Chevron Left
Zurück zu Linear Regression for Business Statistics

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Linear Regression for Business Statistics von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
871 Bewertungen
147 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Regression Analysis is perhaps the single most important Business Statistics tool used in the industry. Regression is the engine behind a multitude of data analytics applications used for many forms of forecasting and prediction. This is the fourth course in the specialization, "Business Statistics and Analysis". The course introduces you to the very important tool known as Linear Regression. You will learn to apply various procedures such as dummy variable regressions, transforming variables, and interaction effects. All these are introduced and explained using easy to understand examples in Microsoft Excel. The focus of the course is on understanding and application, rather than detailed mathematical derivations. Note: This course uses the ‘Data Analysis’ tool box which is standard with the Windows version of Microsoft Excel. It is also standard with the 2016 or later Mac version of Excel. However, it is not standard with earlier versions of Excel for Mac. WEEK 1 Module 1: Regression Analysis: An Introduction In this module you will get introduced to the Linear Regression Model. We will build a regression model and estimate it using Excel. We will use the estimated model to infer relationships between various variables and use the model to make predictions. The module also introduces the notion of errors, residuals and R-square in a regression model. Topics covered include: • Introducing the Linear Regression • Building a Regression Model and estimating it using Excel • Making inferences using the estimated model • Using the Regression model to make predictions • Errors, Residuals and R-square WEEK 2 Module 2: Regression Analysis: Hypothesis Testing and Goodness of Fit This module presents different hypothesis tests you could do using the Regression output. These tests are an important part of inference and the module introduces them using Excel based examples. The p-values are introduced along with goodness of fit measures R-square and the adjusted R-square. Towards the end of module we introduce the ‘Dummy variable regression’ which is used to incorporate categorical variables in a regression. Topics covered include: • Hypothesis testing in a Linear Regression • ‘Goodness of Fit’ measures (R-square, adjusted R-square) • Dummy variable Regression (using Categorical variables in a Regression) WEEK 3 Module 3: Regression Analysis: Dummy Variables, Multicollinearity This module continues with the application of Dummy variable Regression. You get to understand the interpretation of Regression output in the presence of categorical variables. Examples are worked out to re-inforce various concepts introduced. The module also explains what is Multicollinearity and how to deal with it. Topics covered include: • Dummy variable Regression (using Categorical variables in a Regression) • Interpretation of coefficients and p-values in the presence of Dummy variables • Multicollinearity in Regression Models WEEK 4 Module 4: Regression Analysis: Various Extensions The module extends your understanding of the Linear Regression, introducing techniques such as mean-centering of variables and building confidence bounds for predictions using the Regression model. A powerful regression extension known as ‘Interaction variables’ is introduced and explained using examples. We also study the transformation of variables in a regression and in that context introduce the log-log and the semi-log regression models. Topics covered include: • Mean centering of variables in a Regression model • Building confidence bounds for predictions using a Regression model • Interaction effects in a Regression • Transformation of variables • The log-log and semi-log regression models...

Top-Bewertungen

BB

Apr 22, 2020

Wonderful Course having in depth knowledge about all the topics of regression analysis. Instructor is very much clear about the topic and having good teaching skill. Method of teaching also very good.

WB

Dec 21, 2017

I have found Course 3 and 4 of this specialization to be challenging, but rewarding. It has helped me build confidence that I can do just about anything with data provided to increase positive impact.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 144 Bewertungen für Linear Regression for Business Statistics

von Rishav k

Dec 26, 2017

Could have been more challenging. Moderate courses are easy to pass but doesn't bring about extreme competitive spirit. Some peer graded assignments could be better.

von Shady N S

Dec 27, 2018

I love this Specialization, and look forward to completing it! It's an amazing journey in Statistics with Excel! If you're a beginner in Statistics, you might see the whole Specialization a bit difficult and will need to look for a Statistics course. The instructor is also a huge plus!

von Susannah

Jun 16, 2020

Very good class. Appreciated that it was hands-on, the quizzes were relatively challenging but not unrealistically so, the text on the slides was large (I like to take screenshot and save them to my notes), and the Excel screens were easy to see (unlike some other classes involving Excel I've taken on Coursera, in which you cannot see the calculations and they do not show up legibly in my screenshots/notes), and it was well-organized. I might have liked more reinforcement and explanation of some of the trickier concepts, such as introducing an interaction effect.

