Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability von Universität von Zürich

4.8
Sterne
1,224 Bewertungen
485 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top-Bewertungen

NS
16. Sep. 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

MI
9. Aug. 2020

This course has made me fall in love with probability. Highly recommended for anyone who dislikes probability. You will end up loving probability later. Great instructor and quality lecture material.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 488 Bewertungen für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

von Donna K

19. März 2020

Wonderful course! I've never been as fascinated with the subject of Probability as I am now. This has been a great starting point. I was quite sad to find out that Karl Schmedders has no other MOOC on Coursera. I would have taken them all. I'm now off to start other (slightly more advanced) Probability courses. Thank you, Karl and Jose! You are fantastic teachers. Learning from you was so much fun. There was never a dull moment. I cannot recommend this course highly enough.

von Gaurav K S

17. Apr. 2017

Excellent approach to explaining the theory. The emphasis on getting the fundamentals right was a welcome change from other similar courses which get into problem solving mode too soon without clarifying the basics. That being said the usage of multiple real world problems like Monty Hall, Prosecutor's Dilemma and the brilliant explanation for solutions helped me derive great clarity on key concepts. The best Coursera course I have encountered in a while.

von Olivio A C J

3. Juli 2020

The course delivers what it promises, and quite well. It is not, as its name infers, a mathematical course. Professor Schmedders' explanations are very good and makes the classes very interesting to watch. It is an introductory course and is a good first step to go deeper in the theme in other courses. It was worth doing. Thanks a lot, professor Schmedders. I hope you can prepare other courses for us in the future. I loved your first course.

von Carlos L

11. Juni 2020

The couse is well constructed, Karl and his TA explains in a very simple way and make use of how probability matters in famous real cases, from finance to law.

As its name indicates it's an introduction course, so do not expect advanced math concepts or probability. To gain a basic of overview of the subject is more than enough. Depending on your level it could be very basics or maybe you want to dig deeper in still basics math concepts.

von Lim J H

30. Juni 2020

Thank you, Prof Schmedders and his team for preparing this course. Although the material is elementary, it is easy to get things very wrong in probability if we do not have good intuitive for it. This course has managed to conveyed the crucial fundamental required to grasp the concept of probability. Highly recommended to anyone who has difficulty understanding probability or just want to have some fun refreshing your knowledge of it!

von Manikandan R

30. Okt. 2018

I am Mathematics Professor in an Engineering College in India. Karl and Jose are excellent. Karl show me a new way of teaching, and it is fun to learn. Since its a basic course I know the concepts, but still it is interest to learn. This course give me some refreshment in probability concepts. The title of the course and the content is superbly matching. Hats off to Karl, Jose. Salutes to Coursera for give me an opportunity like this.

von Terry M

6. Feb. 2020

The professor was spectacular. I am a 69 year old retired lawyer/law professor who always loved math and the logic associated with math. The professor was skilled at teaching the building blocks slowly, clearly and with humor. I note that the printed 'titles' for the last one or two lectures contained several errors (it seems the transcriber may have been on 'automatic' and not thought about the content.)

Bravo. Great fun.

von Mariam K

11. Jan. 2022

T​his course was great! It covered some basics and not in an overwhelming way, it was very interesting.

I​ have learnt the probability and statistics in school and then uni but was never interested and neven understood everything, i was just using pieces of knowledge, but this course helped me very much! Now I can move on to other courses without worrying that I will not understand the subject thoroughly!

von MADHAV S

24. Mai 2020

Honestly I was having a hard time this semester Because of some advanced statistic courses that I had and my basics weren't clear. But this course really helped me nail it. This was really intuitive fun and the examples were really Good. A huge thanks to the Instructor. I had so much fun in doing this course. I was afraid of math but this really got me excited I'm looking forward to more statistics .

von Peter H

14. Jan. 2021

+ Clear explanations

+ The written text of the lectures is helpful

+ Very good examples in Module 3

+ Good explanation of the binomial distribution

+ Airline Overbooking is an excellent example

_ The formal definition of the Student's t-distribution is confusing

_ The Q-Q plots are only superficially treated in the course script

_ Is the solution shown for the exercise of Module 5 really a Q-Q plot?

von Заров Е А

31. Jan. 2019

That was the great course! I really enjoyed by it.

Thanks a lot for the teacher. All examples were clear, all concepts were understandable.

I was completely intended to continue each next lesson.

And the words in the title "Intuitive" and "Introduction" are absolutely proofed! It was quite introductory

- not so easy but not so hard. And I have got a good intuition inside a topic!

