Chevron Left
Zurück zu Love as a Force for Social Justice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Love as a Force for Social Justice von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
174 Bewertungen
49 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The objectives of this course are: -To introduce participants to different concepts of love, to empower them to be conscious of the power of love and the possibility of practicing it in everyday life, and to highlight in particular the idea of love as a force for social justice. -To communicate a sense of personal strength and empowerment by actively learning from each other and beginning to define how participants can apply their learning in service to society. This course will explore the concept of agape love (compassion/kindness) as a force for social justice and action and as the inspiration for service and the application of knowledge to positive social change. Biological, psychological, religious, and social perspectives of love will be discussed, drawing on the expertise of people from a variety of disciplines. During the six-week course, the following topics will be raised and discussed: kinds of love/defining love; non-violent communication; love and the biology of the brain; love as a basic concept of religious and ethical beliefs (e.g., Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Gandhian); love applied in action, and poetic expressions of love as a social force. This curriculum aims to foster a sense of the importance of love as a key phenomenon in creating community, connection, and functional societies among humans. Course materials will draw from a variety of sources. One of the goals of the class is to provide participants with some knowledge of the literature of love, and readings for the course are listed in the outline of the course on the pages that follow....

Top-Bewertungen

KL

Nov 01, 2019

I learned to find ways to look at how ordinary and mundane moments can be lived extraordinarily. This made me radically change my perspective on love and living life fully.

KH

May 27, 2018

Love as a Force for Social Justice is a great course to open up your mind and open up possibilities to look at the World with a pair of new eyes :-)

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 49 Bewertungen für Love as a Force for Social Justice

von Edij

Mar 27, 2018

A wonderful course. So many courses are overwhelmingly available now. To me this one is like a hidden treasure.

A treasure because mastering the lessons and skills taught in this course is sufficient, in my view, to fulfill whatever good purpose I may have in my life, whether to become a successful and happy career person, or to have a meaningful live.

Hidden because it is not in the most popular course list in MOOC survey, to the best of my knowledge.

Thank you to all who have made this course available.

von Kimberly J L

Nov 01, 2019

I learned to find ways to look at how ordinary and mundane moments can be lived extraordinarily. This made me radically change my perspective on love and living life fully.

von Kiran H

May 27, 2018

Love as a Force for Social Justice is a great course to open up your mind and open up possibilities to look at the World with a pair of new eyes :-)

von Lauren d S

Mar 05, 2018

This course was really inspiring and life changing. I have learnt practical ways to express love in my every day life on a micro-level, but also about how my choices can make a different on a macro-level. Thank you!

von Evelyn D K

Jan 15, 2018

Indeed a good course very well adapted to this plataform.

Unfortunally theres no much attendance and the schedule actitvities goes past due.

von Deleted A

Aug 19, 2018

I studied this course on an audit basis, so haven't had the benefit of doing all the assignments. I may upgrade and complete the assignments later. I enjoyed the course and learned a great deal. There are a few areas of discussion I'd like to see expanded if the course is revised at any stage.

1) Firstly, one of the greatest causes of sadness and pain in the world, is warfare. There is a link to a very interesting research paper on the effectiveness of non-violent approaches to dispute settlement vs war. I'd like to see the subject of love and violence discussed in the context of, "If one is a soldier, is it an unusual and yet acceptable form of love to commit violent acts, in order to protect one's country, society or family from some form of oppressive tyranny?" This is perhaps the most controversial discussion we could have about love and violence, but I think it's worth exploring.

2) Whilst I respect (and even love) those with religious beliefs, I'd prefer to see equal time/weight in the course given to non-religious, atheistic or agnostic views on what love means to different people.

Finally, an observation, when one of the speakers is talking about the tenets of Sufism (in the Islam section) she refers to 'the hands to strike with' - so many more creative, loving uses of the hands to consider methinks.

