Chevron Left
Zurück zu Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects von McMaster University

4.8
Sterne
51,745 Bewertungen
14,329 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top-Bewertungen

BH

Nov 14, 2015

I found this course to be incredibly helpful. I am 33 and wish that I would have been taught a more efficient way of learning many years ago. There are definitely some great takeaways from this class.

JR

Oct 23, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 10,000 Bewertungen für Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

von Daniel

Feb 22, 2017

Fantastique :)

on a des enseignants extrêmement compétents, pédagogues et humains. On est invité à ouvrir sa curiosité d'apprendre, tel un enfant qui découvre le monde. Mais ce sont bien des cours très sérieux, pour adolescents et adultes, et qui nous apprennent les meilleures techniques pour mieux apprendre, bien apprendre, appuyées sur des faits et des études scientifiques. De l'essentiel en toute simplicité. Une richesse énorme avec les témoignages de vie et des conseils de personnes extraordinaires, en toute humilité. Ne négligez pas les interviews, ils sont l'image, le concret, la métaphore vivante de ce que les cours nous expliquent. Un très grand merci.

we have very highly competent teachers, pedagogues and humans. We're invited to open our curiosity to learn, like a child who discovers the world. But these courses are very serious, made for teenagers and adults, because they teach us the best techniques to learn better, to learn efficiently. Lessons are based on facts and scientific studies. Only the Essential. A tremendous quality and quantity of information given with testimonies of life and advices from extraordinary and humble people. Do have a look at the interviews, they are the image, the concrete, the living metaphor of what the courses explain. A very big thank you.

von Sofia A B

Mar 30, 2020

Learning How to Learn has rekindled my passion of teaching and preparing students for tests. As a teacher of Academic English and Test Preparation, motivating students and understanding which methods would work better for them have been quite a struggle. Thanks to this course, I now have more knowledge to share with my learners and also to apply in my own learning path.

This course starts with an explanation of the human brain and thinking patterns, without boring you, yet including the nitty-gritty of the foundations of learning. The analogies used in the videos and by the wonderful teachers in this course have helped me understand complex brain processes in a simplified, comprehensible manner.

The videos include the physiology of the brain and the relevance of sleeping and exercise in forming new learning opportunities for our brain. There are also tons of tips and suggestions in preparing for tests, acquiring new knowledge and retaining information. As the teachers explain, especially Ms. Barb Oakley, thinking you only have certain strengths and weaknesses leads you to thinking that way and not taking any measures to learn what you are not good at – which should be quite the opposite. The teachers guide you step by step through the ideal learning process.

von Andreia D

Aug 14, 2017

This is an empowering course that helps you to think you too can get better at learning and mastering complex topics. Think that schools should have this course at the beginning of their curriculum at different stages - kindergarden, primary school, high school, college and other studies. In each new stage you should revise these concepts, to make sure you are always on the right track to effective learning.

The quality of some videos and interviews could be improved (some interviews end with an abrupt cut and subjects seem to be rambling in some parts). Gave it the highest rate because of the novelty and usefulness of content but think it can be improved in those aspects.

The course helps to overcome the insecurity that arises when going to uncharted territory and to motivate you to learn things that you don't feel naturally talented to learn (favoring a growth mindset vs a fixed mindset) and so I think it is a fundamental tool in times where continuous learning is key.

Keep up the good work!

PS: really liked the interviews with the computer science and language learning hackers (so motivating to see that people can have that sort of motivation and discipline to learn on their own, and bring to light resources that are in most part available to everyone)

