Chevron Left
Zurück zu Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Java Programming: Principles of Software Design von Duke University

4.6
Sterne
1,382 Bewertungen
238 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

Top-Bewertungen

OI

7. Aug. 2019

My confidence level in Java programming has grown significantly since completing this specialisation. It gave me the necessary knowledge and practice I need to take up a role as a software engineer.

VS

3. Mai 2020

Well designed and well structured with the packages, resources, programming exercises and practice quiz. I appreciate the team's hard work in delivering good knowledge on the subject efficiently.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 236 Bewertungen für Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

von ANDRII L

26. Dez. 2019

Generally, I like this course. The tasks are very interesting and require to spend some time on them. But what I don't like is IDE that teachers use in this course. I also think that whole week 3 should be redesigned, especially requirements, they are not very readable. You should add some testing utility or some cases to test and verify student output with teachers.

von Itai E

21. Juli 2019

This course really increased the difficulty in Week 3 and gave poorly written instructions to go along with it. Overall, the course was very interesting and I learned a lot from it. Anyone who is interested in expanding their Java programming skills and write "neater" or "better code, this course is for you.

von Nicholas B

12. Apr. 2018

Great course in general, but some of the exercises / quizzes could be a bit more precise in what they are looking for. Lots of time debugging, lots of time in forums trying to figure out what was wrong, only to find that we were using the wrong project / class because it wasn't clear which one they required.

von William G

28. Okt. 2020

There are some super cool concepts in here, but one of the modules in this course (module 3) was messy. Even the instructors have agreed that some lectures should be improved upon. That module was so messy that although I managed to finish, I felt like I need to relearn the concepts entirely somewhere else.

von Aarya P

15. Aug. 2020

A really nice experience learning the exact use of the object oriented style of programming. Different concepts like abstraction and interface are well taught. A little bit improvement can be done in the assignment section otherwise its great and also week 4 could be a little more interesting.

von Mary S

24. Sep. 2018

Decent. Moved kinda slowly, but it's for beginners, so what did I expect? This is a nice progression of classes for someone with no previous programming experience; if you have previous experience, in another language, you may wish to start with an intermediate course.

von Vignesh B

27. Juli 2021

Pros: The programming assignments were really great

Cons: The video lectures were not enough to understand the concepts.

Tip for learners: Do some research (like watch some youtube videos of the related topics, read geekforgeeks etc ) before watching the lectures.

von Michael C

12. Sep. 2016

Good examples -- good basic instruction in videos, but most of the value is in working the exercises which use some fairly interesting real world scenarios. And some of the direction is as vague as specs you might encounter as well.

von Muhammad F B J

21. Mai 2020

The idea of using interfaces and abstract classes were not covered sufficiently in my opinion. That said, I was still satisfied with the content being covered. Instructions on some of the exercises could have been better explained

von Gianluca B

8. Juli 2020

It is a good course, but I believe it needs to be updated and that some quiz need reviewing. Sometimes it's really hard to understand what an exercise is asking you to do and there isn't much support.

von Goodwill T K

1. Jan. 2020

I could not get the Answers to the practice quiz of week 3

as my first line differed from the question first line.

the first two words were correct but the rest differed. MarkovWordOne.java

von Devul N

1. Sep. 2017

A very challenging course with a lot of assignments, great professors and discussion forum. But I feel like the instructors could have given the instructions more clearly on the assignment

von Ridesh R

23. Aug. 2020

The Course is Good. But Week 3 is so hard to understand and the assignments are frustrating and it took long time to complete. Week 3 must be made easier......

von Sergio R

7. Juli 2021

I would like to get more help with the markov and wordgrams excercises, they are very complicate and you are not given the necessary time to explain them

von Aistis R

27. Jan. 2016

i liked everything except some of the quizzes since some questions were unclear or wrong (but still, I was a beta tester, so all great) - thank you!

von Anik S

3. Aug. 2020

In week 3, the Markov theorem should be explained more clearly. It was not clear enough to understand by only listening to the explanation.

von Bishal G C

28. Juli 2020

This was really a tough course. It made me to learn clean coding by implementing blocks of codes in an organized way without redundancy.

von Shaun R

19. Feb. 2019

The third week was a great challenge and, while frustrating at times, gave me more to think about as I'm developing as a programmer.

von Shridhar S

18. Aug. 2017

The assignments get really cluttered sometimes and week 4's final quiz can certainly improve. Other than that, awesome course! :D

von Anna M

24. Apr. 2020

A great, challenging course for a beginner. I graded 4 stars as there are no programming exercises in the last week.

von Jeff M

19. März 2019

Good class and good education. My only objection is that some of the practice tests seemed unusually difficult.

von 廖灿

12. Okt. 2017

not suitable for new beginners without any programming basis; teaching is good though.

von Abhi S

9. Mai 2020

Some of instructions are incmplete or unclear otherwise very good course for starting

von Kareem E

7. Feb. 2016

the course material is really interesting , but it seems to be a little bit hard .

von Alexandre C

29. Mai 2017

Nice job in getting complicated things simple ! Congrats to the Duke's team.