Chevron Left
Zurück zu Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies von Duke University

4.7
Sterne
273 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We encounter fallacies almost everywhere we look. Politicians, salespeople, and children commonly use fallacies in order to get you to think whatever they want you to think. It’s important to learn to recognize fallacies so that you can avoid being fooled by them. It’s also important to learn about fallacies so that you avoid making fallacious arguments yourself. This course will show you how to identify and avoid many of the fallacies that lead people astray. In this course, you will learn about fallacies. Fallacies are arguments that suffer from one or more common but avoidable defects: equivocation, circularity, vagueness, etc. It’s important to learn about fallacies so that you can recognize them when you see them, and not be fooled by them. It’s also important to learn about fallacies so that you avoid making fallacious arguments yourself. Suggested Readings Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 13-17, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top-Bewertungen

LB

24. Sep. 2017

This course has been incredible and more than anything because of the energy put by the instructors, I truly thank you for helping the world to become a better place to live.

from Colombia, Luis.

SK

25. Juli 2020

Challenging material presented by two engaging and sharp instructors. Highly recommend this course to any seeking to hone their logic and reasoning skills! The course will make you think!

Filtern nach:

26 - 44 von 44 Bewertungen für Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies

von Wim K

13. Apr. 2017

Practical, recognise and avoid

von Sumanta S S

21. Nov. 2017

Interesting Course

von José A A I

15. Nov. 2018

Great course!

von Diego A P M

9. Dez. 2020

excelente!!

von matthew s

4. März 2018

Excellent !

von Cleutom R

28. Juni 2019

Muito bom!

von Abhishek s

27. Mai 2020

very good

von Waleed M S

2. Sep. 2016

best

von Kohei

23. Apr. 2020

I deepened my understanding of arguments by studying Think Again IV.

While Think Again I~III focused on good arguments, this course taught bad arguments. We learned how to criticize an argument by recognizing fallacies and refutation. The professor not only presented good examples of bad arguments, but also explained when we can encounter those bad arguments, which I enjoyed. Partially because my native language is not English, I had some challenges on the semantic and syntactic ambiguity.

Overall, I learned a lot about arguments by completing the entire series. I would like to thank the professors for creating this course!

von Yu L

28. Mai 2020

Very interesting course with great lecturers and great examples. I do wish there were more real life/ everyday examples to help me understand the difference between different fallacies/arguments in real life but overall this has still made me notice how some arguments are a fallacy and how I could refute them

von John C B

12. Nov. 2021

Really liked the way we got to write out our own argument once we completed everything. Ram was engaging, yet there were times it seemed he was about to explain a topic in depth with examples, yet would go into the next lecture without really explaining like I needed.

von SEAH Y Y

6. März 2021

Interesting course although it might get too technical at times when it could have been by common sense/reasoning - and a great way to end the course with that video!

von Amr M

22. Aug. 2016

The course is great, but i think it should include more problems or quizzes to apply what is learned in the lectures.

von Luis E V C

23. März 2018

It might benefit from a wider variety of more thorough examples.

von Ana P B

29. Apr. 2018

some of the videos were confusing fro english speakers

von Dorothy H

28. Aug. 2016

Useful information for anyone who talks or writes.

von Mark J R

3. Okt. 2017

Very well explained and discussed.

von Doug M

23. Dez. 2017

I found a few technical errors that were confusing. The quiz on counterexamples appe

von Jane C

19. Juni 2020

lack of examples for bad arguments of particular type after saying we're going to look at some examples, as if parts of the course are missing. Quiz on material not covered.