von Tuvshinzaya A

Jul 13, 2017

Its ranking as the best course on MOOC is highly deserved! They really delivered on bringing visual aids and metaphors to the concept they were teaching - walking the walk, as well as talking the talk. As a perpetual student and an aspiring professor one-day, I really appreciated this amazing course that Barbara and Terrence have put together. I am taking away many practical lessons from this class: how to engage my diffuse mode thinking (Dali!), importance of flushing out metabolic brain toxin by sleeping, and how to keep away memory vampires by practice! Not to mention, I actually went and learned how to make animated video for the final assignment - something that I have been thinking for a while and kept putting away. This course finally provided the push and the confidence to start that project, and not only that, but I am now re-evaluating all the areas of learning that I pushed away thinking that I was simply better at other things - learning foreign languages or material science. Now I am off to find MOOCs in those areas with the knowledge that it will be worth my time and effort to learn them - even if I am not "naturally gifted" in them. All the love and best wishes for Dr. Barbara Oakley & Dr. Terrence from Mongolia!

von Jin K

Nov 07, 2015

Really useful course. It helps me review my works and study.

I come from Taiwan, currently as a MBA student studying in the UK.

As a non English native speaker, it is really stressful to learn new things in academic level in a foreign language. I used to force myself study for a very long time without a break, but the results were not good as I expected. I blamed this to my language barrier, I thought the difference between the other successful peers is I couldn't have an the chance as the others who had better educational environment and leant English on the early stage.

This class lets me understand the biggest challenge of my learning is procrastination. Hopefully, procrastination is nothing about being stupid or should feel shame about, it is a natural metal mechanism of our brain avoiding unpleasure things. And it can be overcome by methods and practices. Pomodoro Technique really helps my memory and extends the time I keep concentrate on one thing. With the practice my brain works more efficient and it brings better result.

I recommend this course for the other who is struling with the barrier on learning and who does not have confident for himself/ herself on working and leaning. This course may change your mind.

von Keith D G

Jan 29, 2016

Hello:

I'm Keith Grimes and I just completed your course. I really enjoyed the course and feel that I've learned quite a bit about learning. I enrolled in the course simply because I felt it was time to take my love of "the idea of learning" and turn it into "the practice of actually learning something."

What I loved most about the course was Barbara Oakley herself and her inspiring story. I graduated from Oakland University with a bachelors degree in English. During those undergrad days, I often experienced the Impostor Syndrome. Discovering that there was an actual name for what I often felt, combined with the struggle to learn that Dr. Oakley experienced in her younger years, really connected with me. Thank you for sharing.

One other note... I recently had the opportunity to share many of these ideas and concepts with my son who is a sophomore at Michigan State University. As Dr. Sejnowski mentioned in the final video, the measure of really knowing if you've learned something is to teach it to someone else. Sharing what I learned with my son in order to help him along his journey as a student, was an invaluable experience.

Thanks again for offering this course.

Keith D. Grimes

https://www.linkedin.com/in/keithdgrimes

von Janis V

Aug 10, 2016

I loved it from the beginning till the end! It was perfectly structured (easily "chunkable":)), each video was really exciting and very easy to understand! I can only regret that I did not learn all of this back when I was studying at high school and the university. I'm sure I would have had more confidence and would have learned more deeply both several of the advanced mathematics subjects during my computer science studies at the university as well as in various other subjects earlier at school.

Among all of the great ideas presented in the course I would like to highlight the idea that you have just four or so short term memory slots available to your focused thinking as something that I think would be very motivating for anyone not to give up complex subjects. In case you don't understand something all you have to do is grow chunks of the concepts (i.e. grow some neuron connections) involved using the focused and diffuse mode and give them some time to form.

I have to get it translated to Latvian and popularize it here somehow. I think that could be one of the most efficient ways how to both increase the number of people who study the sciences as well as raise the average level of education at least a bit.

von Raj C

Jan 28, 2018

This course has opened my eyes to learning and provided me with a solid foundation to rebuild my own learning methods and strategies. I have gained tremendous insight about various forces at play that need to work like a well orchestrated symphony if I am to tackle complex subjects and master learning.

The course is structured very well with short video lectures and sprinkled with quizzes to help you retain invaluable information. Also, there is opportunity for supplemental work to further cement one's newly discovered strengths. The optional reading sections and interviews with various people has further augmented my understanding and sparked ideas for novel applications of learning.

