Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Programming with MATLAB von Vanderbilt University

4.8
Sterne
15,548 Bewertungen
4,072 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top-Bewertungen

IK
19. Dez. 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

DA
5. Juni 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filtern nach:

3476 - 3500 von 4,058 Bewertungen für Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

von Qidi L

22. Nov. 2020

Great course! This is one of the best programming lesson I have ever seen.

Just a suggestion: It will be better, if the wait time of assignment tests can be a little bit longer. During programming the function blur, my first program works, it's just too slow to pass the tests because of its too many for-loops. So I wasted too much time to vectorizing my program. It's great to remind us how important vectorizing is in MATLAB, but since it's an "Introduction" of MATLAB, vectorizing is actually not supported to be content of this course, right?

von Shen Z

20. Feb. 2020

Overall, clear explanation and helpful interaction. The professor is skilled at introducing the intuition behind the formulas and codes. However, the assignments are isolated from the video lecture. Hence, it is difficult for those with little or no previous programming experience to pass this course. Also, hard to practice what we have learned from the lecture. I believe here is the room for improvement: Delete assignments that is too complicated and instead add the task of manageable levels to help students to understand more.

von Fabia M

27. Sep. 2016

Very well done, I loved the lectures and enjoyed the assignments. I had no previous experience of programming and I found the explanation of the concepts very clear.

The main critique for me is that ,for some of the problems, not having a background in physics might be..well..too challenging! It took me hours only to read about the theory behind the question, to find out the appropriate formula to use in the code, whilst writing the actual program was pretty quick.

Other than that, I would certainly recommend the course.

von Antonis P

13. Dez. 2020

It was a really good course from knowledgable people. The hard work that has been put into this course to make it informational is obvious. The only thing that put me off during the course was the assignements. After week 5 they got extremely difficult and while before I did struggle a bit, I was able to figure something out. SInce week 6 it was nearly impossible for me even after spending an enormous amount of time. I think the teaching stuff should assess better the difficulty of assignements after week 5.

von Luca D M

17. Apr. 2021

Inizialmente il corso si presenta abbastanza fattibile, ma negli ultimi 2 esercizi diventa un qualcosa di impossibile da riuscire a svolgere.. -.- ci vogliono giorni e giorni per capire alcuni algoritmi e a parer mio visto che lo sto facendo per 3 crediti nella mia università mi sembra abbastanza esagerato.. ma per il resto, ho imparato tanto.. soprattutto a riuscire a debuggare mentalmente, cosa che prima non mi veniva facile, e anche a capire il ragionamento riga per riga di quello che devo programmare.

von ANSHUL A

25. Jan. 2021

It was an excellent experience learning this course. I started learning MATLAB from scratch, got my basics cleared and now I'm in a position to tackle new problems on my own, it's just that I take a lot of time while coding since everything's new to me so need more of practice. I would like to add up here that extra practice problems covering different concepts should have been there for practice purpose. And also the book should have been made available to us for free of cost. Thanks a lot to all of you.

von Yaroslav K

25. Mai 2018

Very good and serious course. I passed it in four sessions, having break of a couple of months between each of them. Yet, after interruptions I was immediately comfortable with Matlab. The previously acquired skills were not forgotten.

Explanations are very detailed (sometimes too much detailed for me), and the exercises encourage research of additional functionalities. Pity that programming tasks for the last Lesson are not really related to it, and some of them are rather boring than challenging.

von Avinash K S

9. Juni 2020

This is truly a great course for MATLAB beginner or even for an intermediate learner to clear the concept. This makes me able to think like a programmer. The descriptions and practice problems are up to the mark. This should be the first course to anyone new to the MATLAB and want to peruse a career in MATLAB programming. One suggestion is to use little more easy problems in assignments and increase the difficulty levels gradually. Also, suggest some practice problems source or books.

von Ali K

13. Mai 2020

The course was really great, I enjoyed it. It was easy to understand, however the lecture took so long, its designed for nonprogrammers and sometimes I felt I should speed up the video to listen quickly to many parts during the lecture. Regarding the quizzes, I think it would be better to jump levels in the quizzes. The quizzes in the first 7 weeks were relatively very easy compared to the last two that took lots of time and thinking to figure out how to solve them.

von Piyush G

8. Juli 2020

I got stuck in some of last week assignment, and did not have any clue what was going on. So, I refered MATLAB Community and got answer..... but still not satisfied got from that. Could you make an explanation video on Week 9 assignment and Post it in the Youtube, so that I can get overall clear explanation of what was going on?!. I have already subscribed to your Youtube channel. I loved your course, and learned so many things, Thank you sir!

von Richard E F

20. Nov. 2020

I worked through this fairly quickly. I found getting the assignments correct quite hard as you get almost no feedback as to what your problem is from the grading process. It was quite awkward to find the appropriate submissions inn the discussion forums. Other coursera courses I have done had links to the appropriate weeks discussions on most pages.

