Chevron Left
Zurück zu Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects von McMaster University

4.8
Sterne
66,017 Bewertungen
18,714 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top-Bewertungen

LL

May 18, 2020

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

MC

Oct 29, 2019

I enjoyed this course so much. I learned a lot about how I can become a better learner. This course was very interesting and useful. I have some tools that I can use to optimize my learning potential.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 10,000 Bewertungen für Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

von Elizabeth B

Nov 14, 2015

This is the first class I had ever taken on the open online classes. I took it to be prepared to take other classes. Honestly, I figured it would be kind of like a reminder class on studying. The Professors are amazing. The have set a high standard for other classes. There was never a dull moment. It was so much fun and I learned so much NEW information but Not only did I learn it but I completely understand why it works. it is great having insight into the brain and how to have it work for you. This is not the standard study skill class at all. The names says it all. I still surprise myself on how enthusiastic I am when I get the opportunity to use the information acquired . It really works . it's like being able to depend on a really good friend. They are always there to help you pull through and won't leave you hanging. My favorite is the Pomodoro technique. if you procrastinate this is the one to help you get stuff done. I have incorporated a lot of what I learned into my daily life. After being in many other classes, I have to say this is the BEST class I have taken. It's the knowledge I use most. Keep up the good work Barb and Terry!!!

von Joachim V

Sep 01, 2020

Wow, I definitely learned a lot of new things about how important it is to take our brain and the way we think and process things into our consideration with our learning. It is super significant to incorporate the right techniques into learning things and understanding things or you might not learn that much at all. ANd retaining information and actually being able to recall it yourself and test yourself on it and do these other things to really know and be confident in what you're learning is also a good thing to do. This course has so many beneficial tips and the advice that they provide definitely confirms a lot of the things that I thought might be right before on instinct but didn't really know for sure and now that I have the knowledge to use all these approaches to learning properly, I feel like I can truly ace all of my classes, maximize my productivity, and hopefully use the extent of my capabilities. Or at least more of them. Highly recommend taking this 5/5 stars just really simple and straight forward stuff that will help save a lot of time and provide a lot of useful brain shortcuts that you were never taught in school.

💯🎯

von Kellie M

Aug 31, 2015

I loved this course - the subject-matter was interesting, the instructor was endearing, and the content was incredibly easy-to-grasp, fun and engaging. The retrieval quizzes were well spaced out and super helpful for embedding the new knowledge, and the expert interviews were great as well.

Two potential improvement areas: 1.) The videos featuring Barbara Oakley (which was most of them) are very low-volume. I had turned up my device speakers and the video player volume adjustor to the maximum levels (and tried on multiple devices) but it was really hard to hear some of them without straining, and having to download the transcripts in order to follow along (which meant missed some of her hilarious visuals). No audio issues with the other videos or in my other Coursera classes. 2.) The practice quizzes allow you to see WHAT you got wrong in a given problem (and indicated what the correct choice would have been), and explained WHY it was wrong, but the actual quizzes don't reveal either. This made me feel anxious every time I got a question I'd gotten wrong on a previous quiz, since I didn't know what exactly I'd gotten wrong or why.

von Alex L

Apr 12, 2020

I wanted to hold off on reviewing this course immediately after completing because learning is something that can only be demonstrated over a long period of time. I feel that it would be dishonest for anyone to review this kind of course which stresses the importance of spaced learning and long-term memory/chunking the moment it's finished.

After closely practicing the methods and techniques (emphasis on spaced learning method and recall technique) throughout the course and finishing the Final exam of this course, I wrote down all the important terms, concepts, and techniques with each of their respective definitions on Quizlet.

I put this whole Learning How to Learn course into the back of my mind for a month. No active reviewing of any of this material.

A month goes and I check my to-do list and it says "Do Quizlet's auto-generated tests which uses your key terms and definitions that you wrote down. No reviewing for this test."

