Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
3,839 Bewertungen
936 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM
17. Juli 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
23. Sep. 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtern nach:

901 - 925 von 932 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Rajiv K

10. Mai 2020

.

von Stian N

1. Sep. 2021

W​ith a title like 'ten things every engineer should know' I expected a bit more 'sazz' / pop delivery than this course delivered. Most of the subjects were discussed very well and concisely, but I'd like more examples and visuals.

What it lacks in examples it makes up for in conciseness and the instructor is clearly very experienced. All in all a good little course, and I recommend it.

You have to do a few exercises and rub off the old algebra but which is otherwise very quick and straightforward. But pay attention or you may just miss the quick half sentence that's used on a test.

I​ have had some mechanical engineering courses and knew about a third of what the course taught, but it was a long time ago so the brush up was well worth it. I learned a lot from this course, especially about the relationship between the microstructure and macro behaviour of metals (this course is 90% about metals), and the ubiquitous relationship between temperature and chemical reactions of all sorts.

E​ngineering knowledge needs most of all to be practical and actionable.

This course makes that a little too hard I think, and the dry, graph-heavy form really isn't suited to giving a conceptual overview for engineers. That's my only gripe with the course – that the material is dense and obtuse, and we are shown graphs to try to understand behavior of nature and systems. I had to stop the course many times to try and make sense of the graphs. There are so many powerful examples to draw from to anchor the teaching in the concrete. You have a screen to show, show some examples. The few ones that are used are terrific, and really help elevate the course.

Oh, yeah, a second gripe – t​he last 'thing' is about semiconductors and a good idea. But it was completely unactionable. Bewilderingly, we are told that doping semiconductors increases their conductivity at low temperatures, however, such doping is temporary as the dopant is exhausted. I have almost no answers from that and so many questions. What temperature range are we talking about where dopants are useful? How useful? How long does the dopants last? What other types of dopants are used? Why are semiconductors uniquely good for electronics? I get that that is a huge topic, but this covering of semiconductors didn't even give me an idea of how the semiconductor is produced, or how much dopant is typically used, or what they look like.

von karl h

3. Mai 2021

Excellent topics. Good discussion, Lectures are informative.

Obviously, Professor Shackleford has a wealth of knowledge and is a very capable speaker.

The Arrhenius equation was front and center throughout the lectures -- a profound concept in chemistry and in engineering.

Throughout the course, we saw the labs at UC Davis -- as if we might be seeing: engineering tests, scientific samples under the electron microscope, lab behavior of semiconductors, micrographs of failed materials, failure of materials, actual examples of material flaws shown in detail -- turns out we only saw a tensile test and some materials placed in a furnace.

Graphs on the screen were often quite small. The available technical resources were plentiful it appears but underused.

Thank you.

A very good free course.

von Anton M

10. Juni 2021

D​r. Shakelford has a remarkable knowledge of the material, but he could greatly improve his ability to convey this knowledge to his students by spending a little time in Toastmasters. Toastmasters will teach you to be more concise in your descriptions and to eliminate crutch words such as "uh", "um", etc. These little things add up as distractions from the subject. They represent a pause in thinking, which interupts the listener from understanding the concepts you are trying to convey. I know your mission is to share your knowledge - you would do that so much better with a little coaching. All the best to you! Anton B. Mogilevsky, P.E.

von Sajib K N

7. Sep. 2020

This course will help to know the stress, strain,ductility,fatigue, semiconductor and any other topic. Also help to know the eutectic and eutectoid point.That will be help me go ahead in the engineering sector. My teacher also be great.The system of teaching process also interesting.

von Bryan H

19. Dez. 2016

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

von Samet G

27. Nov. 2017

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

von Jis N G J N G

23. Juli 2020

Lectures by Prof.Shackelford is not very clear as it lacks details but his book is excellent.Places where he takes the lectures is also very good-just the right place that has applications of the subject.

von Bhaumik U P

12. Dez. 2017

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

von Padraig C

15. Juli 2017

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

von Ahmad J A

30. Juni 2021

it is not bad, but the course should be more detailed, the more information that have been obtained the better.

von Ramesh K

22. Apr. 2020

content is good but more number of experiments need to be added to understand the concepts clearly.

von Istiak U S

3. Juli 2020

Poorly designed course. But has some great information with a good explanation.

von muhamed m e

29. Jan. 2017

It's good but depend only save informations than understand it

von Anthony E S

19. Nov. 2017

Not what I thought, but a good introduction to the material.

von Arup K D

22. Apr. 2020

Poorly Designed course. Not much information to understand.

von Frankie L

7. Okt. 2017

More in depth explanations w have was omitted.

von Kishor D S

22. März 2019

Though good but less content.

von Chinmay J

20. Sep. 2019

Basic introductory course

von RAJAT S

20. Juni 2020

Please add more content.

von Marcin G

15. Aug. 2017

It was OK, I guess...

von Rushikesh K J

27. Mai 2020

Nice coures

von Patel s

18. Dez. 2020

Good

von Ramnath S K

27. Juni 2016

I was disappointed with the treatment of the main concepts. They were cursorily dealt with. Examples from the real world and a more graphic explanation esp. of the crystal defects would have helped. Otherwise, all the main points were covered.

von Shakeel A Q

23. Jan. 2017

Very much low details and the course instructor has very slow pace when he is teaching on the board that (aaaa,aaaa) is very irritating....