Chevron Left
Zurück zu Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Learn to Program: The Fundamentals von University of Toronto

4.7
Sterne
5,614 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top-Bewertungen

AG

15. Dez. 2020

Great course for refreshing your python basics, and any beginner looking to pick up Python basics will be in a comfortable spot after completing this course and a bit of practice with the assignments.

PC

4. Juni 2021

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 1,646 Bewertungen für Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

von Eduardo L C

8. Feb. 2020

I thought this was a very good course, and quizzes were very interesting and forced you to really stretch your Python muscles and question what you really learned so far. The only things I would have liked to see more on this course would be a few more exercises, and ideally a few more videos that help you get a better idea on how Python will compile the code even before you test the concept learned in the Python shell. I still feel like I haven't made enough progress, and would very much like a sequence to this course. With a few more videos easing in on the more difficult problems in the quizzes, and possibly a third programming assignment would make this course even better. I would rate 4.5 stars, but I'll round it up to 5. Thank you!

von Ben C

6. Jan. 2018

I took this course a while ago, and it was the first online course I had done so I had nothing to compare it too. I have since done some other programming classes online and it's made me realize how good this course actually was. The profs are good and communicate clearly, there are lots of questions, posed at the appropriate times, the content is perfect for a beginner: lots of programming, but also a strong focus on the concepts behind the code and *how* it works. I am really grateful this was the first course I took. I think I would feel really frustrated with the holes in some of these other intro courses.

von Wout

17. Aug. 2017

Awesome course, very well structured. Good pace. Not too easy, but when you are seriously trying to complete the course it was also not too difficult. Highly recommend!

von Morley

9. März 2020

I am a beginner and this course should be designed for the likes of me, but having completed the course I have found many of the concepts have not sunk in yet. I don't know if it's the quality of the teaching or my circumstance - or both. So much of this course requires me to follow along and do as instructed, but if called upon to duplicate the work myself I would be lost. The instructors rush through difficult concepts and the difficulty level does not progress for a beginner like me but jumps. The time commitment is not as indicated (at least for me) with quizzes that are supposed to take minutes taking hours and assignments that are supposed to take hours taking weeks. The only saving grace of this course was the mentor Patrick Dennis. If it was not for Patrick's assistance, I would never have gotten through this course.

von Sasha R

23. Feb. 2017

The instructors may be knowledgeable, but they had no knack for teaching.

von Jake P

5. Dez. 2019

Extremely Outdated

von Rahul B

14. Apr. 2020

This course is really fun, easy and you get a lot to learn. The mentors of this course use simple language to make us understand. The most important part is that the programming language is taught from scratch with a lot (a lot) of fun examples, so you really get to know to how to use the methods and function with different algorithms and approach. The Assignments are great way to boost the learning as you have to work on the logic yourself and also the assignments are easy and have very interesting topics, this makes you willing to take the assignments. I really appreciate the efforts the course instructors have put in, in making all those videos. Thanks to both the mentors.

Personally I would like to say that, I felt like the programming language is spoon-feed to me because from The school I passed, we have to do a lot of effort ourselves to learn even from the teachers there. Thanks again to both the instructors.

von Sambit N

1. Feb. 2019

My primary goal was to get to know what really happens inside the program when we type any kind of code. In that regard, this course has fulfilled and to be honest, surpassed my expectations .

Let me highlight that the assignments are especially something that I loved doing, and I have a learnt a lot about the thought process that goes behind writing any program as well.

Therefore, I am immensely grateful to instructors Jennifer and Paul who undoubtedly have left left no stone unturned in designing a course which explains the fundamentals of programmimg in python lucidly and efficiently.

I feel very confident now in coding with python which is strongly aligned my career goal of becoming a data scientist. I'll be sure to recommend this wonderful course to my fellow aspirants as well. :)

von Sonia N

29. Apr. 2017

This was a wonderful course. The explanations were clear, with lots of examples.

I appreciated the summary sheets that were provided at the end of each lecture, which were very helpful when reviewing material later. The quizzes, both within the lectures and at the end of each week, helped continually test that I was actually absorbing the information I was learning.

I also found the transcription of the lecture helpful at times to understand concepts when I was finding that re-watching that section of the audio wasn't helping.