I got a 100% on this informal test after not having done any review of Learning How To Learn's material after a month. I am confident in saying that if you properly execute this course's concepts, it will work.

von Kostenko T

Sep 15, 2020

good afternoon, starting from this course, I thought that it would be a banal cramming of the material (I studied this way sometime 23 years ago), so even in project work for students I recalled this with the phrase: we all learned something sometime and somehow . But this August-September there was a radical change in the idea of ​​learning.

the idea that a lot depends on yourself, the simplicity and availability of explanations of teachers, interest in the topic throughout the course, the application is real !!! Techniques and Tips from Barbara Oakley Terrence Sejnowski Teachers - These Tips Help It Truthfully, Practically And Easily For The Student To Understand

So I don't want to part I'll watch the video materials again and save more recommended materials for independent study

I am grateful for this course because it gave me more confidence in myself and my abilities

many thanks to the translators who made it possible for students without knowledge of English to listen to and read this course - we learn how to learn

I am grateful to the guests giving interviews and practical !! applicable guidelines

THANKS going further👩🏻‍🎓

von Gerardo G S

Jul 27, 2020

Como una persona bilingüe y un hombre de 29 años que jamas creyo que podria ser buen estudiante recomiendo muchisimo este curso, no solo me ha apoyado en las areas academicas de mi vida si no tambien en mi vida personal, ahora uso el metodo Pomodoro hasta para limpiar mi habitacion, estoy eternamente agradecido con los doctores Baraba Oakley y Terry Sejnowski que se tomaron el tiempo de hacer este curso, de verdad lo disfrute muchisimo y aprendi mucho mas de como aprender, sin duda algo que planeo aplicar para generaciones futuras.

As an bilingual person and a 29 year old man who never believed he could be an A+ student I recommend a lot this course, not only because it has helped me on the academic aspect of my life but also in my personal life, i even use the Pomodoro Technique to clean my room, I am forever grateful with the Doctors Barbara Oakley and Terry sejnowsky for taking the time to do this course, I really enjoyed it a lot and i learned much more about "How To Learn", without a dobut is something that I plan to teach to future generations.

Thanks a lot Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski....and Happy Learning everyone!

von Chansolyka T

May 08, 2020

I had been facing the lack of commitment and strong procrastination for a long time when it come to online learning. I have enrolled and unrolled many courses for years and never had one completed. 4 weeks ago, all of this changed. I logged into my Coursera account again after one year to try for another start and to keep myself learning during this COVID-19 and viola, I saw that I have enrolled in "Learning how to learn" a year ago. It's just a perfect timing. When you are having difficulty keeping your learning going and been giving all the excuses, this is the best course to start and I am happy to say, for the first time in like years since I am on Coursera, this is my first course that I completed and currently I am on another course and is half way through. Pomodoro has been my daily tools for both work and study. 7 to 8 hours sleep and exercise are my priority. To do list before going to bed keep my self motivated waking up next day knowing what I needed to get done. There's so many great tips and I feel like I can do more! Thank you for this amazing course! I can now say with more confident that I am a learner :)

von Ramesh Z R

Apr 18, 2020

Ramesh completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it.

There are lots of opinions on how to learn, which from this course it has provided me with research-based outputs that somehow or the other gave me a new understanding of learning approaches and techniques.

Some parts are actually within my knowledge and practice, such as metaphors and analogies + visually.

The teamwork seems to be providing a great reflection material. As I found that sometimes I am uneasy to perform all the time teamwork as there are times where my opinions are rejected due to my less influential behavior. And, having a community that looks high on opinions, the influential skills are considered as a leadership norm in teamwork. However, spotting errors and noticing it from other team members are really useful. For example, when we are developing software which requires counter checking our codes. That is why we are now practising Pair Programming, even many similar communities do.

Great course. I will need to train to have a good "holistic" right-brain from now on.

BRAVO to Dr Barb and Dr Terry.

Thanks

Sincerely

Ramesh Zaidi Rozan

von Laura B

Sep 21, 2015

Amazing course. Concepts and ideas are explained very clearly and thoroughly, and all study techniques taught in this course are based on scientific facts and research. Furthermore, option videos show us fantastic examples of people who succeded at learning, and they are all very inspiring. I don't think I can explain how much the ideas taught in this course touched me deeply. For years I've been thinking that it was pointless for me to study properly because my memory is not that great and I would forget things in a matter of weeks. Well, Barbara & co. made me realize that the development of my memory and my brain is in my hands (and not only in my genes) and I can actively work in order to improve them. Now, I won't probably get a PhD in Engineering, but I feel that -with the right motivation and study techniques- I can really achieve almost everything I want. It's really a great feeling. Thank you so much for this course. Highly recommended to everyone, but especially to those who feel insecure about their study methods and academic achievements. I wish someone taught me all of this when I was actually a student!

