Chevron Left
Zurück zu Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
503 Bewertungen
139 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 136 Bewertungen für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

von Felipe P P d S

Jul 26, 2016

An excelent course. Professor Stewart is a true master. The course is very well-organized and the activities are great.

von Paweł J Z

Mar 13, 2016

Great overview, I wish there were more courses of this kind about other great philosophers. Kierkegaard is one of my favourites though.

von Arthur A

Feb 25, 2016

Excellent course, excellent teacher.

von Flor d M V

Mar 09, 2018

I truly enjoyed this course. I learned much more about irony and how Socrates' use of it was interpreted by Kierkegaard. It was good to learn about his contemporaries & his opinion of them as well. Really enjoyed the speakers and the settings the lectures were given in. Furthermore, the guest lecturers were also insightful and erudite. The course was presented in a way that allowed you to reflect on how Kierkegaard's works and ideas still impact society today.

von jose g v w

Aug 19, 2016

Great texts and lessons. Nice videos. Congrats.

von Emil

May 09, 2018

D

o

n

e

i

t

von Rommel J P

Feb 23, 2016

Highly recommended. It's a self-paced course but you'll get more out of it by enabling deadlines to keep you on track.

von Diego M

Mar 06, 2016

Beautiful description of the life, times, ideas, and love of Socrates that Kierkegaard embodied. A real joy to run through. I literally watched all the lectures in the span of three days, there is something simple and earnest about the course that I really like. I like that the quizzes never took away from the lesson, they only check understanding at the end of the lecture.

von George L

Apr 01, 2016

A wonderful course, well presented, a pleasure to undertake. the videos were superb, the content stimulating and encouraged me to read more about Kierkegaard. One of the best MOOC's I have taken. Keep up this incredibly high standard pls

von Michael V

Dec 28, 2015

Excellent overview of Kierkegaard. Kierkegaard's own writing, approached on its own, can be nigh-impenetrable but the lectures really help in figuring out how to approach Kierkegaard's writing.

von Azure J

Feb 23, 2016

Brilliant professor, nice cinematography, old-fashioned classical education, high levels of intelligent thought, and more makes this a great course. It is self-paced as well, so it is always open, which I find very conv

von Carlos M R R

Aug 02, 2016

Really interesting, and despite being thought 200 years ago, the problems covered keep being relevant in our century.

von ROSARIO M

Nov 10, 2016

Wonderful course, very well explained. Professor is great!

von David B

Oct 22, 2017

Absolutely terrific course, the best one I've taken on Coursera. Prof. Stewart is a top-notch lecturer and each lecture occurs in a different location that was significant to the topic. The provided materials were extremely useful and the discussion questions and quizzes helpful in bringing out what we learned. While it is not required in any way, I would highly recommend purchasing Prof. Stewart's companion book, which really helped me learn the material. I would recommend this course without reservation.

von Amanda S

Aug 28, 2016

Excelente!

von Geoffrey V

Jan 18, 2016

Truly excellent course, Jon Stewart is a superb instructor

von Beau C

Jul 10, 2016

Invaluable. Brilliant. Priceless.

von JOHN Q

Dec 05, 2015

great course and extremely well presented.

von Lawrence T

Nov 22, 2016

It´s not just Al and the TAs; it seems that everyone gets pulled in by the energy. There is a sense that all are welcome to share their thoughts, their reactions...it´s beyond a course, it´s a connection to others throughout the world who share a passion for poetry. Shine On!

von Dallas C

Nov 23, 2016

Fantastic survey course of Kierkegaard's life and work!

von Emmanouil P

Oct 23, 2017

Professor Stewart did a fine job with well structured lectures and preparation material. I appreciated the effort to show that the work of Kierkegaard does not just belong to the history of philosophy but is still relevant in our globalized and fast moving world.

von Валиев Г В

Mar 22, 2018

Thank you, Mr. John Stewart!

von Garrison G

Jul 11, 2017

Was an excellent, informative synoptic of the philosopher's life and works. Kierkegaard's way of interpreting Socrates' method reivitalizes a lost art for the modern world.

von Moira B

Aug 08, 2016

From all aspects, visual, auditory and lecture presentation, this is first class. I would definitely study further with the University of Copenhagen and Dr Jon Stewart. If you want to delve into Philosophy and its relevance to our modern life I highly recommend this course.