. I really enjoy having him as a teacher, even from far away. Great job!

von Thomas G

5. Jan. 2021

The course is very clear and enlightening thanks to the many motivating examples. Despite this, or perhaps because of it, it achieves the learning objective of introducing the basics of probability theory.

Many thanks to Professor Karl Schmedders for his witty, personal and highly engaged way of presenting the material.

von Dmitriy K

28. Aug. 2017

Excellent course for students seeking for understanding of underlying concepts of probability. The course structure and problems are very helpful. Application based problems help to see concepts discussed in the course in action. Would like to see a higher-level course on probability from Professor Schmedder.

von Saidakbar P

9. Apr. 2022

Great introduction to probability. The professor explains the concepts very clearly with intuitive examples. I wish there was another course where this professor goes deep into statistics and probability. Overall, enjoyed the course and would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about probability basics.

von Krishna C C

12. Feb. 2018

Very good introductory course with relevant real world examples to understand the concepts better without just showing some formulas. Really thankful to Prof. Schmedders and TA Jose for exercises. Note that some quiz questions in Wk-3 (3.2) are not opening in Chrome. Very good and quick intro course!

von Mateus F

18. Okt. 2020

I thought that was a really good introductory course and with a lot of real-world examples that help us not just understand but visualize where these concepts are applied. Karl is a great teacher and a fun teacher. I have taken this class in my graduation but didn't learn as much as in this course.

von Alan L

12. Mai 2020

This was a great, relaxed introduction to probability. I learned a lot about the basics, and am looking forward to taking more advanced courses in graduate school. The real world applications really helped in solidifying the concepts, showing just how important probability is in our everyday lives.

von M N

26. Juli 2020

Excellent course for beginners to understand the basics of Probability and it's importance. The examples are well laid out and interesting. This course is also great as a refresher for people who have previously studied Probability and want to brush up before continuing with more advanced courses.

von Muzoon A

13. Dez. 2019

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn with a great Professor such as Prof. Karl. It was a knowledgeable, thoughtful and fun experience. I would and did recommend this course to my network. I really appreciate the effort you all have put to provide us with the best quality. Best wishes.

von John T

26. Jan. 2019

The course lived up to my expectations, providing good intuition for the fundamentals of probability. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a brief overview of the subject. The exercises were a bit too easy for my taste, but that didn't detract from the overall quality of the course.

von RJ S

5. Mai 2021

One of the best online courses I've taken in a while. The concepts were clearly explained, common pitfalls in understanding were addressed, and Karl's occasional humor kept it fun. Jose's examples were also interesting. I did in fact change from disliking probability concepts to enjoying them.

von Jerry R

14. Juni 2017

An excellent course! a very gentle introduction to Probability. Subjects are taught in simple and yet effective explanations with a good sense of humor. I really like the real-world examples and exercises; they greatly help me to understand the concepts and enhance my learning experience.

von Muhammad Y A

24. Sep. 2020

It's been a fun journey! I used to scared of probability or statistics, even if just heard their words made me feel insecure. But after this course, it totally gives me a new perspective and basic knowledge about probability and statistic, I really enjoy this course a lot, thank you.

von Valeriy K

9. Mai 2019

Indeed, this is a very intuitive intro to the topic of probability presented by a great professor. I took this course along with one from the University of London (To p or not to p) which was more advanced. So this course complemented the concepts in a great way. Strongly recommended!

von Jorge V

28. Mai 2018

The course is a good introduction. There are certain aspects of the course I was not prepared and I had to do extra research on my own. I did not obtain answers from the forum but being able to learn something on my own was really nice and I felt like I did something great for myself.

von Zehaie H

5. Aug. 2021

I had taken introductory probability and statistics course back in college. Although I did very well in the homeworks and exams, I must say I did not get it. All up to recently, I felt that course was a waste. But, with Pr. Karl's course, it all came together. Thank you, Pr. Karl!

von Xiaobing W

11. Juli 2021

I like the way this course is organized - about 10 mins lecture followed by exercises. Easy-to-understand language and interesting contents. I've gained a deeper understanding of probability. I wish I had such a course during my university days. Sadly I didn't. Luckily I now have.