Chevron Left
Zurück zu Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
451 Bewertungen
97 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 96 Reviews for Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

von Sachin P X

Nov 10, 2018

One of the best courses across platforms- classroom or online that I have taken. Huge real life value addition. Professor Scott has worked incredibly hard in putting this valuable content.

von Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

I've taken several investments classes on Coursera and this is the best presentation of CAPM I've seen. Really systematic and entertaining presentation. I will recommend it to friends.

von Dawnae S

Jul 12, 2019

I enjoyed the teaching and breaking down of answers to understand some investments

von Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

von Antonio L

Jul 04, 2019

Excellent course!

von Alexander H

Jul 04, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. A lot of good information explained very well. The enthusiasm and demeanor of the professor made the course all the more enjoyable. Looking forward to more great content by the University of Illinois.

von ARVIND K S

Jun 23, 2019

Excellent course with huge nuggets of theoretical wisdom complemented by practical techniques through Data analysis and solver. A must for every investment enthusiast and manager.

von Yingyi Z

Jun 09, 2019

Very informative (in fact it's more informative than most Coursera courses I've encountered), but easy to follow.

von

May 03, 2019

Very useful, very detailed.

Best part for me:

- almost no extra reading needed

- perfect length and structure of videos for to/from job trips

- although coarse is focused on US stock market, I found most of the material applicable for MOEX as well

von Juan M M G V

Apr 23, 2019

Great course!

von Stephen K

Apr 10, 2019

This course takes hard work, but if you put in the time, it is well worth it. The professor is top-rate.

von Aashish S

Feb 10, 2019

Amazing course. Gained a lot of insights regarding investments.

von Jason D

Feb 05, 2019

Instructor know's his stuff, but there are sooooo many "ahh" and "umm". It is impossible to follow. I expect better from U of I. Really ashamed. I counted it up and on average in one video he says it about every 10-12 seconds.

von Claudia S

Feb 05, 2019

I would have preferred to be slightly shorter and to the point. For me was a little difficult to comprehend all the words at the beginning.

von Ponciano R

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course full of detailed and well explained examples!

von Stella A

Jan 02, 2019

Very useful course! Many thanks to Scott.

von Kenny S

Dec 19, 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

von Kedves H

Dec 19, 2018

Profound, a lot of information, nice presentation, helpful Professor, lighthearted style.

I can only recommend it.

It takes time, but it definitely

worth it!

von Keith K D

Dec 14, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot of new things

von Manohar A

Dec 03, 2018

I did not like the course. I am a visual learner and learn by reading and seeing. Most of the times important material (like formula, conclusions etc.) were left out from the course material. Formulas are given without explanations of individual components. It means that you have to go back to lectures and listen really hard to understand. Maybe the teachers should have given a text book instead.

I don't understand the concept of peer graded assignments - seems to me an absolute waste of everyones time

von Bo L

Nov 21, 2018

love the course! professor is very funny and extremely knowledgeful! very educational, learned alot in the class.

von Noah M S

Nov 21, 2018

Insightful, informative, and entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

von Noah M

Nov 21, 2018

Well done!

von Deepen ( J

Nov 21, 2018

I learned a lot from this course. This course has fundamentally changed the way I understand investments. I hope to apply my knowledge in real world situation.

von Vivek B

Nov 17, 2018

Excellent course. Thank you for introducing to great world of investments.