von Rufus F R j

Dec 06, 2019

This course is potentially useful to anyone at any age from any background. There are useful tools in this subject matter that can help most any learner learn any subject more easily whether in an academic environment or a non-academic environment. This course is more than a self-help course because the course lays a foundation as to how to learn any subject matter. Because this course is contemporaneously based in scholarly and scientific research, social science, and especially brain science, the learner is benefiting from some of the most recent and sound knowledge available without pedantic complexity. This course takes some very complex knowledge and makes that data easily accessible to most learners such that the learners may become self-actualized. This course can be truly transformative in nature because this course will change a learner's perspective about how to learn anything and change a learner's perspective about one's self. This course is not snake oil. I know because this course has changed how I learn and changed me as a person. In short, this course has positively changed my life.

von Omar A

May 29, 2020

It's strange that I didn't know about the information in this course before. It makes learning fun and easier than what I used to. It's not about math or science, it's about everything you learn in live.

I recommend this course to everyone who want a better learning approach. This course is a good start to know about learning.

a Quick summery for the course:

1- It's important to know you need to study and rest. It's like exercising, You need to work, but you need to rest to let your body build the muscles.

2- You need to get the big idea of what you are learning before diving into deep details. It makes getting the idea easier.

3- Procrastination is a tough problem for learners, but you will be shocked of how easy it's to tackle it.

4- It's important to know how the brain works

5- some people are talented. others need to work harder, but that doesn't mean they are worse. If they worked harder, they will show you their true potential. Example: People with ADHD, They have to work harder to grasp the information, but once they understand it, they will be creative with it.

I wish my review was helpful.

von Oisín M F

May 08, 2020

This easy and accessible course provides some guidance for studying more effectively, based on research in neuroscience and psychology. It gives a grounding in some fundamental cognitive processes like chunking and our working memory systems.

Later sections discuss practical tips for study, test preparation and relaxation / self-care.

It would be nice perhaps to expand on the section dealing with mnemonics and provide some more concrete, practical examples, perhaps discussing systems like PAO (person-action-object), linking sequences and the Major system for memorising numbers.

Also, for language study, there has been a slowly rising interest and awareness of the "comprehensible input" theory of language acquisition popularised by Stephen Krashen's work, and embodied in methods like TPRS or the "natural method". These approaches are very different from how adults typically study second languages, and it would be good to provide some information about them (complimentary, critical or descriptive).

Overall, this is an excellent course that I'd recommend to everybody. I look forward to more from the authors.

von Elroy L B J

Jun 07, 2020

I wish I had known this before entering College or University. Most of the content feels like common sense in a way that we all knew this and that were the steps that we had to take to learn better. However, this course reinforces the information so well with logic, explanation and passion such that now, there are no excuses I can make to deny that procrastination is something I can understand and avoid. Learning is certainly up to an individual's willpower to consciously plan your schedule, break down goals, stick to your goals, and most importantly, be consistent by taking a day-by-day approach. Never forget to look at the big picture; conversely, don't focus on the product. Enjoy and trust the process. Simply reading a new passage today can go a long way if you step back and realise how far you can go, or you have gone, just by completing 1 simple pomodoro today. Thank you Professors for the enjoyable learning experience. The first step I am taking is to reinforce my learning from this course onto my learning for my academics. Thank you Coursera for making this course free and accessible.

von Robyn L

Jun 11, 2016

It's a useful and interesting course for me.

I had graduated from university for several years.The long I graduated the more I felt hard to learn faster and easier.Too much things to make learning planning procrastinated, and I felt fidget, frustrated, and hard to concentrate.

I tried my best to find a solution (I thought).I spent much more time on learning,but that didn't work.Once I thought learning new things was for those who were young or high IQ.

After I learned Learning How to Learn,I found I was terribly wrong.Firstly, the most important thing is,after I use these methods which the course taught,I find self -confidence feel fun and find learning is interesting.No more frustrated,and no more self-denial. Secondly,learning is a life time work,and the brain is ready for it,I just need to know how to make it prepared.

I recommend this course to those who had left school for years,and now who want to learn more.

