Chevron Left
Zurück zu Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects von Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
Sterne
74,874 Bewertungen
21,233 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top-Bewertungen

RS
6. Sep. 2015

I am a more effective learner as a result of this course. It has also, surprisingly, increased my enjoyment while learning. Thanks to Barbara and Terry for a well presented and informative production.

EA
28. Apr. 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 10,000 Bewertungen für Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

von Yechuri K

9. Juni 2020

Its really an amazing first journey with coursera. The content provided through this course was exquisite.

i have understood all those key mistakes i make while learning and all those obstacles i face while studying.

Mrs. Barbara Oakley [ hats off]

von Dr. P P

9. Juni 2020

fantastic. the quizzes were really helpful. But some lectures were extended unnecessarily. Like that famous scientist with a big name that babara mentioned that she read the biography.

von Nadia E V M

9. März 2021

Pienso que las entrevistas opcionales fueron de gran valor. Lo único que cambiaría sería el diseño, se me hizo un poco anticuado.

von Alexandria W

28. Okt. 2020

Informative, but not ground-breaking. A nice place to start if you're not sure Coursera is for you.

von Sakshi S S

9. Juni 2020

Very nice explanation

von Jake E P

22. Sep. 2016

What was helpful to me was: the discussion on spaced repetition, which boosted my confidence in applications like Duolingo and Memrise, and helped me discover Anki. The pomodoro technique is nice to know about, though I have rarely used it so far. I think I was already at the point where I don't need an actual pomodoro timer to get into that mindset. The best two things I probably got from the course was changing my way of thinking from focusing on product to focusing on process (though not always possible of course), and using recall to test myself on what I know rather than reading things over and over and just hoping it's gone in.

What I didn't like about the course was the presentation style, the pace, the content density (very low in my opinion), the irrelevant information, the hand-wavey explanations, and so on. The absolute worst of it was the full recommendation for using analogies but with no attempt on explaining how to make *good* anaologies. This is key. Most analogies I come across are misleading for all aspects of a thing but their very narrow scope, and sometimes the thing itself too (after all, you usually make them when you're first learning about a thing, unless you're teaching) and so without knowing how to make good anaologies while they are good for memory they are on average bad for understanding, and I don't think that can be stressed enough.

von R. R

14. Juni 2021

Эту бы воду да в засушливые регионы, или лесные пожары в Калифорнии тушить... Я прослушал лекции за две недели. Нового — нуль. Всё эти рекомендации, метод Помодоро, интервальное обучение, польза сна — всё баянистые баяны. А, и самое в этом весёленькое: рекомендация «Сфокусируйтесь!» Да если б у меня не было проблем с концентрацией, нужен был бы мне курс о том как учиться?! Ещё одна чудесная вишенка — интервью с разными персонажами. Да на кой ляд мне рассказ старушки о том, как ей помог этот курс, если курс ниочём? И это, как насчёт неприкрытого манипулирования и навязывания студентам ошибки выжевшего? Очень, блин, научно.

von Masako S

18. Aug. 2015

The contents were interesting. Presentation rather poor. The speeches seemd disorganized. I had to rely on transcrips: downloaded and edited. The comments are at times too casual. And other times too much special terminology. Most of times I understand what she was trying to say. But listening attentively was very difficult.

Heavy americanism impedes understanding; especially when the student does not have familiarity with US pop culture. I had to check how a pinball machine works. Zombis and four-armed (impossible) octpus were obstacles.

von Mark C

16. Aug. 2015

Meh.

I appreciated the new perspectives on learning, and the smaller chunks of video and assignments (which allowed me to spread the work out over the week).

The "Thanks for Learning about Learning" phrase was fine for the course introduction and the final module, but became annoying as the closing phrase. of. every. video.

