Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
3,297 Bewertungen
829 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM
17. Juli 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
23. Sep. 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtern nach:

651 - 675 von 822 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Sharjeel M

28. Jan. 2017

My respective teacher has given us a task to complete this course,as a sessional activity. Astonishingly, when i heard the title of the course "Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know";their is not a single thing that come into my mind that what could probably the thing that we don't know.After completing the course,:Suprisingly';I find that actually i know about the 10 things.Eventually, I realize that i am not certain about the facts or building blocks about material science that this(10 things) is the main stream of it. Appreciatively, it is a remarkable knowledge that i have come to know about 'Material Science'.

von Muhammad T M

22. Juni 2020

It was a good experience and learned a lot from this short course. This course has revived my concepts and boost up my understanding of materials and the most important properties related to it.

One thing i want to object is that when is verifying my id after completing this course. I have seen a check box. Underneath the box, it was written that people from Iran, Sudan, Crimea and one more country personnel were not allowed to attend this course.

This kind of hate, marginalization of these poor countries was the thing i didn't like.

von Max B

15. Juni 2020

Informative, it outlines key concepts well in a good structure that's relatively easy to follow. As an A-Level student the equations and mathematics behind some of the concepts did confuse me and distract me from some simpler definitions. but pairing information from the course with information I found online and in books was a great combination which I would suggest while learning this course as it allows the topics to be understood at both quantitative and qualitative levels

von MUHAMMED S

27. Apr. 2020

Excellent course. We can see the 10 basic properties of engineering materials and we can use the knowledge acquired from this course in many practical situation.

Sir's lectures are excellent, which are taken from various laboratories if UC DAVIS and he illustrates many examples such as crack on LIBERTY BELL and the story behind the wrecking of LIBERTY SHIPS. If there is small notes as pdf, it should be more convenient for the students.

von Nirmal R

19. Aug. 2020

Great course for some one who want know the fundamentals of material science. It would have been better if more concepts were added to these lectures. TTT and iron-carbon phase diagrams needs more explanation, if someone who is new to this area. For me, on the whole, it was a very good course that helped me to recollect my concepts that I have studied long ago.

von mostafa m

12. Sep. 2016

i did not like the subject at college and i enrolled in this course hoping to understands any thing

this course makes me love the subject really i liked it now but i did not like the last week and i still have trouble with phase diagram

this course is introductory to concept

it is not detailed course so i think it is perfect course for people like me

von Paolo C

17. Apr. 2020

The course is very well organized and the lay out is ideal for engineering oriented students. Prof. Shackelford is brilliant and prepared. The course effectiveness could be improved so much, in my modest opinion, by adding some more exercises, both performed by the Professor in a video lecture or by more quizzes for the student

von Salvador R M

10. Juli 2020

For news students is a perfect introductory course to the subjects of materials science. Now the name of the course is very misleading is it not a 10 things every engineer should know is more like an arrange of concepts every engineer student should understand to perform better at their respective field

von Debangshu P

1. Juli 2020

As mechanical engineer, this course will be a helpful reminder on different important issues that I face when I have to work with material engineers from designer point of view. If would integrate a few practical example and simple mathematical problems, it would be even more helpful.

von Zoraima N G Q

22. Sep. 2020

El curso es muy interesante y muy útil. Cuando ya tienes un conocimiento previo de los temas logras entenderlos con mayor rapidez pero eso no quita que cualquiera pueda hacerlo y aprendes muchísimo sobre algo tan interesante como es la ciencia de los materiales.

von Valery_H

17. Apr. 2020

Very complete overview of all main concepts relevant in Materials Science and their impact on the capabilities of eginering materials. His explanation of phase and TTT diagrams is remarkable! I wold like more numerical exercises though.

von Timothy S

16. Juni 2017

I loved with course! However, my only critique would be to add more "real-world" examples as applicable to the manufacturing industry. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to beef-up their scientific knowledge of materials!

von Soheil M

8. Mai 2018

I wish you could've covered material in deeps. The course is still amazing for a good start for colleague students, but not enough to pass this subject in any university.

Apart from what have been said this course very good.

von Viswanathan U

22. Juni 2017

Very good for engineers trying to diversify and learn from the basics of material science like me. This course might not be great for people already invested in material science through bachelors or masters courses.

von Pritam G

31. Aug. 2019

This course is great to understand the basics of how a material behaves and failure conditions. The reference to the molecular structure to understand the effect of physical phenomena on the metals is phenomenal.

von Pramit G Y

11. Apr. 2020

Good course and the instructor was pretty much elaborate in explaining the topics. Needed more practical applications in the form examples or demonstrations.

Overall it was a nice expansion of one's knowlegde.

von jay s c

8. Juli 2020

This course helps me in learning about the stress -strain curve and the mechanical properties of different materials and the tests to find the mechanical properties that a material can with stand.

von Guillermo G S

30. Juni 2019

Este curso me habría sido muy útil al momento que comencé a estudiar mi carrera, es una buena forma de comenzar a entender conceptos básicos acerca de distintos materiales en especial los metales.

von Adrian E G C

13. Nov. 2016

Fue un excelente curso, abarca una amplia gama del comportamiento y propiedades de los materiales que ayudan a entender el comportamiento y funcionamiento de estos en relación de su entorno y uso.

von Dmitry L

31. Juli 2020

The course is nice and allows me to recover my 20-year old university knowledge (some topics) rapidly. I found some new and interesting things as well. Merci for the good materials to Instructor.

von Nivedan A

24. Nov. 2016

It is a really good course. I would recommend it to everyone interested in materials or engineering. This course helped me get a better understanding of some fundamental concepts of engineering.

von Shruthi V S

13. Apr. 2020

The portion that teaches about phase diagrams, particularly about the TTT diagrams were not easily understood. Could have gone into a little bit of detail to make concepts more easy to digest

von salman a

20. Aug. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I suggest everyone to have prerequisite knowledge in material science and metallurgy. It will be difficult to understand the lecture without prior knowledge.

von Brian L

10. Aug. 2020

An excellent surface level exploration of some different topics in materials science. The last week is a bit difficult since the context for some topics is left out but overall, not bad.

von Syed R R

31. Mai 2016

The course goes through all of the required topics within material science and gives proper information.

Professor's explanation and his description makes it easy to understand.

Thank You