Chevron Left
Zurück zu Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data von Duke University

4.7
Sterne
1,616 Bewertungen
287 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top-Bewertungen

LB

Jan 10, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

CT

Jul 20, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 284 Bewertungen für Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

von Ong J R

Apr 19, 2019

Good intro to ArrayLists, HashMaps and HashSets, but assignments are very repetitive.

von Labib M R

Dec 07, 2015

Despite having some tedious assignments, this course impressed me. It taught me the new topics very well. I liked working on the last few assignments. I would recommend it to learners looking for a good course to learn Java and it's applications.

von LEKAM R D G B

Jan 10, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

von Chris T

Jul 20, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.

I enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

von 蔡鸿斌

Nov 15, 2018

Great task for beginner.

von Arnav P

Feb 29, 2020

FUN!

von Γεώργιος Κ

Mar 23, 2020

It's not the perfect course (I would rate it with 4.5) but it is one of the best courses you can have that reassures that certificate corresponds to your learning. If you want truly to learn, be familiar with java's simple processes, obtain some computational ability and not just add a certificate to your resume then this course is for you.

The weak part of this course is that the IDE proposed is not so easy to use and you will not use it again after this course. It may also stall your programming. (Most of the time it was so slow to test some things and simple commands I had to open jshell also.)

This course has simple but interesting datasets, wisely chosen for newbies in programming. The challenges given are simple yet capable to add new skills to the student. The student won't have to search the net to find extra information. Everything is in the lectures and watching the lectures and probably some testing will be more than enough to complete the tasks and simultaneously obtain the skill. The challenges are many, though sometimes tiring, and practice ungraded questions make sure that the graded ones will be answered.

If you already know java and seek specialty, this course is not for you. If you want to learn java as a first or a second programming language probably this could be an ideal course.

von Christopher W

Mar 07, 2020

I loved this course! Oh, man what a well-designed curriculum! I really like that it is organized around (simplified) real-world applications, so you never ask yourself "OK but why would I ever ask a computer to do this," LOL. The instructors are great, The lectures are very well organized, and the projects give you enough guidance so you aren't flailing around for hours trying to figure out what to do, but at the same time it isn't so spoon-fed that you feel like you're just taking dictation. The assignments build so logically from simple to complex and you use what you wrote later on. The instructors explain clearly and have great classroom presence. They are 4 characters: the Zuckerburg look-alike, the guy who looks like he lives for the hotel bar at CS conferences, the mad scientist, and the one who looks like someone who spends all their free time making things to sell on Etsy, but in reality probably wrote the Etsy codebase! Way to make learning fun!

von Jade F

Dec 17, 2018

The subject and assignment choices in the course are very practical and enjoyable - the emphasis on cryptography provides a lot of interesting discovery and by the end of the course you're easily cracking very complex encrypted messages. I thought that the log parsing exercises had a lot of real world usefulness for me personally as well.

The course will train you to quickly conceptualize how to solve problems by writing methods that fit assignment requirements and get you on your way to being able to talk about problem solving the way they do at job interviews. I highly recommend this java course - it felt like it had a lot of value all the way through.

von Yang Y

Apr 02, 2017

I so much enjoyed this java tutorial class. The design of each clip/module is very humane and best for the learning from scratch. I have finished this class and the one after it (array list one). I feel very confident about learning Java language and I am heading for the next one (software design principal). I plan to finish all of the 5 courses and then buy the certificate so I will be sure I am not waste my tuition. I am leaving the 1st class (CSS, html) for the last one before capstone because it seems not so relevant to SDE training but more frontend/UI.

von Anand R

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course. Fantastic assignments and projects. The instructors do a great job of motivating the use of data structures. They also introduce object oriented programming in the process. There are a LOT of subtle programming concepts you will learn, for example, composing large complicated programs using small functions/modules, documenting a workflow, identifying when to use which data structure, etc. I highly recommend this course and this specialization. (I watched EVERY video, and completed EVERY assignment, mini-project and quiz in this course.)

