Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Law Student's Toolkit

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für A Law Student's Toolkit von Yale University

4.7
Sterne
660 Bewertungen
200 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Top-Bewertungen

HK

Mar 29, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

SP

Aug 06, 2019

A very intriguing and challenging course. First week was intense but as the course progressed, it became easier to deal with while also becoming more and more interesting. Great course overall!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 194 Bewertungen für A Law Student's Toolkit

von AHMED A K A

Mar 05, 2019

I think its a best course to those who want to study law and legal studies.

von C. m

Nov 12, 2018

Great teaching style, creates , incites a student to their potential, any person, even ones merely venturing into new, or unknown areas will broaden their perspective of their inherent heretofore unknown potentials. Literally anyone that takes this course is very lucky.

von Hilde K

Mar 29, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

von Chumachenko T

Oct 15, 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

von Koen V E

Nov 28, 2017

Really interesting course, quite intense, especially in week 1. Good instructor who engages students (quite a feat for an online course) and encourages one to think about law in different ways.

von Nadhia G

Mar 16, 2018

This Toolkit has come very much in handy for my Paralegal Training, and other real life situations.

von Paulo R V P

May 04, 2018

Excellent course to get an approach on what is studied in Law undergraduate courses in the USA.

von Layssa I M S

Jul 25, 2019

This course was extremely interesting!I'm so grateful to Coursera and Yale

von Anant S

Oct 24, 2017

nice learning experience

von Ayush R

Aug 16, 2018

Solid 5

von Rajendra c r A d f c g g

Jun 03, 2018

great

von Joel A C

Jan 29, 2019

It covers enough that you will have a feel for if you will hate law or not. You learn far more from peer review than you would think. Everything is marked on time (though rarely too early, so do not stress about getting ahead, but also do not hand things in late - as marking happens as people hand in their own work usually.). Resubmitting option allows you to grapple with concepts, rather than cram memory.

And there is free financial advice at the end. Which is reasonable. It is in the outtakes, but worth a mention. It could be twice as long ans cover a few more concepts, but it is a great primer for anyone with no formal legal coursework under their belt.

von Pallavi S

Jan 15, 2018

Very well structure course. It is impressive how such a vast variety of material was covered in such short time frame. Even though some parts of it were focused solely towards american jurisprudence, it was generalized enough for students from all jurisdictions to gain something out of. I do however wish there was a little more quiz type testing and a little less american jurisprudence related testing.

von Kratika V

Jun 24, 2018

The course was great!!

von Trevor W

Feb 12, 2018

I was lost from almost the beginning. I'm not sure if this is part 2 of a course or if this is meant for people who have already attended law school. I also found the swaying back and forth of the professor to be a bit distracting.

The reading material was WAY more than 10 minutes. I found myself spending an hour or two reading for each assignment. That was a little frustrating as the suggested reading time was listed as 10 minutes.

I'm attending law school in the fall and was hoping to get a primer. But this class definitely disappointed me. Perhaps I'll revise it after my first year is complete.

von JoAnne E R

Jul 24, 2017

Coursera: Please note that we had a series of tornado storms, and flash floods. Over the weekend my previous session automatically switched to the next session. I have already completed my last essay, and I believe I am ready to take the final. Should I wait until the next start date, or should I ask you to return me to my last session? The next session doesnot start until August 14, 2017. I can wait, or if you immediately switch me back, I can complete the course now. Please email me. Comet, JoAnneRichardson@gmail.com. I just completed the William v. Walker-Thomas Furniture Co. Please reply, I must know now.

von Boyd

Apr 04, 2020

When I received an invitation to do a law program at Yale University, I could not believe an Ivy League University would allow me to attend without a rigorous prerequisite! I have always maintained A's throughout college; yet, I knew Yale University would be challenging. I did it again! In addition, learned a tremendous amount about legal tools, terminology, writing briefs, and case studies. All of which I can instantly apply in today's world. Thank you Professor Ian Ayres.

- Dr. Manya Boyd

von Peter H

Aug 02, 2017

I took this course as an adult learner interested in better understanding law, as opposed to a student preparing for law school or reviewing for exams. I found the lectures engaging and the assignments challenging - but appropriately so - and also enjoyable. Reviewing classmates' assignments also gave an opportunity to further understand the material. One thing I would note - the required and suggested reading typically took longer than suggested, and I'm a reasonably fast reader.

von Nimish B

Sep 05, 2016

Coming from an engineering background, I had my reservations about learning Law but just going through the initial video modules of this course by Professor Ayres completely changed that. He describes the nuances of law in a very simple and understandable manner. I have to say I understood more about the logic behind the existence of Law in those first few sessions by the Professor than I would have by just reading books and I am really motivated to learn further.

von Ying X

Mar 19, 2017

this court is very compact......this professor usually put lots and lots of stuff into a FOUR MINUTES lecture, and for every of his lecture, you got like four HOURS of reading.....also the classmates of this course are like half academic pendant snobs in stating their opinion.....the benefit is they push you to come up with better and more convincing arguments.......it would be better if the professor don't speak like a robot or like reading from a prompter....

von Loulou d S

Apr 29, 2018

This course was one of my best opportunity in life. Practical and rich, worth every minute I spent. You really learn to understand the moves of good and capable lawyers, by the end of this course. The professor did an excellent effort to keep this course logic and the sessions independent. Haven't enjoyed such exceptionally simple (but not easy) presentation of mind twisting knowledge in years. Highly recommended. Thank you.

von Zarina

May 27, 2017

A Law Student's Toolkit is my first course taken on Coursera. I am beyond grateful to both Professor Ayres and Coursera for an opportunity to obtain useful knowledge in a convenient, clear, and concise manner. I really liked Quizzes and Written Assignments. Also I liked that we - the students - graded each other's assignments and provided reviews for future improvement. Thank you!

von Jingyuan Z

Jan 07, 2016

This is really a good set of tools for law students. I have finished the first week, and it really helped a lot already. The videos are not very long, so you can just spend 30 minutes everyday for one or two small videos. The professor uses formal legal language that may require extra work but if you like the legal reasoning, it's such a wonderful exercise!

von Bei W

Jul 12, 2016

It was a very good course. It was not only a legal course, but also a course concerned with economic thinking and logic thinking about what law is and why law is. I am a practicing lawyer. The course widen my eyes on legal matters and makes me think more deeply than before. It should be strongly recommend for legal students and legal professionals.

von Anton V

Jul 07, 2017

This is very good course. You actually have to use your brains for a change and compare to some other courses and it is not trivial especially for somebody who is begginer in law. I also like very much the material, lectures and how they were lectured. Profesor is very good and very clear at explaining and it is fun and pleasure to listen to him.