Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
2,839 Bewertungen
723 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DP

Jun 16, 2020

It was a very good short course. Was very useful and informative. The videos were very creatively made. The shorter duration of each videos was an added plus to get the solid attention of the viewers

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 715 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von DR.J.PAUL P

Jun 16, 2020

It was a very good short course. Was very useful and informative. The videos were very creatively made. The shorter duration of each videos was an added plus to get the solid attention of the viewers

von Isabella

Aug 02, 2020

Prof. Schakelford,

My name is Isabella and I have a degree in Materials Engineering from the Federal University of São Carlos (Ufscar) in Brazil. I really enjoyed reviewing these brief concepts that every industry engineer should be aware of. I currently work at CBMM producing niobium alloys. I would be immensely happy if you answered me to discuss a master's or doctorate in this area. Thank you a lot for the opportunity.

Isabella Sousa de Sateles

isabella.sateles@cbmm.com

von VARUN . S

Jul 15, 2020

got a great knowledge about various materials used in engineering and also phase of elasticity to plasticity tansformation . it was very interesting to learn about phase diagram, iron carbon diagram and ttt diagrams . thankyou sir for giving me great knowledge about materials and hence my knowlede got increased after completing this course

von REALINO P

Apr 19, 2020

I studied this particular course way back in my college years since I am a Mechanical Engineering student here in the Philippines but I found this way of teaching more informative and conducive for learning even with just a short span of time. Thank you Dr. Shackelford. Thank you, Coursera.

- Real Prado, Mechanical Engineer.

von Mikhail K

Jan 22, 2016

Excellent intro to Materials Science. The course covers the fundamental concepts such as yield stress, tensile strength, ductility and toughness without getting too involved in complex formulas. I have a background in mechanical engineering and found this course to be a good review of materials course I took in University.

von Harendrakumar D

Aug 04, 2020

This course is beneficial for beginners, and it inspires the student to explore further the details of the related topics. When I joined the path, I had only basic ideas about bonding only. Now I understand the basics of deformation of metals and particularly the applications of the Arrhenius equation in material science.

von Sivaraman V

Jun 15, 2020

I regret and feel very much i why i did not take this course long before. Fantastic and lucid explanation of related concepts. This course had delivered the entire material science in a nutshell. Thanks to Prof. James and other behind the scene engineers who made this course possible.

Best Regards

Sivaraman Visvanathan

von Kashif S Q

Jan 21, 2017

Thank you sir for teaching in such a different and unique way. The way you teach is indeed very unique and it always kept me attentive during your lecture. Now i have understand all those concepts in a more better way and i am certain that this will help me in my future carrier as a material engineer. Thank you Sir

von Md. F H

May 30, 2020

It was really awesome experience with University of California, Davis. I Would like to thanks professor Dr James F Shackleford, who are really properly explain each and every topic of this course very understandable way.

I would like to thanks coursera to give me opportunity and accept my Financial Aid.

von Gokul S

Jun 26, 2020

The course was very good, each topic led seamlessly into the next. The explanations were excellent. If there was any flaw, it was that it was too short. However, the course was everything that was advertised and I truly believe that I refreshed a lot of concepts while learning some new ones.

von Louis C

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting choice of topics. An interesting mix of new material and things I had learned differently in various other disciplines (physics, chemistry, geology). Good course but not recommended if you haven't done high school and university chemistry unless you are very brave!

von BALAJI P

Jun 09, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. Knowledge-hungry mind was sated with superb content of lectures and videos. The explain of defects, fracture and phase diagrams & TTT, in particular, were simply awesome and they have added more depth to my existing Mechanical Engineering knowledge.

von Paolo M

May 31, 2017

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

von Sai G

Jun 18, 2020

This course helped to understand the concepts behind various phenomenon such as plastic deformation,creep, Fatigue, Fracture toughness. This course gives me very important basic knowledge in Material Science. I'm feeling strong in fundamentals of material science. Thank you.

von KILAPARTHI S K

May 02, 2020

I am thankful to Coursera and course instructor Dr.james Shackelford sir for explaining material science in detail by the 10 things every engineer should learn and mostly in this course which heart touches are ''structure leads to properties''. thank sir for your efforts

von Anish H V

Oct 18, 2016

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

von Syed N R

Jul 07, 2020

Material science is really vast topic & this course of 10 things which every engineer should know is due the fact the carefully selected 10 things by a subject matter expert in material science. Explanation on various topics , mark- up & diagrams is really awesome.

von John K

Oct 18, 2018

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.

von MD. S M H

Jul 08, 2020

Ten really basic but very important and interesting thoughts about materials engineering are discussed in this course. Each engineer should know these basics before they dig deeper and complex things. The course really teaches some good stuff about the materials.

von Suyog M A

May 29, 2020

This course is very essential for engineering student. Important topics from material science and metallurgy are discussed here.Nice to learn the important concepts of material science .and how the material behaves in the relative tempreture is nicely taught.

von satti M R

Jun 12, 2020

I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The work load(h.w. & test)was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

von SriNikhil K

Feb 23, 2019

The explanation given in this course, even to the most confusing and commonly misconstrued of engineering phenomenons, is basic and self explanatory. I'd recommend this course to any engineer who's looking for a better introduction to material science!

von Vaibhavi V

Jun 28, 2020

Thankyou very much for this wonderful course. it has been interesting right from the first video until the end. the concepts have been explained in a very lucid manner. Quizzes were interesting too. All the essential topics have been covered very well

von Shrikant B

Apr 30, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY USEFUL TO LEARN 10 THINGS WHICH ARE IMPORTANT TO KNOW MATERIAL BEHAVIOR. THE NEW THINGS WHICH I HAVE LEARNED FROM THIS COURSE ARE: USES ARREHENIUS RELATIONSHIP IN MATERIAL SCIENCE, THE MECHANISM OF DIFFERENT TYPES OF FAILURES.

von Archisha B

Jun 27, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. The concepts were greatly explained, with experiments and mathematical expressions. The teaching style was really easy to understand. Even the slightly newer and complicated topics were easy to understand.