Chevron Left
Zurück zu Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education von University of Michigan

4.7
Sterne
231 Bewertungen
72 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is open to professionals interested in learning more about leadership in higher education for a changing demographic or interested in developing their own leadership skills. The very idea that individuals can be taught to lead is not without its skeptics. Reasonable people, even some scholars in the field, point to the important traits, skills, and attributes that are observed in many visible leaders and contend that certain qualities necessary for effective leadership are not easily transmitted. To accept this premise and conclude that some people are born as natural leaders and others cannot be expected to lead at all is to make a mistake at the other end of the logical spectrum. We believe that leadership can be taught as long as it is concurrently nurtured, that most people possess a constellation of strengths around which they can construct their own leadership philosophy and approach, and that leadership development programming—if done well—can be transformative for organizers and participants. Course Level Objectives: Understand the historical narrative of institutions as well as institutional structures that have created instances of inclusion and exclusion in colleges and universities. Describe how transformational leadership is enacted for diversity, equity, and inclusion in a complex and contested environment. Compare legislative, governance, and public accountability and expectations in relation to contemporary issues in higher education. Analyze the strategic diversity planning process and documents of a selected institution. Recommend innovations and opportunities for transformational change at various levels of the ecological model using the strategic diversity planning process as a tool....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

3. Jan. 2022

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

JM

30. Nov. 2020

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

Filtern nach:

51 - 73 von 73 Bewertungen für Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education

von Sara L V M

27. Mai 2022

Me gusto mucho como nos dieron la información por medio de videos y lectuas. Gracias.

von Ingrid G W

15. März 2021

Excellent course! Very insightful and the assignments were very thought provoking.

von Zahra S

18. Aug. 2020

Excellent course! Great content, good pace, and engaging lectures!

Loved it!!!

von Terence C

25. Juni 2020

An excellent course providing an intermediate level insight in to this area.

von Lorena A S

28. Dez. 2020

Learned so much! Great insights on multiple topics in equity and diversity.

von Elena M

22. Juli 2021

I learned a great deal and have lots of good resources for the future!

von Dr L H J

6. Juli 2021

Awesome Program!!! Please Keep Programs Such As This Coming!

von JHANAVI Y 2

9. Aug. 2020

This course made me look beyond my own world.

von Tyneè S

20. Juli 2020

Great course, with great information!

von Patricia L T

9. März 2021

Excellent course

von Dhaneswar B

27. Sep. 2020

Very Nice Course

von Pamela H

21. Jan. 2021

great Course!

von Alex H

11. Jan. 2022

Excellent

von Kate M

8. Sep. 2021

I really appreciated the videos, readings, and the reflection activities each week. I feel like I got a lot out of the course! It was sometimes unclear to me which discussion thread I should work in-when there were multiple listed with the same heading and different dates--sometimes the dates didn't seem to line up with the dates for that week--but that was the only piece that threw me sometimes. Other than that the course was very easy to follow. Thank you!

von Clare S

9. März 2021

Excellent course, especially the masterful instructor Dr. John C. Burkhardt. I am very glad I took this course and will watch several of the videos again. I learned far more than I expected. Every leader in higher ed should take this course. A few areas for improvement: Some of the readings are way too long and of questionable value. Some material needs to be updated to stay current with the latest DEIA issues. The platform "Coursera" was clunky.

von Jordan O

17. Aug. 2020

Great intro course and awesome practical suggestions to improve EDI in your own institution. Especially good content addressing issues of race and racism within higher education in a North American context.

von Andy S

2. Okt. 2021

This was a useful introductory course. It could be improved by adding current research, current stories, and current changes in policy and practice.

von Mitchell G

20. Sep. 2020

Great information and instructor. My only comment would be to update some course materials (one reading mentioned the use of CD ROMS)

von Alyssa W

23. Feb. 2022

Some of the links appear to be outdated or no longer link to anything, but the course content was very valuable. Thank you.

von Nicole W

15. Jan. 2020

Very good, but very US focused.

von Becky W

9. Dez. 2020

very easy

von SUNCHAI K

2. Juni 2020

Very informative course with useful knowledge about diversity and equity. The course was well organised and introduced from the historical stories about diversity and equity in higher education. Although there are so many readings, the tools and knowledge introduced in the course were very effective.

von Nick

25. Feb. 2022

b​ad