Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability von Universität von Zürich

4.7
684 Bewertungen
276 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top-Bewertungen

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

RR

Jun 17, 2017

Amazing course to understand the nature of probability and its applications. Lecture delivery by Karl is fabulous and the efforts put in by Jose is highly appreciable. Hoping for an advance course.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 274 Bewertungen für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

von Nguyen M

Sep 28, 2018

Thank you so much! All the explanation in the course were clear and intuitive! I have looked for explanation for probability and random variables in many places and still could not grasp the ideas. and Karl is the best teacher!

von Tobias A

Sep 30, 2018

Very interesting. Even with a limited unterstanding of the math behind probability you will get the gist of the course.

von Khan H

Oct 23, 2018

Nice intuition about probability that can help you to understand the problems in daily life, and how to solve it. Appreciate the teacher of this class for best intuition.

von Rahul K

Oct 24, 2018

A really no-nonsense course that helped me reacquaint myself with the basics of probability. I found the Professor to be extremely knowledgeable, convivial and enthusiastic. Truly, the professor knew his probability. He was able to explain concepts with a childish ease and amazing flow. The course is also very well structured, transitioning from discrete random variables to continuous random variables seamlessly. Personally, I would love to attend more MOOCs conducted by this Professor. A very good course for beginners as well - not a lot of prior knowledge is required.

von MANIKANDAN R

Oct 30, 2018

I am Mathematics Professor in an Engineering College in India. Karl and Jose are excellent. Karl show me a new way of teaching, and it is fun to learn. Since its a basic course I know the concepts, but still it is interest to learn. This course give me some refreshment in probability concepts. The title of the course and the content is superbly matching. Hats off to Karl, Jose. Salutes to Coursera for give me an opportunity like this.

von Bilonozhko A

Nov 01, 2018

Great course, thanks a lot! Incredible simple and understandable presentation of the material.

von Walid Z

Nov 04, 2018

Simply excellent. I had a lot of fun learning about probabilities and clarifying some notions that I missunderstood.

Thank you very much

von Steven L

May 05, 2017

Great intro to probability concepts and Karl is a very personable and interesting teacher

von Peniel

May 08, 2017

I enjoy this course, and actually I had fun.

von SongNan

May 04, 2017

Very cool course let me dive into probability from very different traditional Math Formula perspective, and give me many chances as I can to apply what I learned into real application. I will definitely recommend this course to any other people.

von deepak k s

Jun 16, 2017

This was a a very interesting course and it helped me appreciate probability even more. Thank you so much.

von 柳思杨

May 03, 2018

brilliant cases,but too easy

von Angel R

May 11, 2017

excellent take on a difficult subjet. Very clear explanations of complex concepts and with every day life examples.

von Zsuzsanna J

May 09, 2017

It was an awesome course, Karl was a great teacher, I really enjoyed the lessons

von Benjamin L

Apr 26, 2017

Easy to understand, funny, straightforward, and taught in such a way that it is immediately clear as you are learning how these skills can be used in the real world. I highly recommend this course to anyone seeking to learn about the fundamentals of probability, even those who don't use the subject in their career or lives.

My only bit of criticism would be that the course relies on intermittent checks for understanding as the sole criterion for passing the course rather than longer, broader problem sets. I would love to see more in the way of rigorous exams and projects. But I suppose that's what more advanced courses are for! If this course is intended to be a gentle introduction to the broad subject with the understanding that students will follow up with more advanced coursework as necessary, they have certainly succeeded admirably at that goal.

von Javier P R

Feb 21, 2017

Very interesting introduction to probabilities.

Satisfactorily explained and quite enjoyable.

von Ammarah F

Apr 10, 2018

this course is really helpful in building basics about probability. it explains with examples and also make us think about the wrong approaches we have been tricked by. in lecture quizzes are really nice aspect and keeps me engaged.

von Yris C

Mar 08, 2018

Awesome!

I'm not english-native, but still could totally understand it. Only touches the necessary detail. It is truly simplified and it did help me develop my intuitive probability skills with the "exact" amount of scientific "background" needed for me to apply it to my field. Now I feel I am capable of evaluating and prove my inferences, so I'm closer to a scientific probability than to a "paranormal" one. XD

I'm so proud of all this work you've done, grateful for your help and admired by how you managed to accomplish the maestry to teach it like this. Thanks a lot.

von SANTHA A

Nov 02, 2017

I have been teaching probability for many years, but this course helped me to get a lot of insight about real life applicaions. I enjoyed the course very much. Thank you.

von James A

Nov 25, 2017

A great introduction to the subject, very well taught and with engaging and fun exercises.

von P V S V P

Dec 10, 2017

Excellent course. Very good examples, really makes you want to learn more about probability

von Roee S

Mar 10, 2018

Probability is useful and fun, and i'd like to learn more. Thanks

von Giovanni V

Dec 03, 2017

It finally got me convinced of bayes' theorem rationality (I used it a lot before).

There are a lot other courses about probability and statistics that goes way deeper, but this one imho is definitely the best to start, since it explains thoroughly the basic concepts, letting the student overcome their initial counter-intuitivity.

von Carlos V

Sep 19, 2017

Excelente curso introductorio a las probabilidades. Es un gran comienzo para entrar en el mundo de las decisiones.

von Deleted A

Feb 16, 2017

Professor Schmedders succeeds in giving a very intuitive exposition of the basics of probability, eschewing most formulas while still covering many of the key concepts needed for studying probability and statistics. He has great enthusiasm for the material and injects just the right amount of humor into the course, so the lectures are never boring.

The course would serve as a good "taster" of what probability is all about for those unfamiliar with the subject, or as a warmup or refresher in preparation for more technical courses.