Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability von Universität von Zürich

4.7
Sterne
1,113 Bewertungen
448 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top-Bewertungen

NS
16. Sep. 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

FR
20. Mai 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The explanations are clear and, as suggested by the title, the lecturer uses intuition and daily-life examples rather than abstract and formal definitions and notations.

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 447 Bewertungen für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

von Amrendra P S

17. Mai 2020

This course will give you an introduction to probability instead of deep knowledge or concepts. For beginners, this course is better but if you had done any course in probability then this will not be much beneficial for you. Course content if prepared and structured well, examples give you the real-life implementation but assignments are very easy and don does not cover the entire portion of the course.

von L H

13. Mai 2020

Professor Schmedders is very passionate about the subject, and his passion is evident through the lessons. I especially enjoyed learning about the real world applications of probability. My only grouse is that Professor Schmedders did not go into greater depth about the various topics. Hopefully there will be a second part to this course that explores the topics in greater depth with more mathematics!

von Vladimir L

21. Aug. 2017

Down to earth explanation of probability basics, explanations are clear and mostly intuitively understandable. Great examples of Excel use for different probability tasks resolution. However use of Normal distribution Excel functionality is not needed when explaining 5 coins toss. It is more intuitive to show it using combination formula.

von Max G

26. Jan. 2019

An interesting course in probablity and statistics. In some cases the equations given are not explained clearly enough. I would have preferred a demonstration of how the equations were actually derived, but perhaps that was beyond the scope of this course.

von Ibrahim N

13. Jan. 2018

A very good course, especially if you are interested in the applications of probability theory. The title fulfills itself and this course is kind of an alternative approach to the very popular problem: how to understand probability theory in a better way.

von Antonio P

30. Aug. 2019

Excellent teaching of a well designed introductory course about probability. I’ve appreciated how much can be taught while keeping tough maths out of sight. I’ve also appreciated the connection between theory and non-scholastic, real life applications.

von Nithin B

25. Sep. 2020

From a quick introduction to real-world examples where probability is used gave an overview on the topic of probability. Sharing the raw data and generate a summary in excel or libre office calc would be a good thing to get hands-on experience.

von Tengfei H

6. Mai 2017

The course is very interesting. It has taught me a lot about basic ideas/definitions/applications of probability. But the difficulties of the exercises may be raised a little bit to bring a little bit more challenge to this course.

von Rasha A A M

18. Okt. 2020

Thank you very much for this wonderful course mixed with great effort and sincerity by those in charge of it . This course is a great blend of theory and practice with a very interesting presentation of every day life applications.

von Jennifer G

3. Mai 2020

I enjoyed taking this course. It was fairly intuitive as it was billed. I had a little difficulty downloading some of the reading materials but the information provided in the videos was sufficient to take the quizzes.

von aineko

22. Feb. 2018

Good and remarkably easy introduction to probability theory. The chosen real world applications really helped me to understand the subject better. Might have to recap some lessons to really grasp the subject.

von Mayank J

15. Juni 2017

As written in course introduction this course covers basics of Probability. Instructor is good and explains everything from scratch. Would recommend this course for someone who want to learn about basics.

von Prashant

15. Apr. 2018

This COURSE is quite interesting to learn many new thing which has explained very interestingly by karl

but add more on this as many topics are missing in this course and teach more on excel part

von Shriya S

5. Juni 2020

This course was pretty amazing! I learnt so I much about how to calculate probability, and Professor Karl gave many examples too, which made me understand the concepts well.

von Marcomini D U

25. Mai 2020

This course has been extremely powerful giving a lot of intresting example of ststistics application far away from my previous knowledge on industrial process.

von AJAY H

19. Sep. 2019

This course covers very basic and does not explain how the normal distribution works, the maths behind it, and does not have rigorous exercise for practice

von Prajjwal a

20. Mai 2017

I really liked the ease with which Karl taught some of the most intriguing concepts of probability. I would suggest more numerical s to be included.

von Hasan B

1. Feb. 2017

Very nice and entertaining course

Sometimes the quizzes can be a bit frustrating. They could be set better.

Also, often the quizzes are very trivial.

von Roland R

25. März 2020

I loved the practical examples which really helped me to grasped the essence of statistics without becoming confused with theoretical formulas

von Vinod N

19. Sep. 2019

An excellent coverage of topics and good lectures by Karl. My only quibble is that the exercises could be a little more challenging.

von Prasad K

4. Apr. 2019

Very enthusiastic professor. The real world examples were the highlight of the course. Would have liked more math content though.

von Robert C P

29. Apr. 2017

A very nice introduction. The instructor shows a lot of enthusiasm for the subject. The exercises help reinforce the material.

von Crispin R

29. März 2019

Videos were very useful and interesting. This helped me develop my understanding of statistics in my A-Level Maths course.

von Karrtik I

15. Nov. 2019

Excellent intuition till week 4, however week 5 could have been better. Also exercises can be more tougher and rigourous.

von Shivraj R

27. Juni 2020

Enjoyed the course. The instructor seemed very involved in teaching and was able to easily impart difficult concepts.