von Talgatbek K

Jan 25, 2019

I really appreciated for the effort to make this course possible, I have learnt a lot and I like to think I am becoming better java programmer. I think I might need to do a lot more exercise to get better. I found quite difficult especially Gladlib and Vigenere Breaker. I work as an automation engineer and I write a code every day but this was good challenging tasks and I enjoyed working on it. I have had a lot of sleepless night where I was thinking how to solve the specific issue. Thank you so much.

von Edward F

Jun 10, 2017

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

von Grace N

Feb 13, 2020

There is no high quite like the high you get from debugging your program, and voila. Extremely challenging, but also just as much rewarding. Highly recommended. Just breathe, break down the problem into smaller smaller much smaller components, have the overall picture in mind (the 7-step they pound you on), and take advantage of the debugger. Happy coding!

von Qing O

Sep 04, 2016

Very useful course! But it is not challenging enough. My advice: more challenging assignments to be given, and do not give too many detailed steps or instructions in the assignments. Let students themselves to solve the algorithms. Overall, this course is very useful and I like the lectures of Robert the most! His logic is extremely well explained.

von Joseph G

Feb 27, 2017

The course itself is well put together and contains the perfect amount of challenge for students who have completed the previous Duke Java courses. I have come to enjoy the odd quirkiness of the instructors and their videos, as they seem to embrace the fact that they must remain a bit silly in order to effectively engage students in this format.

von Quan Z

Apr 30, 2017

Pros: The tutors are well prepared for the course! I can see their enthusiasm!

The content is very online-learning oriented.

Cons: As a person who is already familiar with programming, the material develops a little too slowly for me.

Overall, I think this is a great start for Java beginners, especially for those new to programming.

von Aman T

Feb 19, 2020

Pretty tough course especially for a beginner, but yeah, it contains the fundamental concepts really important for learning. Some instructions could be more explanatory instead of being vague like ones in week 1, considering week 1 is the start of such alien concepts. Overall, this course on coursera has been a great help to me.

von Toussaint W M

Feb 16, 2020

This course was quite challenging for me but the feeling that i have now after completing it is priceless. It gave me more confidence to start a career as a Junior Java Developer. What seemed to be impossible when i started this specialisation is now possible. Thanks to the instructors and thanks to Coursera indeed.

von Nicolas S V

Apr 03, 2018

They love teaching, and you will get the benefit from it. You will get confidence in developing with Java by using data structures common to the language and solving really interesting problems!! It gets complex but they teach to the level they expect from you, so if you give your best you will feel rewarded :) !

von David H

Oct 13, 2018

The projects for this course were challenging and interesting, and the videos and activities provided excellent information and were well-presented and explained. I thoroughly enjoyed this class and learned a lot about how to program in Java by making use of hashsets, hashmaps, arraylists, and other structures.

von Shayan A B

Jul 11, 2016

This course was very hard but the idea of teaching Java Programming with the application of cryptography was a magnificent one. Cryptography kept me motivated to complete the course as it is an interesting study. Hats off to the teachers for organizing an interesting course and for teaching it really well.

von George W F I

Feb 26, 2016

The course was appropriately challenging and a sound use of my time. My goals for it were unusual, and it has satisfied them. I feel very strongly that most students should take it in sequence with the other courses in this group and will benefit greatly from it and from completing the entire sequence.

von 钟卓昀

Nov 22, 2017

This is the second course I take about Java, following the specialization of Oriented Programming. This second course is even better than the first one as it becomes more difficult and practical. The course is still wonderful and the teachers are always good at motivating me. Happy Programming!

von Ravishankar C

Jan 10, 2017

It was a superb course with rich course materials. I would like to thank moderators for proving such a great course contents and the easiest way to learn them. This course is very good for learning Software fundamentals to solve large problems that are required in Software Development.