Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
3,900 Bewertungen
951 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

DK
23. Sep. 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
17. Juli 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtern nach:

776 - 800 von 947 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Adrian E G C

13. Nov. 2016

Fue un excelente curso, abarca una amplia gama del comportamiento y propiedades de los materiales que ayudan a entender el comportamiento y funcionamiento de estos en relación de su entorno y uso.

von Dmitry L

31. Juli 2020

The course is nice and allows me to recover my 20-year old university knowledge (some topics) rapidly. I found some new and interesting things as well. Merci for the good materials to Instructor.

von Nivedan A

24. Nov. 2016

It is a really good course. I would recommend it to everyone interested in materials or engineering. This course helped me get a better understanding of some fundamental concepts of engineering.

von Shruthi V S

13. Apr. 2020

The portion that teaches about phase diagrams, particularly about the TTT diagrams were not easily understood. Could have gone into a little bit of detail to make concepts more easy to digest

von salman a

20. Aug. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I suggest everyone to have prerequisite knowledge in material science and metallurgy. It will be difficult to understand the lecture without prior knowledge.

von abrar k

31. März 2021

First of all Thank you Coursera for providing such a great course. This course was organized very well, the professor explained it clearly and I learned many new things from this course.

von Brian L

10. Aug. 2020

An excellent surface level exploration of some different topics in materials science. The last week is a bit difficult since the context for some topics is left out but overall, not bad.

von Syed R R

31. Mai 2016

The course goes through all of the required topics within material science and gives proper information.

Professor's explanation and his description makes it easy to understand.

Thank You

von Hazzar M R

9. Sep. 2019

It's a great refresher course for those who have undertook materials science as one of their subjects at school!!! It gave me a good foundation pursuance to study this at grad school.

von Bilal E

29. Juli 2021

It was helpful and easy to follow lectures for me. He explains everything so basic and furthermore he makes you think that you can do better things with your profession. Thank you.

von Nicholas Q

25. Nov. 2021

As someone with no formal engineering education I struggled with some of the terms and variables in the math applications, but most of the higher level concepts were accessible.

von vishal s

20. Apr. 2021

This course is for anyone who wants to refresh their memory on chemistry and physics form high school and understand about materials in depth with the same. Very interactive.

von Dnyandeep M

26. Aug. 2017

This course is meant for every engineer and one should take this course. It is very salient to engineering fields and consist varied subjects brief but essential knowledge.

von David S

30. Juli 2019

Generally excellent overview of most topics but in some topics the presenter goes too deep too quickly in particular 'making things fast and slow' and 'semi-conductors'

von Abhishek B

31. Mai 2020

very informative lectures and very good assignments, professor explain the things with real example

thank you so much please make more courses on material science

von Arun K

26. Juli 2020

Very useful course. lots of important things are taught in this course. could have solved some examples to make it more clear. some definitions are missed out.

von Shreedatta A

10. Mai 2020

Nicely drafted course for a a working professional for enhancing his skill sets on material science for improving failure prediction of certain plant pipings.

von Sachin A

26. Aug. 2020

Really good course. Every engineer should be aware of these properties of materials. It will improve the overall considerations while designing components.

von Sarajit D

26. Juli 2020

The whole learning of the course has been good and quite smooth! The way he stood up with the lectures,it was amazing!looking forward to further learning!

von Mufid S

12. Juli 2020

it was a very good and helpful course. i learned a lot of things during this course about material science and its importance in engineering applications.

von Shrey R P

19. Mai 2020

The course was absolutely good. Almost all the topic were covered which are needed to gain the knowledge by the sir. And it was explained in much easy way

von Jan K

12. Feb. 2017

Very good overview of material science - lecturer did not get too deep inside each of the issues but he gave us an overview with hints for future studies.

von Nazanin S

22. Mai 2020

The course gives you a very general view of Material Science. The quality of videos and covered topic is not the best,bust still not bad for a review.

von OmkarAcharya

29. Juni 2020

Overall all the lectures were very informative. But I think it could be better if the videos of material testing were presented in these lectures.

von Bhushan V M

5. Juni 2020

interesting . very good for engineering students specially in first year and beneficial for branches like mechanical, civil , structural , etc.