I also think this course is useful for students to study much better.

Thank you.

(In the end, sorry for those grammar mistakes,English is not my native langue,I studied on my-own.)

von Liow J W

Oct 02, 2017

Initially I thought this course is going to be boring just by looking at the title of the course, but I was wrong. Dr. Barbara Oakley, one of the key speaker of this course was a humorous person, and I can see how she put efforts into all her content to prepare for a course that goes straight to the point where you can see direct practicality in real life, and also cut downs all the jargons into duh-duh easy to understand languages. I really enjoy my time in learning how to learn from her, and it totally re-shaped my understanding towards test-taking and what is the actual best way to study. I benefited a lot from this course. Let me end with my favourite remark from this course by Dr. Sejnowski, "You have not truly learned something unless you can teach it to others." To Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski, thanks for your effort in this course. I enjoyed my time learning from the both of you. To those who are struggling with test-taking, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you to consider this course, and I believe it is going to have a momentum change in how you approach learning and test-taking.

von Carl l

Jun 26, 2017

I want to say a special thank you to Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski for this outstanding course on Learning How to Learn. I have plans to put to practice the material from this course and share the key points with friends, students and associates. I am finding myself already reviewing my notes in my head. My next thing to accomplish today is to order the POMODORO Timer the one that looks like an apple. I also have plans to read more of the additional works on Procrastination and Memory. I feel a new sense of purpose after taking this course. Thanks again to Dr. Oakley, Dr. Sejnowski, UC San Diego, Coursera, and all of the folks behind the scenes that helped make this the number one most popular online course in the world. I am wondering what student number I have out of the 2 million who have already successfully completed this course? Is this the end of an era of Learning How to Learn? Just maybe Watson A.I. will become how we learn in the future classroom, or on online or at home. Add VR to the mix and anything is possible. We are living in very exciting times.

von Jakub P

Oct 23, 2017

Couldn't imagine better introduction into MOOCs and strongly believe this course should be included into formal education curriculum as obligatory and one of the most important ones. That's because it deals with the very basics of education - what learning is, how do the brain do it, what processes are involved and how to use them properly. Understanding this in the first place would make huge improvement to any further learning no matter the skill.

Course could be valuable either for those starting their education (giving them proper tools, changing perspective, etc.) and more advanced learners (backing some of their intuitions with scientific data, dealing with some misconceptions, consolidating and presenting knowledge in well structured way). It's all done in layman terms and thanks to dr. Oakley in a very kind, fun and supportive atmosphere.

Another good indicator that creators practice what they preach is the design of the course itself - videos served in digestible "chunks", funny and attention keeping quizzes, little reviews, etc. Overall - highly recommended.

von BIKOUTA-MENGA

May 29, 2017

Hello,

I am an NLP Master from France. I have developped differents skills in learning or life coaching ( Erickson Hypnosis, Neuro Semantics...) Your course is just a very good one. And for free ???? No excuse for anyone who wants to improve its skills about learning how to learn. If You are interested about the functionnal of the Brain that even the best scientist as never talked about until today, I strongly recommand you to read The Hidden Face Of The Brain written By Dominique AUBIER. You have never read something like that. I sware because she reveald what the Brain is for the Traditions and compare the Crown knowledge and the Scientist Knowledge reuniting those both approach that are usually describe as opposite. This books is probably the best TOP interleaving learning you have never read. Thank you so much for what you did. Maybe once a day we will meet. But if we don't you will shall say to all the people you know Cyrille BIKOUTA-MENGA aka WALLO11.37.04 has followed our course. THANK YOU SO MUCH Mrs OAKLEY. Keep going smiling and sharing all your knowledge.

von Enyu L

Apr 29, 2018

This is by far one of the most rewarding courses I have ever taken! As a psychology major, I really love the way how Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski not only discussed the many useful learning techniques but carefully explained how those methods work neurologically, and I believe understanding the underline neural networks could definitely help us make better use of what we have learned from this course.

My favorite part of this program were actually the optional interviews Dr. Oakley did with many other very accomplished scientists and learners. It was always inspiring getting to know how they learned and what they though would be the best way to learn effectively. Also, I have to admit that the way how this class was presented -- one several-minute video for one small topic -- was in effect quite convenient when I felt the need to review a few concepts. I could simply look at the title of video and recall the points involved in the lecture.