Thanks for providing this course Anne, it made me think about many aspects of love and our general approach to people, animals, the envrionment and business. I was particularly excited by the Nipun Metha video about designing for generosity, and the young students' talk at the end about how the course would impact their future lives was filled with great wisdom for such young minds.

von Leah G

Oct 21, 2017

I found this course to be very interesting, and I thought that the videos in particular, with people discussing love from all sorts of viewpoints (philosophical/religious, neuroscience, business, art and music, and so on) were really eye-opening. Writing the essays and reading my classmates' work was an equally interesting piece of the project, because being on the lookout for instances of agape love in my life as a subject for the next week's essay really made me more aware of how much love is all around us every day. I do want to mention to future students that the readings here may be a little long sometimes, but many of them were also extremely interesting, and overall I found it to be a really worthwhile use of my study time. This class is for everyone. We all spend so much of our education studying wars and violence and actions spurred by hatred- why not change our academic lens a bit and focus on studying love sometimes, too? I found it refreshing.

von Leonor C A C

May 28, 2020

This was an excellent course. It changed my view of love and I now I see that I need to be aware to be able to make the decision to make an act of love. I am very grateful to professor Anne Firth Murray for thanks to her I feel I have changed as a person. I feel more responsibility now to practice and teach agape love to people around me and contribute to create a society that lives to love. I would love to do another course regarding love, a deeper level, with professor Anne Firth Murray.

von Alice M

Jun 30, 2020

This course made me look at violence from a very different perspective. It's a very good initiative taken by Coursera to sensitize the world about how love can conquer violence. The importance of Agape love has been highlighted beautifully through reference materials and videos. The discussions were brilliant. It has exposed me to look at social justice from a different angle and how love and compassion can bring a change in the outlook of society.

von Martina C P

Jun 15, 2020

What I really loved about this course is that it reinforced the idea of how strong love is as a force for a better world. How lobe for others and compassion is essential in social change. Thanks for teaching this wonderful course

von Daithi M W

Mar 31, 2018

Very stimulating and interesting course. There's a big variety of different perspectives on the main topics. Also, I thought the assignments and extra reading were all very informative and thought-provoking.

von Zakharenkov A P

Feb 26, 2018

its close to my own philosophy

and i want to learn something what can halp me do work on it

and i find a people oppinions about it

good crossover biologocal culural and sociological course

von Franklin D S N

Feb 18, 2020

I fully believe that this course helped me to develop new skills in my daily life. it was an update on my future academic life. Since I met this platform, my life has changed.

von haiyan w

Feb 18, 2019

I really love this course, and it really teaches me to see people and the world with other perspectives.

Hope more meaningful and inspiring courses coming out.

von Nigel K

Feb 05, 2018

I've learnt so much about life and myself through this course-- and it's not even done yet, I wish I could rate it higher than 5 stars.

von Ava M N

Jun 19, 2020

Everyone should study this course to have a peaceful life and to affect their society , to experience justice and equality.

von Trisha L

Jan 02, 2018

Informative and amazing it is a perfect class for life period! i wish i could have everyone take this class so perfect

von Jonathan W

Mar 01, 2018

Very much enjoyed this course. It was well done with great further reading and other resources. Glad I took it.

von DeAnna

Jan 09, 2018

Great fun and supplement to all public health, gender, women's studies, men's studies, history courses

von Jacqueline P

Jun 15, 2020

Wonderful course.Deep and thoughtul.Gave me a broad perspective on Agape Love and Love in general

von Ildeblete G M J

Jan 06, 2018

I'm like a lot this course, now I'm getting more learn for me and my thoughts. Thanks for all.

von Paula G B

Jan 22, 2018

One of the most well prepared and relavant courses with direct application that I have taken.

von Alida C

Aug 02, 2018

A great way to productively listen and understand other's views and opinions!

von Magdalena

Sep 21, 2019

Useful in private and professional life. I am very grateful for this cours.

von Ayu

Jul 07, 2019

very good lectures, reading sources and links. The topic is fascinating