By applying the techniques, I have already started to retain and recall more information than I have ever done before. I have also stopped wasting my time by re-reading material endlessly or writing things down. Instead after learning something new, I pause after each key idea and test myself if I can recall the gist of it and see how it fits with the rest of knowledge mass. This technique alone has unlocked my potential.

I highly recommend this course to anybody. I am super excited for finding something that actually works.

von Amanda P M

Jun 28, 2016

Superb. This is the first MOOC I managed to finish, and now I'm actively exploring all the extra resources and videos from the course.

I originally enrolled looking for tips on how to make my courses more accessible for my students (I'm a college instructor), and also to help me hone my learning skills, since I'm starting to delve on different fields of study. Not only did I achieve those goals, but I'm also very excited to explore new MOOCs and online study possibilities.

The only downside, if one could say such, is that this course sets quite a high bar in how a MOOC should be: one can easily percieve that everything about its format -- from the weekly newsletter to the videos' length and visuals to the structure and syllabus -- is made with careful consideration of the context of online learning, and of the fundamentals of neuroscience the course shares with the students. Many (good!) MOOCs aren't as well tailored as this one.

I absolutely recommend it to anyone who is interested (even if frustrated!) with learning, be it independently, online or in a traditional classroom environment. Congratulations and warm thank yous to Dr. Oakley, Dr. Sejnowski, and the Learning How to Learn Team!

von Sushaan M

Mar 18, 2016

This course is 4 weeks long; Why Do something new for30 days; do this course.

If you've always wanted t be a much better learner , then nows the time: think about it, you've always wanted to add to your learnings in life , advent you? Invest in Meta learning - Learning about learning - for the next 30 days.

30 days is a great time span, it's just about the right amount of time to add this new habit , Learning how to learn, to your life.

Get a hold of the coming month, (theres a course starting right now on 22 march2016), and you can find instead of t 2016 flying by, forgotten, the time invested in March/ April will make everything in 2016 and beyond much more memorable. Your self-confidence as a Learner par excellence will grow exponentially.!

if you really want to be a superlative learner badly enough, you can certainly do this course with dedication & commitment for 30 days.When you make small, sustainable changes, things you keep doing, they are more likely to stick.

So here's my question to you: What are you waiting for? the next 30 days are going to pass anyhow, so why not Choose To be A Skilful Learner, something you have always wanted to do and give it a shot!

von Rahul B

Nov 24, 2016

I think this is one of the best courses I have attended. I wish concepts taught in this class are taught to every student right from the early age. I am 39 years old and as I look for a job (I was laid off a while back), I feel educating myself by getting certifications would be a good idea to enhance my prospects of exposing myself to better opportunities and with this course I have the self confidence that yes I can learn and get good grades in my certifications.

I was getting bogged down by procrastination to a very large extent in my life and this course helped me deal with the procrastination zombies using pomodoro, this feels so empowering and I am glad I did not choose depression or bad habits. After incorporating the pomodoro technique I have also significantly reduced my 10+ year smoking habit and I am confident I will get rid of it like a champ.

Listening to professors from such esteemed colleges and universities help break the dogma/belief in my head that people are born genius. With hard work, dedication and self-belief anything is possible.

Lastly, I want to thank Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski from the bottom of my heart, Thank you for teaching me about learning.

von Greg M

Nov 24, 2015

After signing up for at least half a dozen (probably ~10) MOOCs over the past few years, this is the first course that I have actually followed to completion. Not only is the information relevant to my daily (non-student) life, but it is presented in an engaging and *cough* memorable way. I doubt I will be forgetting about my mental zombies or metabolic vampires anytime soon.

The two most life changing, and I mean that literally, ideas shared in this course were the Pomodoro technique and focusing on "process", not "product". Using these two new methods/ideas I have made significant progress on projects I have been putting off for quite a while.

All of the topics covered were engaging and informative, not to mention useful!

