Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra von Imperial College London

4.7
Sterne
10,875 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top-Bewertungen

NS

22. Dez. 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

CS

31. März 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filtern nach:

1701 - 1725 von 2,180 Bewertungen für Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

von Kevin E

27. Apr. 2020

The examples were relevant, and I could follow along with them on my own. The programming assignments helped to complete the understanding of the processes. I would've liked more examples to work through for practice, and to improve understanding. Otherwise, it was great.

von Switt K

8. Juli 2020

Nice and simple to learn. You'll get intuition of what matrices do and ways to look at a matrix. However, like the instructors say, this does not include all of linear algebra.

I do believe it provides a very good gateway to reading further topics on linear algebra though.

von DAVID R M

10. Juli 2018

The basic geometry explained by the tutor is amazing especially the dot product, determinant, etc. Although the program assignments suffices for its purpose, I would have enjoyed more if it would have been little more challenging. Overall, this course rocks on its purpose.

von Syed Z N

21. Mai 2020

The last module seemed a bit hurried. More videos could have been made regarding the topics in the last module. The video on PageRank algorithm should have more illustrative examples for allowing the students to visualize. Apart from that, this was an amazing course!

von Suhas A B

5. Aug. 2021

Great course and expert instructors. Some assignments are insanely tough, did not understand the relevance of those questions to what we were taught in the lecturers. The content however is good to introduce you to the concepts and if you need a refresher course.

von MATEO G V

25. Juli 2020

This is good course, anyway I miss a couple of things:

First, it is needed some experience in Maths, the concepts are explained by word in the videos, making some drawings. I missed some slideshows.

Secondly, it is okay if your familiar to Python's library Numpy.

von Wu X

12. März 2020

The first three weeks' courses are a little too primary for me, while the last two weeks' courses bring some good insights with interesting examples. In a nutshell, this course is qualified as an introduction to the core of linear algebra and deserves a thumb-up!

von Md S H C

31. Juli 2020

This course is good for developing some intuition regarding vectors, matrix, eigenvectors. It would be very helpful if the final week had some more video lectures explaining things a bit more. The quiz is too tough if someone only base his study on the lectures.

von Jean S

20. Aug. 2019

Excellent course and very practical; it's really focused on machine learning and there's the opportunity to learn some coding in Python. I would recommend it to everyone interested in machine learning. I give it 4 stars because there's always room to improve.

von Yaroslav K

2. März 2020

As I person who have 2 Masters Degrees in Law and Agriculture this course sometimes was to challenging. May be it's good reminder for those who have some strong math background, but you'll need to read and watch all lot of additional material in another case.

von RITIK D E

1. Mai 2020

Course was very interesting but found some difficulties in the assignment section as it took almost hour to understand it. But, the course was very nice and also it help me to recollect all the mathematics part of Linear Algebra that I've studied earlier.

von Aarón M C M

5. Juni 2019

I am a computer scientist and this course served me to refresh all that concepts and exercises that I studied at the university, I only would ask to improve of the notebook's availabilty because sometimes I got disconnected and had to start all over again.

von Akiva K S

30. Mai 2020

Multiplying 2x2 matrices by hand drives me crazy! Why instructors waste precious online time on that crap? Two, three matrix multiplications by hand during the lecture is perfectly OK with me, but why to do it over and over? The same with the exercises.

von Xiaocong Y

15. Feb. 2021

Good for beginner, but relatively easy if you have backgrounds in Linear Algebra. The course focus on making you adopt intuitions of how Linear Algebra is actually working geometrically which may be interesting if you only knows how the algebra works.

von Joshua P

9. Juli 2020

As someone with a bit of a background in linear algebra, this course is perfect in being a refresher to the said course. But unfortunately, especially for those who are completely new to the subject, the hurried explanations will leave some confused.

von Jehan T

9. Aug. 2020

Great course, especially the first 4 weeks with David Dye. Unfortunately the lecturer in the 5th week is much harder to follow, and I needed to reference some additional youtube videos outside the course to get an intuitive grasp of the concepts.

von David B C

8. Sep. 2018

Great lectures and wonderful scrutiny of matrices and vectors. Exploration of machine learning using Python, but the interface and project upload are somewhat kludgy. Stick with it and you can get the fundamentals even if the coding doesn't work.

von Priadi T W

7. Sep. 2019

The course was great for me. It opens up new perspective to some vector and matrix application. However, I must admit that you must have strong background with math before taking this course, as I was little bit struggling with matrix part.

von Marcin

4. Juni 2018

It's by far the toughest course that I've done on Coursera. And at the same time the most rewarding upon completion. The course content is very applicable in the real world and it's definitely something that any ML specialist should know.

von Srinivas A

7. Juli 2020

Great content, well explained, it's an overview of Linear Algebra relevant to Machine Learning, not a full blown course. Some of the assignments need clarity, especially the Python assignments. There is no faculty/staff to ask questions.

von Mikko V

1. Aug. 2018

The lectures are excellent, but the scarcity of traditional math assignments prevented intuitive and reinforced learning. Thus the course should be considered a brief glance at linear algebra, rather than a proper course on the subject.

von Yadla V C

19. Okt. 2020

This Course takes you to the deep dive of Linear Algebra. But the lectures are not sufficient to solve assignments. We can make use of the resources given by Instructors for clear understanding of core concepts of Vectors and Matrices

von Godugu A H

30. Nov. 2021

T​he course overall is very good. The only drawback I felt was the lack of numerical examples to intepret complex linear algebra formulae. I would love to see videos carrying more worked examples of the formulae learnt in the course.

von Gady

26. März 2020

The pedagogy could use some reviewing, but the concepts and especially the reviews are generally laid out logically, and relatively easy to go through. Still recommend looking up things on the side through YouTube when you're stuck.

von Rohit S

3. März 2020

There were many concepts which were totally new to me and many were known to me but I couldn't relate them with the machine learning problems now an I am able to do all those problems easily so thanks a lot Coursera and ICL team.