Chevron Left
Zurück zu Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Java Programming: Principles of Software Design von Duke University

4.6
Sterne
1,174 Bewertungen
208 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

Top-Bewertungen

OI

Aug 08, 2019

My confidence level in Java programming has grown significantly since completing this specialisation. It gave me the necessary knowledge and practice I need to take up a role as a software engineer.

VS

May 04, 2020

Well designed and well structured with the packages, resources, programming exercises and practice quiz. I appreciate the team's hard work in delivering good knowledge on the subject efficiently.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 201 Bewertungen für Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

von Boğaçhan A

Jun 21, 2017

This course was a content-overload when compared to the others. The coursework was a lot heavier and harder. But in the end it was all worth it. The only problem is that when you got stuck, the problem could be in many places since the guides did not give a chance test the code regularly as in the previous courses. Other than that, I can feel the improvement.

von Cullen B

Dec 31, 2016

Despite having a strong engineering background, I found this course poorly communicated. The heavy use of technical jargon makes the concepts (which are intended to be simple) over complicated. The predictive text is interesting but simple exercises are needed to clearly teach abstraction and interfaces clearly.

von Raoul P

Jan 05, 2018

In Course 4, week 3, an assignment (EfficientMarkovModel) is poorly explained, and understandable only with the context of the following text. This was initially confusing to me. Otherwise, I found the course to be similarly good as the previous ones.

von Pawel D

Jan 11, 2016

Some interesting concepts are being taught, but the course is uneven. The first project required a lot of work, while the last week had no project at all.

Minor errors in videos and programming assignments. Somewhat messy code.

von Saurabh C

Jun 29, 2019

while the course is structured well, there is almot zero support when one gets stuck. Coursera has not maintained an active forum, unlike other platforms. It ends up wasting a lot of time for us.

von Peter G W

Dec 24, 2018

Near the end of the course it was very difficult to get programs working exactly as intended. I felt the instructions could have been clearer, especially in Week 3's assignments.

von Frank T

Jul 12, 2019

Principles are usually explained with code where analogies or schematics would have been more appropriate.

Quizzes are sometimes poor.

Help is hard to get on the forum.

von Kevin E

Oct 16, 2020

A little intense for the last parts of the course, such as NGrams and such Predictive Text, as the questions were very very very ambiguous and not very guiding.

von Nuggu S V R

Jul 04, 2016

Please show the quiz answers for verification purpose since we have to buy the course to submit answers

von Shreya I

Jun 11, 2020

the week 2 quiz was so difficult, u should reduce the pass percentage ! it was really time taking

von Nikolay A

Oct 07, 2019

Poor level of support and detail. Problems are getting hard - not enough resources available.

von Kelly R R H

Mar 21, 2016

Good Course, but in my perspective the teachers could explain better.

von Weiqi Y

Sep 27, 2017

not as good as the previous ones in the specialization.

von Maria U C

Jun 27, 2020

Quite difficult

von Алексей

Oct 24, 2018

Pros:

There are a lot of interesting subjects - the basics of the cryptography (the Caesar cipher, the vigenere cipher), the practical use of the markovs model to generate funny texts, some basics with image filtering and if you dont use course IDE blueJ and duke libraries and found how to do this thing with java core - it will be more profitable.

Cons:

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also is a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process.

Several tasks and questions are hardly to understand since they are badly formulated.

Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

von Dimas T L

Nov 04, 2019

Many of the assignments in week three were incredibly hard to understand and required scouring the forums to locate where other classmates had to beg instructional staff for assistance. In many instances, the staff agreed that the course had many shortcomings that would be addressed in "upcoming iterations" of the course. However, many of these posts were made up to three years ago, so it made the student feel that not only did the class have errors that the staff did little to address for new cohorts, but also that the updating of the curriculum is not a priority and therefore that the class is now an afterthought.

von Abraham F M

Dec 18, 2017

Two of the weeks were really complicated, confusing and badly explained. Made me feel that I did not learn enough in the last courses when in fact the problem was this course itself. They need to improve the explanations as it is the most complicated course and the videos are short and unclear. More videos, more explanations for the exercises, and more efficient mentors at the forums when we have questions is a must if you want 5 stars.

von Mykyta B

Sep 21, 2020

Stuck in one and couldn't`t continue. For a four month my problems hasn't`t been solved

von Vladyslav S

Oct 31, 2019

Bad sources formatting, bad codestyle and bad project design

von DELA C J K (

Jan 13, 2020

week 2 is broken

von Bill J

Dec 27, 2017

There are a large number of people requesting help with the content in week 3 of this course. Many of them state the assignments need clarification, while others have made significant progress on the assignments but are requesting additional help understanding. Few of these threads in week 3 have been addressed, and I notice many of these threads date back for up to 2 years.

I have subscribed to this course three times in hopes of persevering, but I can't justify spending any more money when so many students are receiving no replies when asking for help.

von Aleksey

Jan 10, 2016

thanks for the course, but

-your quizzes is real pain, some random variable could cause wrong result

-your should follow how it is implemented in lectures in stupid way, like "efficient" way when you build hash map N^2 instead of N

-bluej sucks you make a lot of clicks to run method, use some decent IDE like eclipse or idea

von Amir M O

May 30, 2016

A very simplistic and chaotic course. Explanations are all over the place.

BlueJ is probably the worst IDE I have ever seen and I have been a programmer for about 8 years.

There are far better courses. I would not recommend this course at all.

von Mengfei W

Jul 29, 2018

Sometimes the quiz instruction is not very clear. Sometimes, I could get the assignment results, pass the practice quiz, but couldn't pass the review quiz.

von Abdul H

Sep 15, 2020

The course is very poorly designed for begineer. This is the worst ever course on java