For those who are hesitant to try this course due to lack of free time, I would recommend turning up the video speeds by 25% increments, until you are at a comfortable speed where you still understand the material, but compress your time spent watching the videos. I started at 1.25x, slowly working my way up to the max of 2x by the end of the course.

This is an excellent course covering a critical topic that can improve your daily life, for the rest of your life!

von Eduardo P A

Jun 24, 2019

I took this course as part of a programming curriculum, and I was absolutely hesitant to go through so much content. However, I have absolutely no regrets! Be ready to learn a lot about learning, as ironic as that sounds! You will learn some basic science behind the mind and how we learn, and then will be exposed to a lot of different methods you can use to learn whatever you need. The content creators are qualified due to their educational backgrounds and often times mention the studies that support their techniques. I truly believe that everybody would benefit from taking this course no matter where they are in life. The first week of content absolutely blew me away, and made me realize that I was experiencing a lot of what was covered! I thought I didn't need this as I have been through K-12 and some college, but it definitely gave me a reality check. I will admit that I was completely discouraged when I saw that estimated time completion. But I highly recommend setting your video speed to x2! I have tons of notes on my note editing software to accompany everything I've learned, and I will absolutely use what I've learned here for the rest of my life!

von Jonathan M K

Nov 30, 2015

This course is helping me solve one of the most pressing problems I am facing as a student which is how to learn on my own in online courses. After searching books, talking with people, and searching the internet, I found this course. While I was aware of some of the material this course offered which aiding in my chunking of the material in this course, the mental techniques which I was not aware of have been very helpful such as chunking in small burst with the Pomodoro Technique and learning multiple subjects in parallel rather than one at a time thus utilizing interleaving, focusing on deepening my understanding of materials I already know a bit about in the form of overlearning, figuring out ways to win against pitfalls in misunderstandings because of prior knowledge or Einstellung, and working against procrastination plus more.

This is a great course that many people can benefit from and I am very grateful for the opportunity to have learned from Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski. As a computer science undergraduate in college, these mental tools are very useful and students of other fields can benefit as well, from humanities to business and beyond.

von Andrew L

Jun 14, 2016

Learning how to learn is a real thing that complete changed my life and attitude towards many things. It was mentioned that when we are born, our brain is not supplemented by the manual guide. I think this course can be a real manual guide for many of those who have taken this course. It explain the nature of our brain. When we ask plain questions such as why we should go to bed early or why we have to learn every day and shouldn't cram, sometimes we get very vague answers which cannot meet our expectations. After this course, I could totally understand the nature of my brain and my behavior. I could change my patterns and get rid of many bad habits. I am sure that this course could boost me even more. Also after this course I decided to learn Chinese. I have never thought about it, but having been inspired by Barbara Oakley I could make this very unexpected for me choice. Also I have notices that my memory skills somehow became better. I will highly recommend this course to my friends, students and many other curious people.

I would like to thank the University of California, San Diego. and Barbara Oakley for this wonderful course.

Best regards,

Andrew Liberman

von Yuuna K

Sep 22, 2015

This is a wonderful class. The entire team at Learning How to Learn have put together a marvelous course which teaches us how to learn. What I found very helpful was learning that there are things you can do to achieve competence. Becoming a skilled learner is not magic or genetics or esoteric techniques but rather very basic things: putting in time and making it a part of daily living like eating or sleeping, practicing over time and not cramming everything into one day, making the study period consist of varied methods and material, doing self tests, challenging your self by doing hard things to deepen understanding of a topic, recalling material by closing the source or book and trying to make a brief summary statement, using mnemonic methods, analogies, metaphors, visualizations to really help you remember. The most important take-away from this class is that learning requires me to do certain things. If i commit to doing these things, then i can learn anything. Doing a little every day and keeping at it will help you to gain mastery in whatever you wish to learn. Thank you so very much for empowering manny many people by sharing these methods.

