Chevron Left
Zurück zu Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
Sterne
776 Bewertungen
182 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

DH
11. Nov. 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL
6. Dez. 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 177 Bewertungen für Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

von Andras I

8. Jan. 2020

Entertaining and thorough at the same time. Although some of the courses I took were following more of an academic style, I don't doublt that this course covered the same subjects with as much or better efficiency. I'm used to the feeling of hard grind while learning difficult subjects - no such feeling during this course. Simply ingenious!

von A G M A T

21. Aug. 2020

This course was really amazing. I'm a mathematics student and I've done project on Black-Scholes model and in future, I intend to do thesis on CAPM, 3 factor and multi factor model which I learnt from this course. Thanks a lot to Prof. Scott Weisbenner and all others related to this course.

von Nathaniel R

7. Nov. 2020

Prof Weisbenner builds the course the same way that you would when constructing a long-lasting structure: preparing the foundation & then building upon it from the foundation up. One can be confident that what is learned will remain in mind. Presentations were very engaging.

von Dhinesh A D

30. Nov. 2020

Foundation course for individuals who seek knowledge on investment strategies, portfolios and decision making. Best lectures and case studies enhance the learning experience to the next level. Highly Suggested.

von Rajesh J

14. Nov. 2018

Outstanding course. The best amongst all Coursera courses I have taken so far. The course was very comprehensive and had a great amount of detail. Looking forward to enroll in the second part of the course.

von Pranav S

3. Mai 2020

Great course which adds a lot of knowledge. Highly appreciate the humor and creative ways of teaching of Professor Scott who keeps the entire course very informative, detailed and yet very interesting.

von Amod T

8. Apr. 2020

The concepts are very well explained with practical examples.The real world examples makes us understand the concepts better and gives us a better understanding of implementing them.

von Arthur V

11. Nov. 2020

Professor Weisbenner was great in a recorded session and in live sessions. He is excellent in teaching complicated materials and providing common analogies to help us understand.

von ARVIND K S

23. Juni 2019

Excellent course with huge nuggets of theoretical wisdom complemented by practical techniques through Data analysis and solver. A must for every investment enthusiast and manager.

von Vibhor K

13. Nov. 2020

Excellent course. Lot of ground covered by Scott and his detailed explanations make some tougher topics give look more easier. His sense of humor and delivery is really nice

von Mohammed S A

16. Dez. 2016

Lectures are nicely delivered!!! BUT videos of lectures should be confined within 15 minutes and be cited data sources and how to we can see and obtain data aswell

von Kenny S

19. Dez. 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

von Andres C M

5. Nov. 2020

Great course, only downside is it takes a lot of time cause its really a lots of video hours compared to previous courses in the specialization.

von Vannisastantin W

2. Sep. 2020

This course is very resourceful and full of useful information that can help me understand accounting and finance information a lot better!

von Megan S

10. Nov. 2019

This course is heavy but I learned so much and the information is very relevant and helpful for better understanding financial investments.

von Petri T

30. Aug. 2017

Great course and professor. Packs a lot of information and did not find any mistakes. Very smooth course overall. Highly recommended.

von Marcelo G L

21. Nov. 2016

Excellent! Professor Scott Weisbenner was brilliant and explained very carefully all lessons, one of the best MOOCs on Coursera!

von Anton A

3. Aug. 2020

The course will be usefull for those who is going to start theit career in investments or to understand basics of investments.

von Palito J E

11. Juli 2020

very good combination of learn material, how the professor teach, through case of real world examples, thanks a lot!

von Mauri M

28. Nov. 2016

Professor Weisbenner provides practical, data driven analyses to investment management in a fun and engaging manner.

von Matthew S

19. Okt. 2020

Excellent Professor with a sense of humor to a somewhat dry subject. I would definitely take a class of his again!

von Andre L S F

10. Sep. 2019

I've been using Coursera for almost four years. This course was my best experience so far. Extremely recommended!

von Yingyi Z

9. Juni 2019

Very informative (in fact it's more informative than most Coursera courses I've encountered), but easy to follow.

von Bo L

21. Nov. 2018

love the course! professor is very funny and extremely knowledgeful! very educational, learned alot in the class.