Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
3,543 Bewertungen
878 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

DK
23. Sep. 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
17. Juli 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtern nach:

676 - 700 von 865 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Jitendra C

12. Aug. 2018

Good

von 徐士钦

30. Jan. 2018

nice

von yashar k s

1. Jan. 2016

Best

von viswa s

1. Mai 2020

yes

von Mohamad D S

2. Aug. 2019

Top

von 袁旭阳

26. Mai 2019

棒极了

von Giancarlo O

31. Aug. 2020

ok

von OM S

28. Jan. 2017

OK

von Kaleru s

28. Jan. 2017

OK

von HARSHRAJSINH D D

20. Juli 2020

]

von Rongrong W

12. Mai 2019

U

von sri k

11. Juni 2017

PLZ READ IT ..IT'S NOT JUST A TEXT..MORE THAN THAT...

Hi madam,I'm Sriram from small township called Srivilliputtur have population of nearly 76,000 in Tamilnadu,India.I'm from middle class family having 3 elder sisters.Since my father got low wages which only fits for that day as tomorrow becomes big ?.I have dream or ambition of being a doctor but which is just a morning dream for my status.As i grew,my father got good respected position in our township and some what wealthy than before.I was so excited of being doctor.

But i got low cut-off for presuming doctor.So its impossible to come in scholarship and through management or private institution,the price for single seat without any recommendation is around 90 lakhs which is just for seat,where study materials and hostel fee are separate which is main reason for un-development of my nation in large scale.So i was pushed to join in engineering college.

At institution,i got knowledge but not in amount i excepted.At that time,i come to know about COURSEA and their free cost education of all streams.Then i enrolled in our community and Since i was longed to be doctor i liked to choose biological study and that's the way i got to you..

Proverb says that "THOUSAND MILES OF JOURNEY STARTS WITH SINGLE STEPS" .If the first step becomes wrong,the journey is impossible.I'm lucky in that way as i got my first step as massive one.you made my day madam.you gave me knowledge and interest of being a wanter. Now i can proudly says , I got 3 certificate through COURSEA only due to you.

It's not just for thanks giving ,i just like to share my feelings and says that like there are more than you excepted.

Again "THANKS FOR EVERYTHING YOU GAVE AND MAKING ME WORTHY" .

von Sharjeel M

28. Jan. 2017

My respective teacher has given us a task to complete this course,as a sessional activity. Astonishingly, when i heard the title of the course "Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know";their is not a single thing that come into my mind that what could probably the thing that we don't know.After completing the course,:Suprisingly';I find that actually i know about the 10 things.Eventually, I realize that i am not certain about the facts or building blocks about material science that this(10 things) is the main stream of it. Appreciatively, it is a remarkable knowledge that i have come to know about 'Material Science'.

von Muhammad T M

22. Juni 2020

It was a good experience and learned a lot from this short course. This course has revived my concepts and boost up my understanding of materials and the most important properties related to it.

One thing i want to object is that when is verifying my id after completing this course. I have seen a check box. Underneath the box, it was written that people from Iran, Sudan, Crimea and one more country personnel were not allowed to attend this course.

This kind of hate, marginalization of these poor countries was the thing i didn't like.

von Max B

15. Juni 2020

Informative, it outlines key concepts well in a good structure that's relatively easy to follow. As an A-Level student the equations and mathematics behind some of the concepts did confuse me and distract me from some simpler definitions. but pairing information from the course with information I found online and in books was a great combination which I would suggest while learning this course as it allows the topics to be understood at both quantitative and qualitative levels

von MUHAMMED S

27. Apr. 2020

Excellent course. We can see the 10 basic properties of engineering materials and we can use the knowledge acquired from this course in many practical situation.

Sir's lectures are excellent, which are taken from various laboratories if UC DAVIS and he illustrates many examples such as crack on LIBERTY BELL and the story behind the wrecking of LIBERTY SHIPS. If there is small notes as pdf, it should be more convenient for the students.

von Nirmal R

19. Aug. 2020

Great course for some one who want know the fundamentals of material science. It would have been better if more concepts were added to these lectures. TTT and iron-carbon phase diagrams needs more explanation, if someone who is new to this area. For me, on the whole, it was a very good course that helped me to recollect my concepts that I have studied long ago.

von mostafa m

12. Sep. 2016

i did not like the subject at college and i enrolled in this course hoping to understands any thing

this course makes me love the subject really i liked it now but i did not like the last week and i still have trouble with phase diagram

this course is introductory to concept

it is not detailed course so i think it is perfect course for people like me

von Paolo C

17. Apr. 2020

The course is very well organized and the lay out is ideal for engineering oriented students. Prof. Shackelford is brilliant and prepared. The course effectiveness could be improved so much, in my modest opinion, by adding some more exercises, both performed by the Professor in a video lecture or by more quizzes for the student

von Salvador R M

10. Juli 2020

For news students is a perfect introductory course to the subjects of materials science. Now the name of the course is very misleading is it not a 10 things every engineer should know is more like an arrange of concepts every engineer student should understand to perform better at their respective field

von Debangshu P

1. Juli 2020

As mechanical engineer, this course will be a helpful reminder on different important issues that I face when I have to work with material engineers from designer point of view. If would integrate a few practical example and simple mathematical problems, it would be even more helpful.

von Zoraima N G Q

22. Sep. 2020

El curso es muy interesante y muy útil. Cuando ya tienes un conocimiento previo de los temas logras entenderlos con mayor rapidez pero eso no quita que cualquiera pueda hacerlo y aprendes muchísimo sobre algo tan interesante como es la ciencia de los materiales.

von Valery_H

17. Apr. 2020

Very complete overview of all main concepts relevant in Materials Science and their impact on the capabilities of eginering materials. His explanation of phase and TTT diagrams is remarkable! I wold like more numerical exercises though.

von Timothy S

16. Juni 2017

I loved with course! However, my only critique would be to add more "real-world" examples as applicable to the manufacturing industry. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to beef-up their scientific knowledge of materials!

von Soheil M

8. Mai 2018

I wish you could've covered material in deeps. The course is still amazing for a good start for colleague students, but not enough to pass this subject in any university.

Apart from what have been said this course very good.