Chevron Left
Zurück zu Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life von The University of Edinburgh

4.6
Sterne
461 Bewertungen
152 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Top-Bewertungen

ST

20. Juni 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB

23. Juni 2020

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 156 Bewertungen für Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

von Yeoh C K

25. Juli 2021

k​now thyself series is a course that i did finished. i appreciate the effort of Dr Simon and Mitchell for sparking the curiousity of our mind and how we can do some of the simple practice to calm our mind.

von N P

4. Apr. 2021

This is the first online course I have taken and it certainly set a high bar. It is a well arranged course, presented clearly, lots of opportunity for engagement, and it delves deeper than I was expecting.

von Anne S

26. Okt. 2020

This course and the survey of thoughts and theories about the limits of self-knowledge are not only interesting, but especially poignant when applied to the world as we know it in this time of the pandemic.

von Deniz A

6. Apr. 2020

This was a great course with lots of examples and ideas to think about. As a psychology student, I find lots of concepts to think about, with my background information from various personality theories.

von Tina G

3. Sep. 2018

I learned a lot about what self-knowledge and how it can enhance my life. The lectures and forum discussions were very thought-provoking. The meditative moments were an added bonus!

von Prashant S D

6. Juli 2020

A really good course about different philosophical ideas from several philosophers about the examination of life. The teaching technique is really good and easy to understand.

von DANIE G

22. Okt. 2020

It was such an amazing experience to understand and learn how to know ourselves better. I really enjoy the activities and the lessons about the topics and it is engaging.

von Tammie T

10. Mai 2021

Great philosophy course. A lot of abstract concepts here, so it would be helpful if the speed of the Prof's speech is slower, to allow more room for contemplation.

von Peter H

21. Dez. 2020

A highly informative course that took its students on a clear step by step journey through a variety of philosophical thought. Enroll, you won't be disappointed.

von Nur W B A W

17. Mai 2020

This was incredibly fun and relatively easy to follow. The additional readings were also helpful in painting a better picture of the topics. Very recommended!

von Björn v M

12. Sep. 2021

​I found this course very interesting and challenging, I feel that I have learned a lot about the great thinkinker and philosophers. I want to learn more.

von Kathleen B

6. Sep. 2020

I wasn't sure what to really expect but this was a great course to get me thinking and challenge me along the way. The meditative moments were SO lovely.

von Everlinda A

3. Aug. 2020

This online course is really great. This has been an eye-opener for me examined my life. I also, would like to learn more about this. Thank you so much.

von Alexandra R

18. Juli 2020

Very interesting course and very inspirational.

The Tutor is very serious, charming and convincing, even inspiring.

I can only recommend.

von rebecca r

7. Sep. 2018

this course was super well explained, lovely to watch, and very easy to absorb and apply to self through the introspection questions.

von Luis C O

6. Sep. 2018

Wonderful course. Congratulations prof Mitch. Keep up the good work. Very interesting the meditations. It was a wonderful initiative.

von Michael S

24. Aug. 2020

A brilliant course. It teaches much ability to think and much useful knowledge. Also it is very engaging and a pleasure to take.

von Dimitris A

18. Feb. 2021

My Gratitude to the Teacher. He was Great. Thank you so very much Sir! Be well and keep influencing people the best way possible

von Denai B

15. Mai 2022

Really Great Learned so much. Easy to complete. Lots of interesting topics, great imagery and information throughout course.

von Chen Y

24. Juni 2021

This course opened another door for me to know myself better. It really helped me to be more aware and be in the present.

von dh

9. Feb. 2019

Good content just a technical issue some of the modules repeat themselves even though they have different names.

von Mystery L

10. Feb. 2021

It was a pretty good course. It was interesting but I already though of most of the theories being discussed.

von Kathleen R

15. Jan. 2019

Fascinating subject. Course was well-designed, good lectures and interesting readings. Highly recommend.

von 马秀欢

25. Juli 2019

It's really useful and helpful,especially the extra materials applied in it. Thank you for everything.

von Samiksha S

9. Sep. 2021

Great course to start philosophy lessons and knowing yourself. Amazing tutor and teaching material.