Thanks a lot!

von Hatsumi N

8. Okt. 2020

Fantastic perspective of some basics of probability. To design a course around "intuition" is brilliant, and students will move beyond manipulation of numbers and formulas to truly building a strong foundation of understanding the utility and meaning of probability in the real world. The passion of the instructors shine through and inspires the student to continue on in the subject.

von Karl S C

26. Juni 2020

The most fun way to learn statistics. Cool professor. Examples were relevant and the materials are top-notch. He makes probability bearable for people who want to learn it but are somewhat "turned off" by the Maths. Side note, the teaching assistant looks like The Flash and Charles Leclerc.

Overall, a great course to take if you want to learn probability easily. I highly recommend it.

von Ahmed A

9. März 2021

I enjoyed this course! everything is just done right. The only exception, is sometime the only way to answer a question, was to re-watch a video to pick up a number; because the question required a side-context explained in the video or in an excel sheet; which seemed unrelated to the value of the content. Otherwise, the course is awesome. Intuitive indeed! thanks Karl and Jose!

von Mubarak A

27. Apr. 2020

Excellent course. The instructor explained the conceptual ideas and combined them with cool applications.

Including Excell in the examples was a beneficial thing and a nice touch. Also, the quizzes were reasonable and essential to integrating the course.

I toked the course while taking a class about Probability in the University, and overall it is worthwhile to spend the time.

von Umeshraddi K

16. Apr. 2018

Before this course, I hated probability exactly like Karl mentioned in the beginning of the course. But now it's really fun and interesting to look things from probability perspective. Thanks Karl for the course. Thanks Jose for interesting problems and way to solve them.

I look forward to further courses from Karl, please inform me whenever you are conducting a new course.

von Floyd D

31. Juli 2017

I've been trying for years to get to a point where probability doesn't scare me more than clowns. This class has done it for me. He's done an excellent job demystifying the subject and extracting the points one actually needs to understand from all the nice-to know's. Highly recommend the class to anyone in fields like statistics, Bayesian Networks, or data science.

von Y. Z

9. Okt. 2021

Taking the course is just like reading stories. The instructor presented really interesting and simple examples in a humorous way, which enables me to recall important concepts and connect the knowledge with daily life. This is an easy-to-take course and it doesn't take long to finish. But I really enjoyed it with these impressive stories. Thanks to the instructors!

von Marton G

8. Apr. 2020

Very well tought course, with clear explanations. I especially liked that the focus of the lectures is entirely on building intuition and understanding. The quizzes and exercises do not contribute much to the learning, but the lectures alone are well worth taking the course. Too bad there is currently no follow-up course available with more advanced topics.

von Mohummud D

25. Jan. 2017

I have been looking for a stats course to unlock further learning. This was it! I found the pace, content style worked for me to allow me to proceed on other courses. Yes, I 'hated' stats when younger and feared it. But I am more comfortable and eager to learn more now and put into practice the extensions I am now able to move on to. Thank you.

von Matthew A

16. Okt. 2017

A great overview of basic probability, with interesting applications and motivating examples.

Short quizzes after each video gives invaluable quick feedback on comprehension.

Prof Schmedders is an engaging and insightful instructor.

My only criticism is that it is just 5 weeks of material, it's all over too soon. A followup course would be wonderful.

von Vinayak J

29. Dez. 2017

A great way to revise the basic concepts of probability before you dive into advance topics. This course provides an intuition behind each of the important concepts that makes it easy to understand why certain things are done the way they are done. Perfect length for an introductory course. Assignments could have been a little more complex.

von Kamalkishor P

23. Juli 2021

I was apprehensive at the beginning, should I enroll, should I learn, should I start this course, what if some other course has a better content...etc...etc. I am very happy that I did enroll and complete this course. The professor is one of the best one can find out there! The course is amazing, Go ahead for anyone who wants to learn!

von Alperen Ç K

18. Sep. 2020

Very good course on Probability. As the title says it is an intuitive introduction. No formulas or plenty of problem solving. If you would like to understand the ideas before going deep into the Probability then this is the course. Clear explanation and a lot of real world examples. The professor is absolutetly amazing! Thank you!

von Giovanni V

3. Dez. 2017

It finally got me convinced of bayes' theorem rationality (I used it a lot before).

There are a lot other courses about probability and statistics that goes way deeper, but this one imho is definitely the best to start, since it explains thoroughly the basic concepts, letting the student overcome their initial counter-intuitivity.