Chevron Left
Zurück zu Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
515 Bewertungen
142 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtern nach:

126 - 139 von 139 Bewertungen für Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

von Barry T

Apr 11, 2017

This is an excellent course. The production values are very high and Dr. Stewart is a very good lecturer. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in the history of thought and/or the intersection of theology and philosophy.

von Iskandar L

Dec 28, 2016

professor jon stewart is a walking kierkegaard

von Eric M

Jul 18, 2016

This course is interesting, though the main theme--i.e., how Socrates was a model for much of Kierkegaard's views--gets to be a bit redundant. Also, I did not find the final assignment to be as stimulating/interesting as the course material.

von Ali V

Jun 07, 2017

thanks to the instructor, this course is a mediating one between an introduction and a scholarly contribution to kierkegaard.

von Freddy S

Jan 06, 2016

Very well presented course, but in my view could be somewhat more to the point. Nevertheless, congratulations for a job well done.

von James L

Aug 02, 2016

I love the lectures! Challenging and rigorous.

von Johannes d W

Jun 17, 2018

Great course, I like the way it is organized and how the main theme is always clear.

von Accelerator

Nov 05, 2019

readings are interesting!!

von Breeze S

Apr 11, 2019

A lot of information, without an engaging course and video. I liked what I was learning but, watching the videos quite literally put me to sleep.

von Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

long lectures, hard to understand material. Filmed in interesting locations relating to subjects. Not easy but worth the effort

von James S

Mar 23, 2017

Asked for more feedback for peers that found my final paper insufficient. Received nothing! Asked for guidance from staff. Received nothing! Excellent course with great content but I have issues with the evaluation process when peers and staff do not participate in the advertised methods of communicating their concerns with my work!

von Nancy W

Nov 14, 2016

Rather uninteresting presentation. I found it hard to become interested in the course or Kierkegaard after having high hopes of truly enjoying it. The best parts of the lectures were when the instructor was taped at venues pertinent to the course. The peer reviewers were not always fair, in my opinion. I'd spend my time elsewhere, personally, especially since this course was something for my own personal edification and not a requirement.

von Vitaly K

Jun 01, 2019

If the course content is still interesting and informative, then no one evaluates the final essay for weeks, and there is also no direct contact with the course supervisor (Dr. Timothy Hall).

It is also necessary to take into account the fact of non-objective assessment of the essay.

So keep in mind that you most likely will not be able to complete the course and receive your certificate in time. I recommend the course exclusively for free familiarization.

von Smorzando

Nov 14, 2019

另外我想表達一下自己對Kierkegaard和本課程的看法,引用委員會對他的論文的評價是最準確的:冗長和情感。

整個課程彷彿就是Kierkegaard不斷的重複socrates,socrates,socrates,socrates。但是我個人覺得,Kierkegaard不過是穿著一個大人制服的孩子,他並沒有學到socrates那種啟發和驚醒世人,而更像是一個因為身世不幸,內心創傷而到處挑釁的人罷了,他也沒有那種沈穩對待別人提問的能力,瞧瞧他被批評之後的樣子,總是暴跳如雷,他正是這種愛挑釁別人自己卻不敢經受批判的而優化自己思想的人,這也和蘇格拉底的初衷完全相悖,他更像是一個相對主義的sophist。Kierkegaard本身在學術上沒有什麼值得稱頌的建樹,他崇拜蘇格拉底,到處都可以看到他引用蘇格拉底,但是他似乎把蘇格拉底當作一種權威在使用,這也恰好和蘇格拉底的本身價值是相悖的,西方哲學史發展就是建立在批判一個時代的學術權威,運用人類的邏輯方式去建立新的系統性知識,這個知識要具有客觀性,普遍性,以及理性。蘇格拉底另一點區別於sophist是他的觀點中,區別於客觀真理的主觀真理,是以倫理道德作為核心的,這也是對相對主義最好的批判,我們不能為自己的慾望和客觀的條件去建立我們的知識,而是用一種自然法的方式,建立一直人性的自然法,他是有普遍性的,那就是倫理學的誕生。蘇格拉底作為西方哲學史的起點,而起點只能有一個,起點之後就是永無窮盡的射線,這個起點之後,我們已經知道哲學家是能夠建立系統的那幫傢伙,Kierkegaard這種到處宣洩不滿的小子,根本稱不上是一個哲學家,拿著蘇格拉底衣服上的一點點衣料,將這塊衣料跟自己能夠容易理解的宗教,社會和個人生活不斷比較,寫出了大量毫無意義的廢話和個人感情,不過是一個著作較多的雜文作家,正是和這個課程如出一轍。這裏是一個不能得分的答案:Kierkegaard什麼都沒有學會,他只是人類歷史上無數個崇拜蘇格拉底的普通的思維碎片化情緒化的壞脾氣小子。