Chevron Left
Zurück zu English for Journalism

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für English for Journalism von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
2,528 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top-Bewertungen

CS

12. Juli 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

OG

1. Dez. 2021

MIL GRACIAS POR TODO EL SEGUIMIENTO. Este ha sido in curso muy agradable para mi. Con explicaciones muy detalladas, ejercicios y participacinó activa. Estoy muy satisfecho y lo recomiendo ampliamente.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 806 Bewertungen für English for Journalism

von Kanishka T

30. Dez. 2021

It is a very interesting and informative course. Thanks to UPenn for making this course. One should definitely practice this. All the 5 weeks are worth it. In the 1 week you might find it little boring or difficult but as you keep doing it, this becomes fun!!!

von Felicia-Victoria D

12. Sep. 2020

This was my first phenomenal course (with Coursera) that really motivated me to understand the moral foundations and made me taking on more seriously.

The professors in particular were great, good concepts and informative with additional sources! Thank you! ;)

von Raju S

3. Feb. 2022

I was very content with the course which i completed in May because it taught me a lot.

Also I learnt about the basics of journalism and was able to complete all the assignments

that were given to me.I would recommend it to anyone starting out in journalism.

von Eugenio N C J

14. Juli 2017

This is an excellent way to inculcate the values of truth through journalistic writing among our college students in English, especially that journalism ethics was emphasized. Here, the students are taught how write for truth not so much for monetary gain.

von Felipe N

29. Juli 2020

Eu gostei muito de poder fazer esse curso, sinto que aprendi bastante e ganhei muita bagagem para poder escrever em inglês. Deu inicio ao curso no começo da pandemia e não iria comprar o certificado, mas agora que finalizei acho que mereço essa conquista.

von María d R M C

20. März 2018

I have improved my English skills very much, my general knowledge of journalism's history, the vocabulary in this context and i have acquired great tools for digital journalism. I thank you very much for the training English for Journalism has given me.

von Nicolle Z B

16. Jan. 2023

I learnt more than i expected, this was very complete and defintely i learn more about the importance of journalism and all the people and work behind a article or a news. aslo, it help me in so mamy ways in may English. I recommend this course so much.

von Alexandre C

19. Sep. 2016

This course was great. I'm a Brazilian Journalist and I've been studying English as second language for a while. This course helped me to improve my English Skills and allowed me to learn news words related to journalism in English. Thank you very much!

von bonife h

11. Okt. 2022

Great for learning the English Language; discussions and activities in the courses are well-thought out; explanations are clear; pacing is just right; some videos need to be reviewed for increasing the volume. Thanks for great curriculum and teachers.

von Thuy T P

25. Sep. 2016

Thank you for University of Pennysyvania and Coursera for bringing this useful course for public. This is a highly recommended course for English learners, especially those who work in communications/ Pr/ journalism sectors. Big thank you from Vietnam!

von Anuraag T

3. Sep. 2021

I had the best experience studying this course online, as all of the assignments and the study material was so engaging and productive altogether. This course has elevated my horizon of knowledge over basics of English and core elements of journalism.

von Natalia P

17. Sep. 2017

It's rather helpful for people who need some skills in writing articles for newspapers or just st blogs on the Internet. It's easy to cope with the tasks and it's really interesting. The lectures and all the materials are very modern and up-to-date.

von Deleted A

14. Juli 2020

This course helped me with my Extended Project Qualification (on Yellow Journalism and its impact on modern journalistic standards) as well as giving me something to discuss on my UCAS personal statement, helping me get into my dream university!

von عاطف ح ي

22. Mai 2022

It was a great course i'm glad i had the chance to participate in it, it helped me out with understanding the basic structure of online-journalism, I enjoyed the games and the puzzles and most importantly i learned new skills in this profession

von Jaime S

19. Feb. 2017

This was a great experience for me and it helped me a lot to improve my English skills besides that I could learn a lot of things about Journalism so I'm grateful for it and I will be looking forward on making some other courses online. Thanks!

von Maria T S

11. Mai 2020

Nice course, simple and not so demanding. It would be good especially for people who doesn't know english so well. The part regarding the principles of journalism was really interesting. I strongly recommend it, to have a good knowledge basis.

von Ricky S O

9. Juli 2020

Learning through Coursera especially English for Journalism helps me to open my mind in the world of Journalism. This course helped me to unlock my new skill in writing. The module is easy to learn and you will really achieve its objectives.

von Margarita R

17. Juni 2020

I didn't regret for a moment for taking this course! So much new to learn! The material is both unteresting and useful. And my special thanks to the teachers who managed to make this course instructive and at the same time highly engaging!

von Elene M

5. Dez. 2018

This course was just what I needed! I was writing articles in my mother language for long but never had the courage to write in English. This course helped me overcome my fear and provided interesting and useful knowledge about journalism.

von Iacub A

28. Okt. 2022

A good English for Journalism course! With a theoretical dimension about the foundations and principles of journalism, associated with the practical part through writing exercises and multiple answers exercises, press articles and videos.

von Myra V J A

27. Sep. 2016

Superb! I am very thankful I took the course. My warmest gratitude to all especially to John and Eve and the whole team for being so generous in sharing their expertise and providing us all the readings and videos. God bless everyone!

von Priscilla A

22. Juni 2020

An excellent course, easy to follow with lots of hands-on practice to improve our English language, sentence structure etc. Now I understand how journalism works and will consider taking an advanced course dependent on my schedule.

von JEIMY A

2. Mai 2017

I really loved the course. I enjoyed every single class, video, lecture and activity, and besides I already knew most of the topics, and learned and had so much fun doing all the activities. Thank you for this excellent material!!

von Kanybek B

24. Aug. 2020

This course gave me many valuable knowledge about media. I learned a lot valuable. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania and especially lecturers (John Cotton and Eve Litt) — they taught us in a brief and accessible way.