von Karen S Z

Aug 01, 2018

Excellent introduction to Linear Regression. As you progress, you learn how to use dummy (category) variables as well as interaction variables. Examples are explained in detail so you can understand how it works. This course isn't about understanding all the detailed math & theory, but explains enough to you understand (at a high level) what you're doing and why. Then, you learn how to do it in Excel. I really enjoyed this class!

von Ashis G

May 17, 2020

This specialization in business analytics with MS Excel is one of the most comprehensive introductions to Linear Regression as well as its applications to business statistics. Dr. Borle's lectures are engaging in their accords, and coupled with the depiction of practical implementations in MS Excel makes this course an enriching experience.

von Anirban G

Jun 26, 2020

Dear Professor, I started learning this course just few days back and able to complete just because of you, the way you each and every topics is just outstanding. I am very grateful to you as the way you teach any layman can understand the topics.

Thanks,

Anirban Gupta

von Avi G

Sep 20, 2017

A very good course on Regression statistics with examples from the business sector that can be used later in work or life. Prof. Borle explained all topics slowly and clearly. i would extend the course to more Regression topics (residuals@ more)

Thank you prof. Borle.

von shwetamehna

Jun 19, 2019

I like this course. You need to study this course if you want basic understanding of Statistics because Statistics is base need of analytical field. And instructor explained each and every team in a very simple way. Thanks a lot Professor.

von Kirtana S

May 07, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. This is an excellent course for all those who wish to understand and apply regression at work. Professor Borle explains every concept in detail and ensures he interprets each aspect as simple as possible.

von Anchal R

May 11, 2020

Loved the course structure.

The way each concept is introduced and taught using basic simple example is awesome. Could be easily understood by someone with zero knowledge in statistics. Perfectly minds the knowledge gap for all levels.

von ALONE L R

Apr 11, 2020

It 's best course to online learning to the business analysis tool plus software knowledge. It's really help full me . Thank You So Much Coursera. I am lucky to financial help me, Thank you so much......

And Respective Sir Thank you

von Praval P

May 02, 2020

The course provides a good understanding of the linear regression process and hands on exercises. The course can however be expanded and more lectures can be provided on topics such as transformation and mean centered regression.

von Veerendra A

May 04, 2020

The course was extremely useful and specially the instructor was ver good with interpratation of all kind of analysis.

Thank You sir for such a wonderful session and for all your sharing of knowledge of super statistical skills

von Scott L

Sep 16, 2018

Though I was briefly introduced to linear regression in my graduate studies, I found the structure and presentation of this material to be more helpful to learning and understanding the material AND it's use cases.

von Akshay H

May 05, 2017

Best Course to understand Linear Regression.Thank you team Rice University for simple yet effective course on Linear Regression.Do enroll for this course if you want to understand linear regression thoroughly.

von Gareth W

Mar 01, 2020

A good introduction into the practical uses of regression. It starts with the basics (that you probably learnt at school) and then adds more sophistication that takes the subject up to the current day.

von William B

Dec 21, 2017

I have found Course 3 and 4 of this specialization to be challenging, but rewarding. It has helped me build confidence that I can do just about anything with data provided to increase positive impact.

von Bhavin B

Apr 22, 2020

Wonderful Course having in depth knowledge about all the topics of regression analysis. Instructor is very much clear about the topic and having good teaching skill. Method of teaching also very good.

von Himanshu B

Jun 20, 2020

Great learning with examples from real life, great approach to understand the concept without need to deep dive into the mathematical complexities. A great base to get into Data/Business Analytics.

von flavio e d s

Dec 03, 2019

Curso muito bom, aprendi muitos conceitos, o curso é bastante voltado para interpretação dos resultados, fiz algumas analises no trabalho aplicando os conceitos que aprendi, recomendo bastante.

von SUSHMITA U D

Jul 12, 2019

I learned a lot.I gain confidence in analyzing data in Excel.I am happy that I have successfully completed it with simple understanding given on each topic.It was great help.Thank you very much

von Harshit K

Apr 20, 2020

By far one of the best courses I have taken online. The simplicity with which the concepts were taught was amazing. There were enough and more exercises to practice the theory too!!

von shikha

Aug 28, 2019

Very informative, well designed course. The flow of the course was set in such a way that you easily cruise through it. Thoroughly enjoyed learning. Highly recommended.

von Dr. M K

May 16, 2020

It is a well designed course on regression analysis. I would like to recommend this course to all research scholars who are going to use regression in their study.

von Isabel C R

Apr 05, 2020

Great course! Very well explained by a knowledgeable instructor. The only issue is that the sound of some of the videos is very low even after I increase volume.