Chevron Left
Zurück zu Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
503 Bewertungen
139 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 136 Bewertungen für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

von Geoffrey V

Jan 18, 2016

Truly excellent course, Jon Stewart is a superb instructor

von Felipe P P d S

Jul 26, 2016

An excelent course. Professor Stewart is a true master. The course is very well-organized and the activities are great.

von Benjamin M

Feb 15, 2016

The lecturer loves the subject and is very engaging!

von Paweł J Z

Mar 13, 2016

Great overview, I wish there were more courses of this kind about other great philosophers. Kierkegaard is one of my favourites though.

von Darren G

Nov 29, 2015

An excellent course with high-quality and engaging material.

von Bill D

Apr 08, 2017

This was a truly excellent course - substantial and complex, but delivered by Prof. Stewart in an engaging way which made the difficulties of Kierkegaard's work accessible. No mean feat - and attained without recourse to obscurity or jargon: a tribu

von Tim H

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent course. Really enjoyed the content. Wasn't able to finish before the end of the semester but will definitely continue.

von Pablo I S M

Aug 16, 2017

This is one of the best courses I have ever had. It's well explained, it has interesting material and a great topic.

von Arthur A

Feb 25, 2016

Excellent course, excellent teacher.

von Dan

Jan 13, 2018

A must for anyone who is confused about the changing world we are living in.

von Flor d M V

Mar 09, 2018

I truly enjoyed this course. I learned much more about irony and how Socrates' use of it was interpreted by Kierkegaard. It was good to learn about his contemporaries & his opinion of them as well. Really enjoyed the speakers and the settings the lectures were given in. Furthermore, the guest lecturers were also insightful and erudite. The course was presented in a way that allowed you to reflect on how Kierkegaard's works and ideas still impact society today.

von Arlind

Jul 16, 2016

Great course. Very elegantly put together into three-piece modules. Treats the thought of Kierkegaard in both philosophical and historical accounts. Readings are clear and match the accompanying lectures closely. Highly recommend to anyone interested in Philosophy, Continental Philosophy, Religion or just curious about Kierkegaard's thought. So far the best philosophy course I've taken on coursera!

von jose g v w

Aug 19, 2016

Great texts and lessons. Nice videos. Congrats.

von Uilson C

Sep 05, 2016

Excelente Curso! Aulas muito interessantes e conduzidas com muita propriedade pelo Professor!

von GiGi H

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

von Pablo

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent course, could be a bit harder on quizzing, it was too easy to pass them, but, it compensates with the final essay. It has great content

von Juan D G G

May 01, 2018

"The concept of Irony" is overlooked throughout courses examining Kierkegaard's philosophy. This course does the opposite: it shows how Kierkegaard's original thesis served as the basis for his entire career and the unifying concept behind all of his works.

von Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Super course, super professor.

I speculate that SK, if presented with the wealth of science & advancement since his time, would have still held his religion as tightly as he did in his writings ... I think not.

von Mark L

Mar 01, 2016

excellent structured approach- interesting lectures, reading and assignments

von Mollee P

Feb 22, 2016

Good preparation. In-depth explanation. Wild ranges of resources. Very impressive.

von Sunil K

Jan 12, 2016

Extremely useful

von Carlos A S A

Oct 22, 2017

Excelente curso!

von Brooklyn H

Mar 30, 2016

The lecturer was excellent and not only expounded in depth, Soren Kierkegaard's thinking and ideas, he put them into there relevant context in addition to delving into the differences he had with his contemporary thinkers. Furthermore the Professor asked thought provoking questions that allowed the viewer to think and reflect how Kierkegaard's ideas are relevant in our time and our lives.

von Igor F M P

Jan 07, 2017

Bom demais!!!