Chevron Left
Zurück zu Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
503 Bewertungen
139 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtern nach:

126 - 136 von 136 Bewertungen für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

von Martin J

Nov 26, 2016

I found the course quite interesting overall and it is delivered by an excellent professor. It's a perfect introduction to Soren Kierkegaard's ideas and life. On the (slightly) negative side, sometimes I felt there was too much emphasis on the biographical details with a very light discussion of the philosophical concepts. However, I don't want to misled anyone with this: the course is very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Kierkegaard's philosophy.

von Johannes d W

Jun 17, 2018

Great course, I like the way it is organized and how the main theme is always clear.

von Deanna M

Oct 28, 2017

Good detail without being boring.

von Galina G

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course, most especially for the professor, whose lucid, well-cadenced lectures were more interesting and comprehensible than I would have thought before starting the class, given the subject. Reading Kierkegaard is not easy, and having a professor who presents the topic with such clarity is a gift.

von Manoj J

Jan 24, 2016

I loved the manner in which the course contents were delivered. The course teacher know the art of articulation. He knows how to teach complex ideas in a simple manner without loosing its essence of the argument. I was so immersed in his lecture, one full night I watched his lecture and finished 80% course material. I wish I could deliver a lecture like it. A big salute to an inspiring teacher.

von Iskandar L

Dec 28, 2016

professor jon stewart is a walking kierkegaard

von Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

long lectures, hard to understand material. Filmed in interesting locations relating to subjects. Not easy but worth the effort

von Breeze S

Apr 11, 2019

A lot of information, without an engaging course and video. I liked what I was learning but, watching the videos quite literally put me to sleep.

von James S

Mar 23, 2017

Asked for more feedback for peers that found my final paper insufficient. Received nothing! Asked for guidance from staff. Received nothing! Excellent course with great content but I have issues with the evaluation process when peers and staff do not participate in the advertised methods of communicating their concerns with my work!

von Nancy W

Nov 14, 2016

Rather uninteresting presentation. I found it hard to become interested in the course or Kierkegaard after having high hopes of truly enjoying it. The best parts of the lectures were when the instructor was taped at venues pertinent to the course. The peer reviewers were not always fair, in my opinion. I'd spend my time elsewhere, personally, especially since this course was something for my own personal edification and not a requirement.

von Vitaly K

Jun 01, 2019

If the course content is still interesting and informative, then no one evaluates the final essay for weeks, and there is also no direct contact with the course supervisor (Dr. Timothy Hall).

It is also necessary to take into account the fact of non-objective assessment of the essay.

So keep in mind that you most likely will not be able to complete the course and receive your certificate in time. I recommend the course exclusively for free familiarization.