Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Law Student's Toolkit

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für A Law Student's Toolkit von Yale University

4.7
Sterne
911 Bewertungen
264 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Top-Bewertungen

HK

Mar 29, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

CT

Oct 15, 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 260 Bewertungen für A Law Student's Toolkit

von Hesham O K

Nov 13, 2015

it is great for citizens students, However, the speaker uses such a little hard vocabulary to understand for international students as me. I really enjoy in this course. Thanks.

von William X

Jun 07, 2017

Very challenging but there are many lessons to be learned. Law is a challenging and complex field, and prof. Ayres comes at it with good analogies and helpful advice

von Jan P

Dec 24, 2015

The course was beneficial to me and I learned a lot of new things. I took one star because of the assessment of students who are too poorly evaluated.

von Evan C

Apr 05, 2020

Fantastic course, but an estimated 10 minutes to read one or two law review articles is really unrealistic.

von Do H K

Apr 10, 2016

Since this course handles difficult context, it may be little bit hard to one who studies law first time.

von Sander S

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and well explained, but perhaps more information should be put on slides behind the lecturer.

von Tamara M

Feb 15, 2016

Excellent and fun class to understand Common-Law concepts and be prepared to with US Law cases.

von Leticia G P

Jul 02, 2020

Ótimo curso para estudantes de direito, faltou apenas legenda em português para facilitar.

von C S V K

May 12, 2020

It was a very insightful course but lacked relevance to the common law system

von Augusta

Feb 11, 2016

i really did enjoy this course but it was very stressful terms of timing.

von eeo6@cdc.gov

Apr 27, 2017

Enjoyed Prof. Ayres' lectures and the readings. Definite

von Anirudh V

May 31, 2020

Very helpful course for new law students and aspirants.

von Amaya.Wang

May 27, 2016

有很多有用的知识,只是全英文授课对于法学初学生且中文授课学生还是有点困难的

von Arunachalam

Apr 13, 2020

a good course and grate experience.

von Franke

Feb 15, 2016

It seems very interesting.

von DASI S

Apr 15, 2020

really a very good course

von SOUNDHARIYAA D

May 20, 2020

Experience was good.

von Juan G C R

Jun 13, 2016

Very good course.

von gaurav j

Nov 09, 2019

great course.

von 孙哲君

Oct 26, 2016

GREAT COURSE

von Carlos M T C

Jul 02, 2020

No comments

von Tanmay S

Jun 17, 2020

Good

von INIAN R

May 12, 2020

good

von Mohsen L G

Oct 18, 2016

good

von Panda

May 11, 2020

TL/DR: If you can get through it, its content might come in handy later, but look for other lecturers.

I'm a social justice nerd, with a Bachelors in Sociology, and ten months into a paralegal studies program, or as I like to refer to it, "law school beta". I took this course as a means to continue to do something productive while in this coronavirus quarantine state we're all under right now. Keep the mind active while in-between school quarters. This course was tough to get through at times. Took me 2x as long as the "three weeks" it claims to get through it, in part because I lost interest to sit through it at the pace it it proposes. The lectures are dry to listen to. The professor stumbles through his words, goes off on anecdotal tangents that aren't particularly helpful, and his attempts at humor and pop culture fall flat. The topics the lectures are super pertinent for any would-be legal professional, but his explanations often leave you having to Google or find other videos to clarify what he actually might have meant. The videos aren't particularly stimulating visually to maintain interest, and it's clear that there were some bumps in coordinating between the teleprompter, the slideshow, and the camera. If nothing else, the course serves as a helpful primer that not all law professors are going to be helpful in how they lecture, and that your success on the material is often in spite of the professor you have.

The most challenging part of the course was probably the readings and peer review assignments. Some readings are in excess of 30 pages, so the "10 minutes" that it says it should take you to read are grossly underestimated. Also, part of the assignment's grading is whether you can articulate these responses in under 250 words. That's basically trying to summarize complex legal principles or case law in a tweet. Most "classmates" wrote well excess of the prompt, averaging 320-450 words. Some of your peers are gonna grade tough, but offered great feedback for strengthening your argument or correct your incorrect premise. Others I'm pretty sure are those "atta boy" graders who just give everyone A's for effort. However, there were a number of peer reviews that I read that helped me make greater sense of the readings than I may have had on first impression.

In all, it took me about 24 hours to take detailed handwritten notes, skim the readings, and complete the prompts or roughly 3-4 hours a week. I would have liked if the course had been broken up into 4-5 weeks versus 3, and had perhaps some guest speakers, or varying content like supplemental videos instead of the very mediocre lectures in a dark studio and an under-prepared lecturer.