von Elizabeth B

Nov 14, 2015

This is the first class I had ever taken on the open online classes. I took it to be prepared to take other classes. Honestly, I figured it would be kind of like a reminder class on studying. The Professors are amazing. The have set a high standard for other classes. There was never a dull moment. It was so much fun and I learned so much NEW information but Not only did I learn it but I completely understand why it works. it is great having insight into the brain and how to have it work for you. This is not the standard study skill class at all. The names says it all. I still surprise myself on how enthusiastic I am when I get the opportunity to use the information acquired . It really works . it's like being able to depend on a really good friend. They are always there to help you pull through and won't leave you hanging. My favorite is the Pomodoro technique. if you procrastinate this is the one to help you get stuff done. I have incorporated a lot of what I learned into my daily life. After being in many other classes, I have to say this is the BEST class I have taken. It's the knowledge I use most. Keep up the good work Barb and Terry!!!

von Kellie M

Aug 31, 2015

I loved this course - the subject-matter was interesting, the instructor was endearing, and the content was incredibly easy-to-grasp, fun and engaging. The retrieval quizzes were well spaced out and super helpful for embedding the new knowledge, and the expert interviews were great as well.

Two potential improvement areas: 1.) The videos featuring Barbara Oakley (which was most of them) are very low-volume. I had turned up my device speakers and the video player volume adjustor to the maximum levels (and tried on multiple devices) but it was really hard to hear some of them without straining, and having to download the transcripts in order to follow along (which meant missed some of her hilarious visuals). No audio issues with the other videos or in my other Coursera classes. 2.) The practice quizzes allow you to see WHAT you got wrong in a given problem (and indicated what the correct choice would have been), and explained WHY it was wrong, but the actual quizzes don't reveal either. This made me feel anxious every time I got a question I'd gotten wrong on a previous quiz, since I didn't know what exactly I'd gotten wrong or why.

von Laura B

Sep 21, 2015

Amazing course. Concepts and ideas are explained very clearly and thoroughly, and all study techniques taught in this course are based on scientific facts and research. Furthermore, option videos show us fantastic examples of people who succeded at learning, and they are all very inspiring. I don't think I can explain how much the ideas taught in this course touched me deeply. For years I've been thinking that it was pointless for me to study properly because my memory is not that great and I would forget things in a matter of weeks. Well, Barbara & co. made me realize that the development of my memory and my brain is in my hands (and not only in my genes) and I can actively work in order to improve them. Now, I won't probably get a PhD in Engineering, but I feel that -with the right motivation and study techniques- I can really achieve almost everything I want. It's really a great feeling. Thank you so much for this course. Highly recommended to everyone, but especially to those who feel insecure about their study methods and academic achievements. I wish someone taught me all of this when I was actually a student!

von Rufus F R j

Dec 06, 2019

This course is potentially useful to anyone at any age from any background. There are useful tools in this subject matter that can help most any learner learn any subject more easily whether in an academic environment or a non-academic environment. This course is more than a self-help course because the course lays a foundation as to how to learn any subject matter. Because this course is contemporaneously based in scholarly and scientific research, social science, and especially brain science, the learner is benefiting from some of the most recent and sound knowledge available without pedantic complexity. This course takes some very complex knowledge and makes that data easily accessible to most learners such that the learners may become self-actualized. This course can be truly transformative in nature because this course will change a learner's perspective about how to learn anything and change a learner's perspective about one's self. This course is not snake oil. I know because this course has changed how I learn and changed me as a person. In short, this course has positively changed my life.

von Robyn L

Jun 11, 2016

It's a useful and interesting course for me.

I had graduated from university for several years.The long I graduated the more I felt hard to learn faster and easier.Too much things to make learning planning procrastinated, and I felt fidget, frustrated, and hard to concentrate.

I tried my best to find a solution (I thought).I spent much more time on learning,but that didn't work.Once I thought learning new things was for those who were young or high IQ.

