Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems von University of California, Irvine

4.6
Sterne
5,326 Bewertungen
1,318 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top-Bewertungen

ME

Sep 18, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

LL

Nov 27, 2017

Great class! Overall, it covers mostly the basics of Internet of Things. Good for those who are new to the field. Would not recommend it to those who have some knowledge on embedded systems already.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 1,293 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

von Mohammad A R

Aug 08, 2016

A fairly easy and very good introductory course. It'll help you understand what embedded systems are and how they are used. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone starting out on IoT.

von Aubree K

Dec 14, 2018

Fantastic course - I feel like I learned ALOT more than I had actually anticipated going into it. Looking forward to the rest of the courses in this series. Ian Harris is great! Love how he structures the content & the examples he uses. Had to pause a video just to call a friend to talk about the prospect of reducing traffic with network communication between vehicles. Very exciting stuff!

von mohamed E

Sep 18, 2017

good course :)

please review my assignment to complete my course :(

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

von Liu J

Jul 31, 2019

Awesome course that kick start in setting up IOT device at home.

Do help me to peer appraise my grades for the following modules. Thanks thanks

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/17bhW66JEemN2g6-65EF-g

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/hV36F/module-2-peer-review/review/wlXCTbNLEemm3gryl9APQg

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/Q2kag/module-3-peer-review/review/KySvtLNUEemI4gqYr1IMmg

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/KongD/module-4-peer-review/review/jWl5TLNhEemSIxI01pYu4A

von Abhay D K

Sep 21, 2019

Its a good course to get started with the basics of IOT environment. Different functions performed my various micro controllers are mentioned. Also each topic is explained with exellent examples.

von Shubham C

Feb 07, 2019

The introduction to the Internet of Things was really helpful for me since it is for beginners, so it did help me strengthen my base in this topic. It was fun doing this course.

Thank you.

von Aditya R

Dec 17, 2018

Never felt any sort of burden to complete this course. Everything was explained so well that it didn't felt like I have even completed the course.

von Abhishek S

Dec 24, 2018

It's a great starting point for people who are interested in exploring in Electronics related Field. Dr Harris has taught it amazingly well.

von Barış S

Dec 23, 2018

With the good and exciting lectures of Mr Harris, this course is giving pretty much all about basics of embedded systems and IoT devices.

von ANDE. V A S K

May 22, 2019

provided good knowledge

von Vishal M

Dec 23, 2018

Great Course. Thanks

von PRADHEEP

Jul 06, 2019

Good course

von Vemu N

May 31, 2019

Good course. Helps learners learn about the IoT devices in the easiest way.

von Dale R A

Mar 04, 2018

I took this one second. Really liked it. Thank you Mr. Harris. However, about the whole specialization in general and Coursera in general.

1.) Forums would be really useful on this, maybe it is hard to moderate I understand. Maybe you could suggest some online discussion spaces that you use

2.) I am in the project capstone final course now and came back here to see the microcontrollers I had researched in course #1.. but can't get to my homework. I lost that work which I thought I would be able to look back on. To help with this, if I guess Coursera does not persist your homework, the courses which have textbox inputs should be maybe switched to attaching documents, so the user will tend to have saved the document on their computer.

Thank you I have and am learning a lot. My project will really help me around the house too. This was a great series and worthy of the money I paid to support it the past few months. Keep up the good work. P.S. Ian G. Harris is popular

von Jon F

Mar 05, 2017

This is by far the best course I have taken on Coursera, or any other open online course. In fact, I would rate it as a top five courses ever including my undergraduate and graduate education at preeminent US universities. Professor Harris does an excellent job of giving the learner a survey of fundamental computing, IoT and networking concepts. While somewhat technical, the course is far from boring and his style/approach make it easy for even non-technical learners to follow the coursework. I thoroughly enjoyed the course, learned a lot and look forward to continuing the experience in the full Specialization.

von Thomas h M

Mar 06, 2018

Good introduction. Instructor well organized, concise. The only improvement would be to have more power points such that I wouldn't have to do so much snipping and pasting. The ppts you use are very good, just add more. Many of us will use excel and snipping tools to aid in retaining this class. This method is better than saving the mp4's because we can quickly scan excel pages.

I would add more technical info. The wireshark was cool but expand on it more.

Thank you for your time Dr. Harris and all you others who put this together.

von YOGESHWAR D C

Mar 26, 2017

An great introductory course for those looking to get started into IOT ,great if you're looking for breadth rather than depth , which I feel is essential because of nature of IoT as a domain requires one to be familiar with multiple fields like embedded systems , types of programming languages ,networking , micro-controllers etc simultaneously . Prof. Harris explains complex things in really simple manner without overwhelming the learner which I think is necessary for a beginner to retain interest in exploring further .

von Janna H

Feb 26, 2017

This information was new to me. With a lot of work to watch and rewatch the lectures, I learned A LOT. I had to redo the homework for two separate weeks because I have no background in this field. I found it helpful to grade many more than the required homework assignment because then I learned from my other classmates. It was a challenging class but also interesting. I'm very excited to take the next class in the specialization, Aruduino and C Programming.

von Serhii K

Apr 05, 2019

Very well up course for those who are just starting in IoT and embedded systems. The lectures have a lot of important statements that will let you to do the work right in the future. But please not, that this is an introduction only. The information provided in this course is not sufficient for full-blown projects and developments in embedded field. Please, refer to the other, more advanced courses in the specialization as soon as you will finish this one.

von Zezhou J

Sep 10, 2018

Best course available on Coursera on IoT and Embedded Systems. I have learned quite some knowledge and fundamentals I missed earlier even though I am an IoT/cloud software engineering professional. The instructor/professor is the best part of this specialization. Crystal clear, rigorous, engaging lectures and course structure. Would recommend for learners of all levels (college to industry) across many specializations (CS, ECE, engineering, mathematics).

von Barbara M R

Jan 17, 2016

Well explained and structured course as an intro to the Internet of the Thing, the professor is very clear in his explanations and the tours and videos exploring real life instruments he uses in his laboratory helps you to keep the theory he teaches in connection to the practice. Recommended for anyone wanting to have an idea about the domain. Not only technically speaking but also as a review of the implications of technologies in daily life.

von Dr. A S

Jan 28, 2017

This course is very fundamental information about IOT and basic of embedded systems.

Every one can easily got clear idea about the basic microcontroller and its application of IOT,also how to connect with real world and handled the remotly access the information and contolled any type of devices. Using interfacing of tool analyse the entire any type of networks connected with your systems.

von Jim M

Sep 16, 2018

Very concise, highly organized, and totally up-to-date and relevant. Dr. Harris' knowledge and style/delivery made this course completely enjoyable. I am very happy with all that I learned. Big props to Dr. Ian Harris!

I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to delve into the world of IoT and embedded systems. I am excited to begin the next course in the 6 class specialization.

von Palash J

Jan 25, 2018

This course sets a great learning path for beginners, and if you also opt to complete the entire specialization, I can surely say that it will do you a whole lot of good. This course essentially adopts a holistic approach to introduce students to the awesome world of IoT, and I would definitely recommend this to people who want to start working with development boards.

von Tanay P

Nov 13, 2015

I did the certificate course. I have taken embedded systems during college but didn't understand anything. The teacher here made it so easy to understand and also the assignments encouraged us to do self discovery.

This was the first course I completed on Coursera. I am looking forward to more such courses and completing them with my new found confidence and discipline.