Chevron Left
Zurück zu Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Java Programming: Principles of Software Design von Duke University

4.6
Sterne
1,174 Bewertungen
208 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

Top-Bewertungen

OI

Aug 08, 2019

My confidence level in Java programming has grown significantly since completing this specialisation. It gave me the necessary knowledge and practice I need to take up a role as a software engineer.

VS

May 04, 2020

Well designed and well structured with the packages, resources, programming exercises and practice quiz. I appreciate the team's hard work in delivering good knowledge on the subject efficiently.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 201 Bewertungen für Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

von Goodwill T K

Jan 02, 2020

I could not get the Answers to the practice quiz of week 3

as my first line differed from the question first line.

the first two words were correct but the rest differed. MarkovWordOne.java

von Devul N

Sep 01, 2017

A very challenging course with a lot of assignments, great professors and discussion forum. But I feel like the instructors could have given the instructions more clearly on the assignment

von Ridesh 1

Aug 23, 2020

The Course is Good. But Week 3 is so hard to understand and the assignments are frustrating and it took long time to complete. Week 3 must be made easier......

von Aistis R

Jan 27, 2016

i liked everything except some of the quizzes since some questions were unclear or wrong (but still, I was a beta tester, so all great) - thank you!

von Anik S

Aug 03, 2020

In week 3, the Markov theorem should be explained more clearly. It was not clear enough to understand by only listening to the explanation.

von Mr W

Jul 28, 2020

This was really a tough course. It made me to learn clean coding by implementing blocks of codes in an organized way without redundancy.

von Shaun R

Feb 19, 2019

The third week was a great challenge and, while frustrating at times, gave me more to think about as I'm developing as a programmer.

von Shridhar S

Aug 18, 2017

The assignments get really cluttered sometimes and week 4's final quiz can certainly improve. Other than that, awesome course! :D

von Anna M

Apr 24, 2020

A great, challenging course for a beginner. I graded 4 stars as there are no programming exercises in the last week.

von Jeff M

Mar 20, 2019

Good class and good education. My only objection is that some of the practice tests seemed unusually difficult.

von 廖灿

Oct 12, 2017

not suitable for new beginners without any programming basis; teaching is good though.

von Abhijeet

May 09, 2020

Some of instructions are incmplete or unclear otherwise very good course for starting

von Kareem E

Feb 08, 2016

the course material is really interesting , but it seems to be a little bit hard .

von Alexandre C

May 29, 2017

Nice job in getting complicated things simple ! Congrats to the Duke's team.

von Sachin

Jul 22, 2017

Very good course .. important for any wanna be programmer or beginner

von Liton M

Sep 03, 2020

Very helpful course that can be add more value in my career.

von Saleh T S S

Dec 31, 2018

You need to explain Exceptions and interfaces more deeply

von Liusicong

Feb 16, 2016

The homework is too time consuming.

von Jinxin Z

Feb 07, 2020

week 3 may need more explanation

von sourabh c

Oct 20, 2020

very good course learn a lot .

von Aishwary B

Jul 23, 2020

Good beginner course

von Himanshu K

Aug 17, 2020

fabulous course

von Doaa S M Y

Apr 18, 2020

goods

von vacous

Jan 31, 2017

The structure of the lectures as well as the assignments might need some redesign.

In the lecture, I think it might be better to explain the algorithm very clearly without talking about any coding details first, and then have some lectures explaining the code implementation. Right now, the coding implementation and the algorithm explainations are mixed together in a way that is not really easy to digest.

However, I really appreciate the solid content of this course. The markov assignment is a actual assignment copied from the CS201 course in Duke. Moreover, it is implemented with even a more sophisticated and better desiged structure. In the CS201, the concept of inheritance is not introduced yet. For all of you who made it to week03 assignment, you can applaud yourselves.

Sadly, the assignment design of this course is very disappointing. Despite its rich content, it requires the students to take a long time to adjust some details at some corner of the method to do the quiz question. It is very error prone and tedious. The final quizs need some simplification in the structure or format.

Overall, I still recommend people taking this course. Very Good content. Just be prepared for the assignment, it really needs a considerable amount of patience and efforts.

von Alana G

Jun 11, 2019

Overall, this course is pretty good and it helps to learn the basics of Java Interfaces. However, Week 3 was very confusing and discussion posts were not at all helpful in the forums. I am having a lot of trouble with the random text generator (assignment one) and I can not move on until I get that one method correctly. I was not able to understand the getRandomText() method, therefore it was very difficult to do MarkovFour. Especially, when MarkovOne was not even working. The readings had VERY confusing wording and I believe the grammar caused confusion. However, it could have been a typo. That is why I gave this specific course a 3 star rating.