Chevron Left
Zurück zu Israel State and Society

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Israel State and Society von Hebräische Universität von Jerusalem

4.7
Sterne
287 Bewertungen
76 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Israel is a country that draws a lot of public attention around the globe. Nevertheless, both those who support Israel and those who are critical of its geopolitical standing and policies, usually have a very limited knowledge about the Israeli society and its political system. This course presents Israel from multiple perspectives - political, social, economic and cultural - in an attempt to expose the learners to a cutting edge academic research on the country. Each of the 13 sessions is focused on one aspect of the Israeli society. Every session starts with a general introduction of the issue at hand, hosting one expert or more, who share their most recent studies and insights on that specific field. Every 15 minutes, or so, the students are asked to answer an informative quiz of comprised of a single question. Upon the completion of each class, an online chat will be opened. Students studying for credit are expected to participate in it, ask relevant questions and answer questions about the required readings for this class. Students will graduate from this course with a better understanding of the Israeli society, better knowledge of the Israeli history, politics and economy, and better acquaintance with the varying groups of which the Israeli society is comprised....

Top-Bewertungen

DM
7. Apr. 2020

I really loved this course! THanks Coursera, thanks the HEbrew University of Jerusalem for this opportunity. I will keep on learning and hold this diploma as an award! Thanks again!! Diego da Rocha

MM
30. Juni 2019

well and thorough explanations of important topics that allows us to understand Israel State and Society.\n\nI also didn't find the course biased which is a good thing.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 73 Bewertungen für Israel State and Society

von (Rob)Wang S

19. Nov. 2017

My very first course taken in coursera. It has been very heavy on content, but the information is meaningful for a thorough understanding of Israel society. I recommend this course to folks who share an interest in getting to know more about Israel, as well as those who wish to travel to Israel. The course did help me to understand where I am heading towards when I travel to Israel.

von Rizwan A

6. Juni 2020

i am from Pakistan. here less is available to learn on IIsraeli state and society.Israel has been considered an enemy in Pakistan. I would not comment on that but i would surely comment that in Israel ,Arab Israelis have been treated with more sympathy than minorities in are treated in Pakistan. We should try to understand this phenomenon that how Israel has been able to create a tolerant society which respects all its citizens despite their creed, and religion.

von Katarina M

9. Dez. 2017

Great, exhaustive course which provides a lot of insight to all those interested in Israel and its culture and society. This course is definitely suitable for the beginners, but also people like me (master in Middle Eastern studies) will greatly benefit from it. Highly recommended!!!

von Carles B

14. Dez. 2020

Each lecture included some interesting facts about Israel and its society. Maybe I miss the perspective from the Plaestine counterpart, but it's a course from the Hebrew University, and I recognize their efforts to give scientific data and approaches. I would recommend this course.

von Betsy D

19. Jan. 2017

Very informative, and engaging, videos. There are however no links to useable reading texts, which is a shame. But the content of the videos are of incredible value.

von Joy S

2. März 2018

really interesting

von Jennifer K

25. Jan. 2017

I enjoyed this class to the fullest! It was very organized and user friendly! The lectures were very interesting and well as easy to access actual wording because the transcript was right below the video. As an American I have always been interested by The State of Israel but did not know where to find a concise class that I could afford to take . Thank you for providing this!

von Mohamad M

1. Juli 2019

well and thorough explanations of important topics that allows us to understand Israel State and Society.

I also didn't find the course biased which is a good thing.

von Ori S

20. Dez. 2019

I came into the class already knowing a lot about Israel from both living in it and books. However, it was great seeing a college level discussion on the topic.

von FRANK A

28. Mai 2020

A VERY INTERESTING COURSE. IT IS MOST HELPFUL IN HELPING PEOPLE UNDERSTAND WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE MODERN STATE OF ISRAEL.

von Sharon G

18. Jan. 2018

Its fascinating and rich. I feel privilege to listen to and learn from these many great minds.

von Mobasher A

26. Nov. 2017

It provide a broad understanding of Israeli-Palestinian/Arab conflict

von muniba m a

4. Nov. 2020

النظر إلى اسرائيل من زاوية أخرى لكن لن تغير من نظرتنا شيء

von Dalia A

5. März 2021

Interesting and very helpful course, thank you.

