Chevron Left
Zurück zu Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
Sterne
554 Bewertungen
173 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Top-Bewertungen

DB

5. Okt. 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IH

18. Mai 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 178 Bewertungen für Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

von Nicole K

6. Sep. 2020

There wasn't a moment in this course where I felt disengaged - the structure was very professional and relatable/understandable, the meditations really helped me focus on the tasks at hand, and the subject was incredibly interesting! I learned so much about myself and others and this knowledge is truly valuable for self-development and is very interesting to say the least. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for anyone and everyone to take this course.

von Widiasatria U

28. Okt. 2020

I found this course is so insightful to develop my self-knowledge as the way to gaining more positive mindset and the information is a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to-being knowledgable and the learning materials are excellent to guide me through this course. I hope that I can take other course related with this topic in near future

von Richard M H

11. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I knew a bit about Freud and the unconscious prior to taking this course, but was very interested to hear new perspectives on Freud and to be introduced to other theorists who have developed and / or responded to his work. I took this course out of pure interest, but would recommend it to students who are studying Freud whether they be doing so from a humanities or social science perspective.

von Arash F

7. Apr. 2022

A wonderful, exciting, informative, and insightful course on the unconscious! I especially liked how Professor Green put everything into perspective by comparing and contrasting the Freudian vision with the more updated scientific view of cuttent times. Moreover, the course is well-developed and organized in a clear and precise manner alongside meditative breaks from all the learning and studying! Highly recommended!

von Jasmin

21. Mai 2021

I really liked participating in the course, because I learnt of various aspects about the human unconscious and how every one's behavior is influenced by it. Very interesting was also that older as well as newer interpretations of the human psyche were analyzed. I expecially enjoyed the tasks to reflect upon oneself by meditating and analyzing past situations. Overall the course was very helpful and engaging.

von Rojan S

28. Aug. 2020

One of the best courses in Coursera! The videos and lessons are very well presented by use of examples and animations which help to understand the topics clearly. This course is a must for those who have an interest and want to delve in philosophy and psychology particularly about the human mind.Finally, I would like to thank teacher Mitchell Green and The University of Edinburgh for this course.

von Rachel S

20. Jan. 2021

I feel like I learned so much in this MOOC, but it was never painful. There are a lot of checkpoints in the course that allowed me to reflect on and apply the material. The small chunks of information delivery and review really helped me solidify my understanding.

Additionally, the visuals and Mitchell Green's speaking style helped me to stay focused.

von Federica T

29. Aug. 2021

A very interesting course, with a good balance between theoretical and practical knowledge. I loved the meditative moments. I would ask Professor Green to slow down his speaking rhythm a bit, because for an Italian student like me, especially when the concepts he expounds are very dense, it becomes difficult to fully appreciate what he is saying.

von Robert B

29. Aug. 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I practice mindfulness, so the meditative moments were a real bonus. Now I know how to Bamboo Breathe.

I was especially interested in the part about somatic markers and the suggestion to observe the reactions. Again this relates to mindfulness.

Dr. Mitchell Green presented the material in a clear and interesting manner.

von Priti S

11. Sep. 2020

It is a course that made me thankful of my sixth sense -prorprioception ,something we all take for granted.The idea of pshycological immunity and somatic markers has made me more aware of my actions and what might be influencing them and how I may be responding. Coupled with mindfulness it is an extraordinary way to meet myself.

von Marieta C

23. März 2021

A very knowledgeable and charismatic lecturer who leads you through the hard-to-understand concepts with expertise and ease and makes it all seem very manageable.

A deep and pleasant journey meeting intellectual challenges on the way, perfectly structured units.

Highly recommend the course!

And a big thank you, professor Green!

von Ilse d Y C

26. Feb. 2021

Wonderfully and very creatively organised. The duration is perfect for "course-binging" if you're a Psychology nerd/enthusiast. Was very happy to see a diverse array of authors that stood on Freud's shoulders in order to broaden his ideas on the unconscious. I highly recommend this class!

(Thank you very much, Dr. Green!)

von CHOO L Y

20. Mai 2021

Prof explained everything in details, also offer explanation on comparison from different perspective. Point out the good things to refer and also the contradict point that remain reserved for all the theory and module. Enjoyed the lesson very much. Content, informative and enjoyable.

von Iva

13. Feb. 2021

I love new knowledge and information, so I'm giving 5 stars because I've learnt new things, the classes were neither too long, nor boring; There was a moderate information flow. Definitely could be absorbed also by people who just start digging deeper into the unconscious processes.

von LJ D

22. Nov. 2021

Really excellent delivery. I would describe it as aimed at an 'advanced beginner'. There are some complex concepts being talked about here and what makes it accessible is Professor Green's delivery.

Really great to get stuck into and an excellent use of time.

Thank you very much

von Pam L

22. Sep. 2021

I so enjoyed this course! I learned so much, and relearned that much more! I fully enjoyed each video and appreciated that each offered a transcript to review. The meditative moments were a nice retreat and thoughtful! Thank you Professor Green! You rock! :)

von Jim M

13. Nov. 2020

I took this course for an introduction to the Unconscious mind. The videos were excellent. The supplementary readings were excellent for exploring further all of the topics. I learned a lot about the various aspects of the mind that I had never known.

von Kseniya N

7. Juni 2020

Actually a great course, covering a vast variety of quite interesting topics of subconscious phenomena. I would absolutely recommend the course for those wh would like to learn more about one's behavioural patterns, which are actually subconscious.

von Miguel C M

10. Dez. 2020

I have learned very valuable information and tools such as the SEUT and also about the somatic markers. I am beyond happy to have enrolling in this course and I also want to congratulate the team that has created such valuable online course !

von Zsuzsanna B

7. Dez. 2020

Thank you so much for this course. I really enjoyed it, it was well structured, interesting and engaging. Also, I very much appreciated the instructor. I am looking forward checking out more courses from Mitchell Green!

von Renee K

25. Feb. 2021

Each and every time I take a philosophy coursera course I learn much more about philosophy and I can honestly say I've learned quite much and Thank you to professor Mitchel Green for your lectures they were spot on.

von Malgorzata S

14. Nov. 2020

Ver informative. I have found out many interesting thing about the unconscious mind. I really liked professor Green's lectures on different subject. I really got me interested in Freud's work. Highly recommended

von Amy S

7. Juni 2020

This is a wonderful course. It gave me insight into possible reasons for my own behavior and that of others, which has a practical impact on my life. I highly recommend it! And, I can't wait for part 3.

von JOÃO E

19. Sep. 2021

This course was really helpful in my life. Now, I can understand better the limits of myself, how to deal with my unconscious that goes on and on. Thanks a lot for this opportunity.