Chevron Left
Zurück zu Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
Sterne
555 Bewertungen
174 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Top-Bewertungen

DB

5. Okt. 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IH

18. Mai 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 179 Bewertungen für Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

von JOEL M C

14. Mai 2022

the course is great

von diane g

27. Jan. 2022

E​xcellent content!

von CEDRIC A J T

3. März 2021

Le cour est genial

von Venya

5. Okt. 2020

GREAT COURSE!!!!!!

von Vasanthi V

20. Mai 2020

Thank you so much!

von josé m z b

11. Apr. 2022

curso excepcional

von Wendy H

22. März 2021

Excellent course!

von Marcílio M M

27. Aug. 2020

Very nice course.

von Srinivas R G

5. Sep. 2020

Excellent course

von Bitten A

14. Apr. 2020

Fantastic course

von Proinsias R

20. Aug. 2020

Very enjoyable!

von Sajjad M

21. Mai 2020

Amazing course

von SAMUEL J B

15. Nov. 2021

good learning

von Nibodhi H

18. Apr. 2020

Great intro

von Martín E

14. März 2022

Excelente!

von Saoussan B

16. Dez. 2021

very good

von MD. A H

18. Aug. 2020

Excellent

von Nicola S

3. Juli 2020

Excellent

von CHACKO M

23. Jan. 2022

AMAZING.

von Vibudh M

5. Juli 2021

A​mazing

von Shauna B

4. Aug. 2021

This was an interesting course because it helped me put names to some of things I've noticed about my psychology as I've gained in years and experience. Somatic markers for one. Yes, I did learn to respect and investigate my "gut response" to events and people. And I agree with the idea that this is a vital pathway/signal towards understanding oneself. I also appreciated that the teacher doesn't see things as black and white but rather investigates that gray area. For example, there are truths in both Damasio's and Wilson's ideas about how we should best interrogate our pysche. Let's not throw everything out but instead assess and take what rings true. While thinking on "ringing," I greatly enjoyed the meditative moments. What a respite that was for me. Thank you for that and for a stimulating month of fascinating ideas.

von ARAVINDA K

24. Sep. 2020

Even though the course is well-organized, the presentation could be more vivid, rather than remaining to be only a verbal content delivery. The key definitions and the concepts could be revised now and then, in the forthcoming videos. More importantly, the opinions a few psychologists is discussed at length, but the concept of mind as per the deeper teachings in cultural texts or spiritual teachings is not covered. In fact, the mind's unconscious side is discussed only in spiritual teachings.

von Alexandra O

28. Okt. 2020

It is a valuable course. After the first week it was required to read 1 book of Freud which I enjoyed doing. I am glad to have receivedinformations about defense mechanisms, dream theory, adaptive unconscious, psychological immune system, implicit bias, conscious will. All these offered me new tools to know myself better, hopefully.

von Gary D P

20. Okt. 2020

Enjoyable course. Well designed and interesting. I did learn something regarding psychology. As we advance as human beings we often forget that psychology needs to be updated. People no longer have the same reservations as they once had. So many of the old theories are now obsolete.

von P N A

17. Juni 2020

On the whole gives a good overview of the sub concious part of the mind. Would have been better if a module had been included on practical ways on should change some markers that prevent us leading our normal life, like anxiety etc.