The assignments were very useful for putting what I had learned into practice, and the automarking was very helpful for helping me identify mistakes I had made. And importantly, it helped keep me motivated and engaged to improve my skills in Python. 10/10!

von M. G

30. Aug. 2021

I'm an absolute beginner in Python and not very familiar with Coursera, and I really enjoyed this course. The videos were great, especially because of the questions that popped up every few minutes to check for comprehension. The readings were useful for quick reviews. The quizzes weren't too difficult, and I actually learned a lot from them, though they always took me more than the estimated 30 minutes. The assignments were a good level of difficulty and actually pretty fun. Whenever I made a mistake on a quiz or assignment, I just went to the discussion forum to see if anyone had made a post about it. I never needed to post there because there were already plenty of explanations from previous years. This course took me about 33 hours over 7 weeks to finish.

von Michael A

1. Mai 2021

This course is more focused on theory behind python than I expected. Other courses have only brushed over the concepts behind the programming system while here it's a significant topic which I found challenging in the beginning but really helped my understanding as a whole as the course progressed.

The quizzes and assignments are no cakewalk, serious thought is needed to pass. Each week would take me about 3 - 4 hours (assignment weeks about 6 hours) and I would consider myself a quick learner / corner cutter.

von Sarah S

6. Juli 2022

It was my first time taking a computer programming course, also my first time taking a course on Coursera. Needless to say, I absolutely loved it. The tests and assignments were such a good idea, and the professors were so so helpful every step of the way. The lectures, explanations and notes were on point and very understandable. Thank you so much Coursera for this amazing course, and thank you sooooo much to the professors for all your work. Cannot wait to dive deeper into programming.

von Jeremy K

12. Juli 2022

Excellent course. Covered a good range of language features. I thought the order of presentation was very good and the format of videos with short quizzes, readings and longer quizzes was also good. The programming exercises that focussed on completing functions were good but I wonder if some students may find that since there were no complete programming tasks from scratch, that they finish the course without knowing how to do that.

Thank You!

von Juan D L L

18. Aug. 2020

I am not an absolute begginer at programming, but this course helped me strenghten my skills and taught me the basics of Python in a challenging and engaging manner. I recommend it specially if you have programmed in other languages and want to enroll in Python, but if you don't, don't worry because the explanations are well done and the forum has a remarkable support for your questions.

von Gian-Franco S

11. Apr. 2021

Great Course to start programming. I have never done anything in python or programming at all but nevertheless I was able to follow the course. Instructive videos, tests matching the content of the videos and a great forum where you get help within minutes or some hours - would totally recommend this course to everyone who wants to get into python-programming!

von ronit s

27. Juli 2022

A very beginner friendly course with a lot of knowledge and all core concepts covered. Had fun doing the assignments and quizes that were part of the course. Feeling confident to move forward and obviously very happy to complete the course. A big applause to both the professors to hold hand through out the course. All in al a very good course a deserving 5*.

von Allie H

11. Aug. 2022

Honestly I don't think programming is for me but this course was very engaging and helpful at teaching me the basics. It was probably the best introduction I could have had for free. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a free introduction to Python programming who wants to learn the basics in a flexible time frame.

von Hiury H d S

20. Mai 2021

I have a background of sparse contact with programming principles and tools and this course helped me feel comfortable with computer programming principles. It also provided a good understanding of python and a solid foundation for further developing my skills in this programming language

von Francesca Z

13. Juli 2022

I didn`t believe I could learn a programming language.

This course is really well explained (exept for the module on files, I had to re-watch the videos and try many times!).

Hopefully this marks the beginning of a new path for me.

von Shatanik M

11. Apr. 2021

Great course. It really helps with the fundamentals in an efficient manner. I was able to pick up to pace with python programming in no time with the help of the course materials. I found the discussion forum was extremely helpful

von Gde P G

5. Nov. 2021

So far it has been an absolute joyride, the tutors are always giving detailed explanations and concepts. The extra quiz and evaluation also gave us a good review of our knowledge that we have obtained from learning this course.

von Val F

22. Juni 2020

The explanation of each module was perfect, every bit was understood. The mentor was also very helpful in the forum. I wish there was a part 2 of the course to keep learning with the same professors.

von Aazim K

3. März 2018

I enjoyed this course. The video lectures were short and explained bite sized chunks that were easy to understand. The reading material after each lecture helped in revisiting what we just learned.

von K C

20. Juli 2022

Just the best. I had tried other courses but as challenging as this one was, the materials and videos by the instructors guided me every step of the way.

von Valentina P

9. März 2021

Before this course, I didn't have a clue what Python was, and now I am eager to learn more. Thank you! Brilliant instructors and challenging problems.