In short, this class was surprisingly rewarding, and I would recommend to anyone who wants to learn better.

von Gregory G

Sep 05, 2019

This is a great course, I wish I had learned it before or during my university studies and not many years later.

When I started university I had a lot of misconceptions about how to learn in a smart way. High school was pretty easy for me so I never learned how to study hard material, and subsequently I struggled through my years in university. This course is for people who lack the correct learning techniques and habits. Not everyone can force their way through university by sheer brain power - some have more and some have less of it. Understanding how your brain works and how to feed it information the right way, when to give it a rest and which kind of rest, how to leverage your diffused mode of thinking and even how to approach an exam - these are all skills that will help you achieve more, while staying focused and energized.

Even if you're busy, this course is well worth your time, and pretty much all of it can be learned without even looking at the screen, so just download the course and listen to it during your commute or your jogging. Thanks Barbara!

von Dr. C R

Aug 20, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much!! Thank you. Highly applicable to my profession (teaching) and really useful. In a nutshell I learnt about - Learning, thinking, memory, chunking, avoiding procrastination, habits, testing, use of analogy and metaphors, and so much more - which I know will directly impact my ability to learn well and to advise my students on how to learn.The videos were short and not too much of a strain on students like me (working people)I enjoyed Dr. Barbara Oakley's way of presenting every topic - very clear, specific and ofcourse warm and friendly. It was like - she was talking to you!! Dr. Terrence Sejnowski tends to do one main video a week, detailing more on the anatomical aspect of the brain.There are plenty of interviews that you can watch, lots of reading material that was available (though I was selective about it). Its however in my list of 'to read'This course was a very rewarding one that I have taken.I highly recommend this course to all teachers, students and even parents who will understand how 'learning' can be improved.

von Mary V

Jul 11, 2016

This course ought to be given in Freshman year of High School and again in Freshman Year of College. Dr. Oakley is a wonderful conduit for this information. In week 4 the ADD brain is discussed with examples of what the world considers brilliant men. Amazing to learn why my learning as well as my daughter's has a "delay". I noticed her brain development when she was a baby. Day after day I'd try and teach her a new word or sign language or body shape in play. Days later after I thought okay, I'll wait and try something new, she'd do the thing I was teaching her days before. I did not understand this at all. For me now, I see how and why when information comes into my mind, it scatters and then days later, I feel a knowledge chunk forming. wow. This is something I wish I knew many years before. But it is good now that I learned so much about learning and how to feel positive about how best to use what I have to learn new things. Great course. I believe everyone should be required to take this course early in life... and then refresher later on.

von Sonja L

Jan 02, 2019

As a chronic procrastinator, I usually get work done in the most stressful way possible because I've never found the motivation to get past all the excuses I make for not starting earlier, even after researching so many study techniques and hacks. This course has been amazing in explaining the reasons that commonly praised techniques work in terms of how our brain actually functions. For example, I have heard that revising at longer intervals will help you remember more information. In contrast, Barbara Oakley explains that spaced repetition will consolidate information from your short-term memory into your long-term memory, as the information won't be considered unimportant and erased from your neural networks. Knowing why these techniques work really motivates me to actually use them.I learnt so many new approaches to studying and life in general in LHTL. I highly recommend it as a way to boost productivity, minimise stress and feel better about the process of studying as something to look forward to, now that there's a framework behind it!

von Camille C

Sep 05, 2020

I’m an almost 60 year old lifetime learner, & even though I am a Psychology honor student , I had never fully connected the dots, so to speak , on how each person’s brain is wired similarly- yet still retains it own unique characteristics/ abilities .

Even thoughI i have a background from my college major studies, I still discovered that ones. own Internal / mental attitudes , beliefs, can play a role in helping improve a individual’s learning!

I very enthusiastically recommend this course , both as a “ stand alone” self improvement genre of course, as well as the whole series of courses which build upon one another that are offered through this application, Coursera.

I throughly enjoyed both of the Professors, the guest speakers in some of the videos, & especially the format in which it was delivered.

The whole course was a joy from beginning to end; & I now have extra “ tools” for my “ toolbox” to apply toward all future learning throughout the remainder of my learning lifetime !

Time and money well spent to receive the certificate !!