von MOSHE A

11. Juni 2020

I felt this was a disappointing course and was the least enjoyable of the last 9 courses delivered by Yad Yashem, Tel Aviv University, London college, and Hebrew University. The information was delivered IMO in a extreme left approach and was not either political or academically neutral. I don't believe I would intentionally take another course like this if Hebrew University continue to take a specific and biased approach to stud

von Aviad D

22. Okt. 2020

This is horrible couse to get a starting point of understanding israel.

The lecturers are very biased and often manipulate the data ,or even lie about the subject matter, so it will fit their left worldview. (The most prominent lie is the portrayal of the Israeli right as those who want to overthrow the rights of Israeli Arabs.)

The subjects in the course are not presented in an honest and balanced way, which is a shame because the course had a lot of potential.

von ammar a

30. Mai 2020

It serves Israeli agenda as it tries to justify the Israeli armies actions against civilians in occupied territories.

von Patrick C

18. Juli 2020

Over the years I've developed a very strong fascination with the State of Israel. I just find the place incredibly interesting, and so have spent quite a bit of time reading books about Israel, watching documentaries about Israel, keeping up with the English-language feeds of Israeli news outlets. This course provided something that was lacking in all my previous study: a true scholarly examination of the nuances of Israeli society, an exploration of the kinds of things that you're just not going to get from even the most thorough of the sources geared toward popular audiences. It was an excellent survey of the forces shaping contemporary Israeli society, one that anyone interested in the State of Israel will find well worth it to take.

von Andrew S

14. Feb. 2021

I learned a lot from this course and have bookmarked a few books and papers to read in the coming weeks. Prof Frenkel was an able and enthusiastic host and her guest lecturers each showed their passion and scholarship - opening up Israel from multiple perspectives. Sadly Professor Ronny Ellenblum died a few weeks ago - I found his lecture on Jerusalem fascinating.

I would comment that the links to suggested reading could benefit from an update - some could be found through careful searching of the internet - and in many cases their authors have written more recently on the topics. Still highly recommended!

von Shagaret

11. Juni 2017

This has been an interesting course for people who like me are curious about the State of Israel. It has been well structured taking us from the beginning of its formation, then through History and finally to all aspects that make up a State. I have learnt some interesting facts as for example how education is organised which interests me since I am a teacher. The lectures have been enjoyable most of them and the quality of them outstanding.

von Thomas C

6. Dez. 2016

The first time to learn about Zionist being is the most appreciating one. This course is well structured in terms of represented scientific approaches, both offering a prospective and retroperspective view's to the learner and choice of historical intensity thereby not missing actual relevance's and sociological transformation into formal analysis of facts and tendencies. It should be said, that's up to the passion of the learner to set scale

von Zachary P S

31. März 2021

This course revealed a history of a nation and the many historic challenges to all the inhabitants of the land both in the past and present. It provided a unique look and understanding of the culture, religions and people as well as the governing principles of the nation. I am now better equipped to understand both the influence and the place Jerusalem and the Nation of Israel inhibit in a unfriendly neighborhood and uninformed world.

von Stephanie R

7. März 2021

Thank you very much for this quality learning experience! I found each session packed with insight, personal and educational. I found myself feeling like I was getting to know the teachers and their perspective as well as a sense of a broader perspective on the subjects provided. I feel that I have a better understanding of the subjects and it has made me desire to learn more...thank you!

von Michelle G

14. Nov. 2020

I truly received a peek into Israeli society, from the ethos to the infrastructure, and of the culture and the history that forms it. There are a few perspectives shown throughout parts of this course, although I did not see eye to eye on some, I am grateful to listen and learn from them. I highly recommend this course.

von Scott Y G

21. Mai 2017

This is a great course, full of new views and perspectives regarding to the Israel Society. The readings assigned are useful and provide some new insights that are somewhat implicitly stated in the lectures.

I really enjoyed the course, and I wish one day I can visit Jerusalem in person.