Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
3,179 Bewertungen
808 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK

Sep 24, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 798 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Nishant C

Jul 23, 2017

The entire course is very well planned and advances very systematically. It has been of very help in strengthening my practical as well as theoretical knowledge.

von Aditya P B

Sep 09, 2017

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.

von Prashant I S

Sep 12, 2020

Deep explanation of concepts and very easy to understand the fundamentals and concepts of 10 things that every engineer should know about the material science.

von SUBHA

Jun 14, 2020

Clear study Stress- strain curve, Arrhenius law, Defects, fatigues, Dislocations, phase diagrams, Semiconductors are clearly & graphically explained. Thank you

von Raguraman K

Feb 22, 2019

A very concise course covering the essential concepts of materials science beautifully explained. I like the way Professor James negotiates through the topics.

von Hanan A

Jan 04, 2017

I loved this course, it was light and educational. The instructor makes complex ideas simple, interesting, and relevant. I highly recommend this to engineers

von Beatriz S

Jun 05, 2019

great course!!! the professor is very good explaining concepts and extrapolating this information into practical applications in the laboratory experiments

von Juan T

Nov 14, 2016

Exceptionally beneficial to the fundamental principles of engineering. I highly recommend taking this course as it is informative and simple to understand.

von Meet P

Apr 04, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on material science.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of California,Davis and coursera.

von Lavanya S

Jun 06, 2020

The short lectures are very crisp yet give the complete picture of the concepts. This course stands as a "must take refresher" for Material Science area.

von Shantanu D D

Oct 22, 2019

It was best to learn from other professors and their teaching techniques are also best. Like to learn more. This was my first online course. Keep it up.

von Somanna B

Aug 23, 2020

A good introduction into the field of Material Science. I would like to thank Dr James Shackelford for being very articulate and making things simple.

von Prathamesh P K

Apr 25, 2020

The course was really good. Instructor James Shackelford ellaborated the course content really well. The videos were short, self-explanatory and nice.

von JACOB O O

Aug 08, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

von Fabian P

Mar 05, 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

von Musharraf R S

May 10, 2020

A very good course to take up there are many things to learn.

Most importantly remember:

"Structure leads to properties"

by our Great Professor James

von Luis N H G

Dec 01, 2018

Es un gran curso, con saberes teóricos prácticos, de gran contenido y fácil apreciación para las aspiraciones de un futuro ingeniero enhorabuena!

von Cyril J

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course to remember the basic things that a engineer should remember especially mechanical engineers. Thank you for making this course.

von Cliff J

Oct 22, 2020

This course presented the most intuitive explanation of material properties that I have come across in fourteen years as a practicing engineer.

von Azahar T P

May 11, 2020

It was wonderful and very well explained about each and every crux of material science. and got practical understanding of material engineering

von Swapnil N

Jun 22, 2020

Very good course and personally I am looking forward for more deeper metallurgy courses from same speaker..He is too good..Thank you Coursera.

von Yekambaram R

Feb 04, 2020

This gives all the information required for understanding material science course for mechanical engineers. Thank you for offering the course.

von Dean A A

Jun 23, 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

von Md. I M

Jun 16, 2020

Wonderful course ever for me including all over the engineering students to know these engineering materials to apply their future prospect.

von Harshit S

Mar 18, 2019

The course emphasizes on the basic principles of Material Sciences. Explains with great real-life examples which are very thought-provoking.