Dr Sejnowski's skills are reading a teleprompter distracted me - I suggest doing some practice and redoing the videos when the TP won't be such a distraction (watching his eyes track back and forth didn't do it for me).

von Luis G d l F

25. Juli 2019

Very good material for high school, college or university students. Not enough for more serious applications such as business people or researchers. Course challenges / Things nor properly addressed:

- Relationship of Learning to emotions and meaning. - Skills depvelopment vs Academic learning - What drugs / supplements are good to improve learning, besides doing exercise. - More info about subconscious, emotions and their impact on learning. - Please do not include links you need to pay / subscribe (NYT)

Thks for all.

von Vaibhaw R

26. Aug. 2020

This is a really very theoretical course, not really sure how much I can use this in real life. Let's see.

von Marcos P

17. Juni 2019

Based on the reviews I read, my expectations for this course were pretty high. However, the course ended up being very basic and I didn't learn any new learning technique. I think that for most people who have Googled study methods at least once, they will already be familiar with most (if not all) of the methods introduced in the course. The material may be useful for someone totally new to studying, but even then I would not recommend taking it. You can learn just as much is less time watching YouTube videos or reading brief guides on procrastination and learning techniques.

The quality of the course was also disappointing. The volume in each video jumped up and down across lessons or when different speakers took the lead. I am surprised to see there's so much hype around this course despite its simplistic content and poor quality. I've taken more than a dozen courses at Coursera so far and this one doesn't even come close to the best ones I took.

I'd recommend finding something better to invest your time on.

von Jack M

12. Sep. 2017

It really didn't help, and all the test questions and answers were jumbled and hard to understand. And i found it extremely difficult to follow along with the videos which just made my quizzes that much harder. It's a good course and all, just not organized and everything the people were saying sounded exactly like the last one. Good idea and concept just not well prepared.

von Matthew B

12. Jan. 2019

Some interesting information is presented that could be potentially helpful to students, teachers, & curriculum developers. However, there is little of practical value beyond a few simple statements, e.g. "Spread out your studying over several days." Or "Trying to remember is better than re-reading." Additionally, the course does not practise or model what it preaches.

von Arman Z

23. Mai 2019

Most of the information I learned was either already known to me or not that effective. I prefer more exercises and practical methods that would teach me discipline and let me implement the methods I've learned. The tests after each material are good and helpful for remembering the information; however, they are not practical to implement the methods themselves

von Gleb A

26. Aug. 2017

The content is nice -- a few useful techniques with some scientific foundations, but why Barbara after EACH video reminds us her name, and this strange arrows with very unpleasant sound in the start of the videos about chunking -- why? There are a lot of things I can not understand in the production part, but overall course is worth taking in 1.5x+ speed.

von Oeuvrard S

27. Feb. 2017

I found difficult to navigate within the course and the style of the course is not very modern. I felt difficult to follow the whole program, which might be also linked to my level of English that might not have been good enough, considering the technical vocabulary used in the program. However some interesting and very concrete tips to learn

von Ali A

3. Sep. 2015

This will be an excellent course for undergrads and high school students but not much in depth knowledge and learning strategy for higher levels of education.

Teachers show mastery on their subject matter , though their presentation style is not genuine and naturally animated, to the point that it may feel boring.

von Ronan

11. Aug. 2017

Interesting enough if you do not have any previous experience with the techniques.

You learn about the 2 different modes of Learning - Focused & Diffuse.

Learn more by Remembering/Recalling, Testing yourself, learning from mistakes and using metaphors or analogies to understand concepts.

von Deleted A

6. Sep. 2015

it has a lot of nice information about the brain and ways of study, but this whole course is a way of procrastinating.

I feel like it could have been summed up really much better into written text and finished at a much faster rate.

von Peter W

23. Juli 2019

Too school focused, I wish there was a version to help people that aren't being tested. I thought it would have more information about how to find useful information instead of just remembering what was presented to you.

von Michael S

1. Feb. 2016

While the instructors may be well versed in their fields, I felt the course took too long to get to the meat of the issue. I suppose I wanted a faster-paced course without a lot of hand-holding.

von mona

6. Okt. 2016

this is a good course but if you think better and deeply you will understand that deep inside you your self know this things but maybe you did not do in daily life.

von Paul T

24. Nov. 2015

Didn't learn as much as expected about learning how to learn. Maybe my expectations were too high.

von joan b

6. Okt. 2015

Really basic, with some interesting stuff but could be reduced to a third of the time...