After I learned Learning How to Learn,I found I was terribly wrong.Firstly, the most important thing is,after I use these methods which the course taught,I find self -confidence feel fun and find learning is interesting.No more frustrated,and no more self-denial. Secondly,learning is a life time work,and the brain is ready for it,I just need to know how to make it prepared.

I recommend this course to those who had left school for years,and now who want to learn more.

I also think this course is useful for students to study much better.

Thank you.

(In the end, sorry for those grammar mistakes,English is not my native langue,I studied on my-own.)

von Liow J W

Oct 02, 2017

Initially I thought this course is going to be boring just by looking at the title of the course, but I was wrong. Dr. Barbara Oakley, one of the key speaker of this course was a humorous person, and I can see how she put efforts into all her content to prepare for a course that goes straight to the point where you can see direct practicality in real life, and also cut downs all the jargons into duh-duh easy to understand languages. I really enjoy my time in learning how to learn from her, and it totally re-shaped my understanding towards test-taking and what is the actual best way to study. I benefited a lot from this course. Let me end with my favourite remark from this course by Dr. Sejnowski, "You have not truly learned something unless you can teach it to others." To Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski, thanks for your effort in this course. I enjoyed my time learning from the both of you. To those who are struggling with test-taking, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you to consider this course, and I believe it is going to have a momentum change in how you approach learning and test-taking.

von Carl l

Jun 26, 2017

I want to say a special thank you to Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski for this outstanding course on Learning How to Learn. I have plans to put to practice the material from this course and share the key points with friends, students and associates. I am finding myself already reviewing my notes in my head. My next thing to accomplish today is to order the POMODORO Timer the one that looks like an apple. I also have plans to read more of the additional works on Procrastination and Memory. I feel a new sense of purpose after taking this course. Thanks again to Dr. Oakley, Dr. Sejnowski, UC San Diego, Coursera, and all of the folks behind the scenes that helped make this the number one most popular online course in the world. I am wondering what student number I have out of the 2 million who have already successfully completed this course? Is this the end of an era of Learning How to Learn? Just maybe Watson A.I. will become how we learn in the future classroom, or on online or at home. Add VR to the mix and anything is possible. We are living in very exciting times.

von Jakub P

Oct 23, 2017

Couldn't imagine better introduction into MOOCs and strongly believe this course should be included into formal education curriculum as obligatory and one of the most important ones. That's because it deals with the very basics of education - what learning is, how do the brain do it, what processes are involved and how to use them properly. Understanding this in the first place would make huge improvement to any further learning no matter the skill.

Course could be valuable either for those starting their education (giving them proper tools, changing perspective, etc.) and more advanced learners (backing some of their intuitions with scientific data, dealing with some misconceptions, consolidating and presenting knowledge in well structured way). It's all done in layman terms and thanks to dr. Oakley in a very kind, fun and supportive atmosphere.

Another good indicator that creators practice what they preach is the design of the course itself - videos served in digestible "chunks", funny and attention keeping quizzes, little reviews, etc. Overall - highly recommended.

von BIKOUTA-MENGA

May 29, 2017

Hello,

I am an NLP Master from France. I have developped differents skills in learning or life coaching ( Erickson Hypnosis, Neuro Semantics...) Your course is just a very good one. And for free ???? No excuse for anyone who wants to improve its skills about learning how to learn. If You are interested about the functionnal of the Brain that even the best scientist as never talked about until today, I strongly recommand you to read The Hidden Face Of The Brain written By Dominique AUBIER. You have never read something like that. I sware because she reveald what the Brain is for the Traditions and compare the Crown knowledge and the Scientist Knowledge reuniting those both approach that are usually describe as opposite. This books is probably the best TOP interleaving learning you have never read. Thank you so much for what you did. Maybe once a day we will meet. But if we don't you will shall say to all the people you know Cyrille BIKOUTA-MENGA aka WALLO11.37.04 has followed our course. THANK YOU SO MUCH Mrs OAKLEY. Keep going smiling and sharing all your knowledge.