Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mathematics for Computer Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Mathematics for Computer Science von University of London

4.3
Sterne
100 Bewertungen
33 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

“Welcome to Introduction to Numerical Mathematics. This is designed to give you part of the mathematical foundations needed to work in computer science in any of its strands, from business to visual digital arts, music, games. At any stage of the problem solving and modelling stage you will require numerical and computational tools. We get you started in binary and other number bases, some tools to make sense of sequences of numbers, how to represent space numerical using coordinates, how to study variations of quantities via functions and their graphs. For this we prepared computing and everyday life problems for you to solve using these tools, from sending secret messages to designing computer graphics. If you wish to take it further you can join the BSc Computer Science degree and complete the full module ‘Numerical Mathematics’. Enjoy!”...

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

May 31, 2020

There are problems with some of the quizzes and were extremely frustrating, but I had positive learning experience with Dr Sara Santos

VB

May 10, 2019

I'm on week 3. So far so good. Challenging. Love practical tasks with implementation of steganography and cryptography.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 29 Bewertungen für Mathematics for Computer Science

von Sébastien L

Mar 05, 2019

I have learnt quite a few things in this course. However, I will point out that you must be very attentive and not too surprised when you find a mistake, as they are common. I will leave aside the fact that there weren't many classmates around, which prevents you from having meaningful conversations in the forums and feedback on your peer-reviewed assignments, but I believe it is of interest to realize this soon enough as to not have unrealistic expectations. I was especially disappointed with the quality of the quizzes and other assignments: there were many mathematical expressions that weren't formatted correctly which made it very hard to decipher them. Apart from having badly formatted questions (containing spelling mistakes here and there), there are a few instances where even the answers gathered from the grading tools are wrong in some cases and at the very least ambiguous in other cases. I knew most of the material before taking the course and I was unable to achieve a perfect grade, partly due to the fact that there is absolutely no support from the teaching staff and partly due to the grading system used by the university. On the positive side, most of the videos were engaging in my opinion and all the concepts presented are directly useful to any computer scientist. I particularly enjoyed the first half of the course on number bases and modular arithmetic. Depending on your background, you may find the second half of the course somewhat basic, yet still useful. Overall, I would recommend other courses such as CS50 by Harvard University before this one if you are looking for a certificate. Otherwise, you can skip assignments, do not worry too much about the grades and learn important concepts from this course as a great mathematical foundation in computer science.

von Greg L

May 03, 2019

still errors in quizzes after notification in beta-test. No-one from staff replies to comments or forums. I really want to give it 3.5, not 4

von Volodymyr B

May 10, 2019

I'm on week 3. So far so good. Challenging. Love practical tasks with implementation of steganography and cryptography.

von Jordan W

Mar 06, 2019

Great review of maths for comp sci

von Deleted A

Feb 20, 2019

The content is very interesting and the professor is amazing.

But, the quality of the examinations could use some perfecting, although they are challenging and relevant which is a very good thing!

von Chan C K

May 10, 2019

quizes are sometime buggy otherwise everything is fine

von Toygar E

Jun 27, 2019

The professor is nice and does her best but overall the course is not structured well. Some hard to grasp assignments, assignments where you must collaborate with peers in loosely defined ways. Almost no feedback in quizzes. Failure in quizzes due to incorrect input format.

von Doug D

Jul 16, 2019

Pretty good teaching. My only complaint would be some seeming technical flaws with some tests that made a few questions hard to understand. They are either technical flaws in rendering the templates maybe, or I just couldn't understand the explanation.

von Dustin R

Oct 07, 2019

The material was interesting, but the format that we were to give for quiz answers was, at times, ambiguous. Several of the quizzes had errors in the material which made answering the question and receiving full credit impossible. I have submitted these to the Coursera Support staff, and they are to get in contact with the university regarding these issues.

von Sergio F C C

Aug 11, 2019

VERY VERY VERY Detailed class. The professor is very intense and makes you practice a lot to reinforce learning and has so many outside resources to supplement learning. She also encourages communication among class members which is cute. She is very passionate. This is the closest I have come to a real college class on Coursera, talking from actual college experience.

von Gabriel O B

Oct 30, 2019

I didn't purchase the certificate because I only do this for learning, but I completed all the contents that were allowed to me and I loved the course. The professor is great, she explains with great clarity and good examples. Also, the quizzes are perfect to maintain a good learning progression curve. Thanks to all!

von Ellie A

Jun 15, 2020

This instructor makes math really fun! The material was challenging, but she was very engaging and gave a lot of descriptive examples.

von Abdurakhmon J

May 31, 2020

There are problems with some of the quizzes and were extremely frustrating, but I had positive learning experience with Dr Sara Santos

von Robin I

Jun 28, 2020

Very good course. I am left feeling like I want more. The professor was excellent. The material was well presented.

von Aljosja B

Jul 19, 2020

Gentle introduction into mathematics for computer science, taught with a lot of enthusiasm.

von Domi E T

Jun 20, 2020

I have learnt about how maths plays a good roles in computer science.

von Mahmoud H E Y

Jul 07, 2019

Clear Learning

von RASIKAA S G

Jul 01, 2020

Awesome

von MUTHURAJ H

Jun 20, 2020

....

von Alex B

Jun 24, 2020

Pretty comprehensive overall but sometimes the gap between the difficulty of the tests compared to what was explained in the videos was frustrating. Also, I don't fully agree with the rating system since in a question with multiple valid answers if I mark 3 correct out of 4, with none wrong, I get 0 points. Also there's a small bug that sometimes gets triggered and prevent you from completing week 6.

von Romaine G

Jun 14, 2020

This is by far the most in depth math education that I've experienced thus far. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to increase their mathematical knowledge. However, there is a problem with the final exam that I've already reported. Because of this problem I have failed multiple times, making the process quite frustrating, but over a good course.

von Naved

Jun 28, 2020

Amazing course, truly. The instructor of the course was incredible at teaching and explaining things. On top of all the theory aspects course also offers optional content that applies to the real world. Thank you, Coursera for giving this opportunity to learn from one of if not the best teacher.

von Alberto J G S

Mar 24, 2020

It was challenging and at some parts a little bit ambiguous but I think the material was good and the teacher's passionate and funny personality made it an enjoyable experience.

von Iva M

Oct 10, 2019

The course really expanded my math knowledge and sparked the interest to learn even more.

von VANAJA T

Jun 21, 2020

Good