Chevron Left
Zurück zu Magic in the Middle Ages

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Magic in the Middle Ages von Universitat de Barcelona

4.5
847 Bewertungen
243 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Top-Bewertungen

BW

Mar 24, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

CP

Jul 06, 2017

When i read the title of this course, i could not imagine what it is about. So i took it. It's a great course, with different perspectives and with a really clear language. Thank you!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 240 Bewertungen für Magic in the Middle Ages

von Brett B

Jun 05, 2019

Very informative and helpful in understanding some of the unexplained areas of Anthropology. However there are too many videos (which can be hard for the hearing impaired considering the accompanying text is in need of improvement), not enough faculty and instructor support and the syllabus is in need of detail and structure.

von Yannis R

Mar 18, 2018

A lot of the material felt like little more than a bombardment of names. The first assignment was awful, there was no way to infer what was required from us from the assignment's description. People have been saying this for over a year, yet there was no attempt to fix the assignment. Quite a few of the videos were of very poor quality. The sand video in the Geomancy module, for example, was amongst the worst I've seen on Coursera.

von Daniela G

Jun 21, 2019

A pretty intereseing course. Personally I liked it and it shed some light on the concept of Magic, Sorcery, Witchcraft, and the implications of the church or the views of the church on it. It does take a political turn. The concept pretty much was, if a child was ill, he/she was better left to die, to try to heal/treat the child via magic methods. Interesting. I can see the Biblical implications, however, with the arival of the inquisitors (which were leading some kind of rituals in secret) under the supervision of the Pope... This part is shows the political implications. Apparently, there was nu jurisdiction that these inquisitors had, therefore, it was a matter of beliefs in the end. Believing in God, vs. Witchcraft. So the freedom of religion in a way is not necessarily existant since persecution takes place. Interesting course. I would recommend it if you want to learn more about Magic and the arrival or the notion of such.

von Ygor K B

Feb 01, 2019

Excelent!

von Melvin R W

Jan 11, 2019

Insightful and entertaining journey into the world of magic in the Middle Ages. It corrected some misconceptions I had and offered new information on changing positions of church and gender as it relates to the material. I especially appreciated the points of view from Judaic, Christian and Islamic faiths.

von Junah K

Feb 23, 2019

Very interesting concept about magic in the Middle Ages, touching upon natural vs. demonic magic, heresy, mythology of witchcraft, astrology, and much more! Compact lectures (which may be a lot of first, but better to get more information than just a simple overview) that covered interesting points of the subject and inspired a different point of view of magic during that time.

von Warren P

Mar 05, 2019

Really interesting and colourful course. I particularly enjoyed the part about the influence of middle eastern magic on Europe.

von Virginia C

Mar 11, 2019

Loved this course, wish they had more like it!!

von Karelys V R

Mar 16, 2019

Me encantó y pude ampliar mas mi conocimiento.

von Christine L C

Mar 01, 2019

This was a fantastic course! It was about the history of the relationship between magic and various religions. It makes me eager to learn more about several tangent subjects. Thank you for offering this as a MOOC! I loved it.

von Melanie d G

Mar 26, 2019

An incredible insight in the history of magic and the way people thought of such practices.

von Robert J Z J

Mar 30, 2019

Very, very educational and enlightening!

von Peta A

Apr 07, 2019

Having issue with not being able to complete the assessment as it says I need to be enrolled.

von Catherine H B

Apr 07, 2019

I learnt a lot from this module. The lessons are incredibly interesting especially for those who are interested in the Medieval Ages and the beliefs of the people back then

von Jennifer N

Jul 11, 2018

This course was fun, informative and much more challenging then I anticipated. I really enjoyed the curriculum and the professors.

von Emily M

Jun 26, 2017

Very well done course, very thought-provoking. I'd love to see follow ups with more in-depth information!

von Matheus V

Jan 20, 2017

Very nice and insightful, we learned with the past how to face the problems of the present. What was their means of control? To exterminate the different...

von Allen J C N

Sep 02, 2016

¡De lo mejor!

von Ines G

Feb 20, 2018

It was very interesting and I enjoyed it a lot.

von Antonio Q M

Aug 15, 2016

Very interesting. I enjoyed and learnt a lot

von Melinda B

Oct 24, 2017

Amazing course! The material is interesting and enjoyable. The instructors are very passionate. I had so much fun taking this course, I'd highly recommend!

von Eduardo E M V

Mar 28, 2018

Very interesting course. It give the student a panoramic view of magic and witchcraft in the middle ages specially in the geographic locations of Europe (Spain, France and Italy) and the Arabic domains. I liked very much the course because It let me interact with ancient books and documents and also it let me know about arabic alchemy and some details of arabic Spain.

von Deleted A

Oct 23, 2016

I love the instructors. They have so much information and teach in an enjoyable manner. I can't wait for the next course.

von Lucia V

May 09, 2018

this course exceeded my expectations in every way, I would take it a thousand times more

von Rachael

Jul 07, 2018

Loved this course