I mostly enjoyed it, as a retiree I do these courses to keep my brain active.

von Hamid N

3. März 2018

The course materials are good and very well presented by course instructor. However, the homeworks are not that well designed. The main focus goes to the mathematics behind the problems instead of focusing on the programming skills. So doing the homeworks was kind of boring staffs, as I had to spend time for mathematics instead of Matlab itself. Nevertheless this course is highly recommended to get in to MATLAB programming.

von Sergio P

23. Aug. 2020

Algunos ejercicios no se pueden hacer con lo explicado en el curso. El nivel de estos ejercicios debería reducirse. Algunos ejemplos: valid date, caesar y echo gen( este último se complica más bien por la mala explicación y algunos conceptos más que por la complejidad de la función a programar en sí).

Por lo demás, en general está bastante bien. Aunque a veces las explicaciones se hacen muy lentas en los videos.

von SUDHANSHU C

10. Juni 2019

The course was excellent. Although there is more to MATLAB but it's enough for a beginner. The assignments were good . I think there should be more tough assignments in between the lessons because the final problems were way tougher than the in-between lesson problems. Even though the final problems were very interesting and challenging to complete. Overall it was a very good course with a wonderful lecturer.

von LeighAnn W

11. Apr. 2021

Overall great class, the instructor was easy to follow, gave great examples and exercises. The only thing I suggest changing is it would be nice to have sample output to many of the exercises as it was often difficult to determine what the problem was asking for and how the output was to be formatted (this especially applies to the final exercises which were much more difficult than the other exercises)

von Divya P R

26. Mai 2020

The course was very helpful in learning the basics of Matlab coding. Though i had an academic course in my institute on Matlab, this course helped me to strenghen my previous knowledge and also made me a better Matlab user. I found the last few exams difficult to crack. However, i am happy that i am able to finish this long course. Thanks to all the peopel behind this course. Thanks for your effort.

von Sunny Y

26. Juni 2019

This Course really helped me in clearing basic concepts in MATLAB and has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in handling the real life practical problem.

This course also provides good base if you want to study advanced topic in MATLAB.

Although most the assignment were simple and easy but final assignment must require separate video to really understand them.

von Andrej K

26. Apr. 2020

The course definitely requires some programming experience. I would appreciate to have some more practice questions before hitting the problem set. Problems in the first couple of weeks were too easy, and the rest of them assumed prior experience in at least some kind of programming. In all, I think it will give you a solid base for the beginning, alghouth you may not understand it completely.

von Yi Q

1. Mai 2019

Very good and basic introduction to Matlab. If you are blank on the programming. It is recommend and almost no program pre-knowlege requirement. If you have some experience on python(or Numpy), you will see most of them are similar and very quick to handle Matlab work. The teacher and saffing team are very friendly and can response you very quickly when you have some challenge during learning.

von 121710403050 V M R R

14. Mai 2020

More guidance on the assignments towards the last couple of weeks would be useful. Instructions on how to procced with the tougher assignments should be given as this is a course for beginners to programming as a whole not to experienced programmers who are new to MATLAB. Other than that, course content is the best for beginners who want to learn MATLAB.

Course Content & Delivery: 5/5

von Julianna R

11. Juli 2020

Really educational, but a lot of the problems expected you to know matlab functions already. I started this course thinking it was an introduction, but upon re-reading the course overview it said 'Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial.' I was still able to complete the course, but I wish problems would have been more relevant to practicing skills taught in the videos.

von Walter W

13. Sep. 2017

This courses covers a lot of useful stuffs in Python making it really very comprehensive. While homework and exams remain at an entry level. However, I strongly recommend more programming homework added and completion time expanded in order to let students go further. Also, if you want to explore every stuff in this course like me, it will take much more time than it suggests.

von Shubham T

23. Mai 2020

I have been working on MATLAB for a long time. I managed to complete this course quickly. The First 7 weeks are really easy in the last two weeks are really difficult. The instructor is focusing on the theoretical part instead he can tell more about the functions required for the assignment. We have to google for function for lots of time. Everything else is fine.

von Kirstie W

26. Mai 2016

Very good course, with clear explanations of the key concepts. However, I felt hindered in being able to complete all tasks in the homeworks each week as many questions alienate someone like me with little mathematics/physics background. I feel if the questions were more general I would have been able to perform better each week. Very good lecture content though.

von Anurag A

29. Juli 2020

Things are good but learner should have a prior knowledge of coding (in any language).

Also, the problems of last 2 weeks are very very good, even they were showing 1 hr. to solve but it took me more than half a day for each, one whole day for the last one. I know I am way too slow, but what I recommend the University to have video solutions to these problems !!!