Chevron Left
Zurück zu Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Matrix Algebra for Engineers von The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
230 Bewertungen
69 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. We define matrices and how to add and multiply them, and introduce some special types of matrices. We describe the Gaussian elimination algorithm used to solve systems of linear equations and the corresponding LU decomposition of a matrix. We explain the concept of vector spaces and define the main vocabulary of linear algebra. We develop the theory of determinants and use it to solve the eigenvalue problem. After each video, there are problems to solve and I have tried to choose problems that exemplify the main idea of the lecture. I try to give enough problems for students to solidify their understanding of the material, but not so many that students feel overwhelmed. I do encourage students to attempt the given problems, but if they get stuck, full solutions can be found in my lecture notes. The mathematics in this matrix algebra course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students would take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but student's are expected to have a certain level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. Lecture notes may be downloaded at http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the course overview video at https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

Top-Bewertungen

J

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 69 Bewertungen für Matrix Algebra for Engineers

von Joel M

Jun 13, 2019

Jeff Chasnov teaches matrix algebra in a way that avoids almost all abstraction. He simplifies things, and presents tangible examples. This is a great preparation course for studying systems of linear differential equations as well.

von James B

Jun 06, 2019

Professor Jeffrey Chasnov patiently demonstrates and explains many sorts of common matrix operations. The practice problems are quite useful. I enjoyed the course and look forward to going through his next course, Differential Equations for Engineers.

von Gaurav V

Jun 05, 2019

One of the finest and well-structured course I have ever taken on Matrix Algebra. Professors Chasnov's way of teaching will certainly make you fall in love with matrices. The course starts from scratch and then cover some advanced topics in linear algebra also. One of the most exciting thing about this course is it has the answer to all the question except the grades quizzes to understand your learning of the subject.

von Jeff B

May 29, 2019

Excellent course! Lectures were succinct and illuminating. I enjoyed taking it and learned some new concepts along the way. Highly recommended. Any chance a multivariate calculus course is coming?Thanks!

von Vítor R

May 26, 2019

Jeffrey Chasnov is a very charismatic fellow and an outstanding instructor. Lessons were very concise and clutter free. He made a great effort of bringing us engineers (some in formation, some brushing up concepts) the best possible approach for the topics explored. The companion book (the electronic document provided) is the best supplementary material I’ve come across for a MOOC. When someone cares, it shows. It truly shows.

von Robert H

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

von César J N R

Dec 03, 2018

It is a really nice course, mixing good content and examples within the lectures. It challenges you with exercises that will let you reinforce your knowledge. I couldn't have this course on my degree and I needed it. Also really great professor.

von Duc V K T

Dec 30, 2018

This was an interesting course, and I learned a lot about matrix algebra. I also took another course of him, which is Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio. This is the second course of professor Jeffrey Chasnov that I took, and I really like both of his courses. I hope that professor Jeffrey Chasnov will create some more interesting math courses in the future.

von ASHISH T Y

Jan 15, 2019

best course. this course just take up your level of understanding

von Divyanshu T

Jan 05, 2019

Loved the practice problems! This course gives a solid foundation to Linear Algebra.

von Nitin A

Jan 17, 2019

Insight into different structures of Matrices, how to work with them, basic linear Algebra skills

von Chi L L

Feb 06, 2019

A very good course that understanding the needs of science and engineering and belance between length proof and introduction of key main concepts.

von Cameron M

Feb 07, 2019

This worked as an excellent refresher course! I appreciated the practice exercises and the associated study guide.

von LEELAVATHY T

Feb 22, 2019

very good

von Vineeth P

Feb 21, 2019

A wonderful course for those who want to start Matrices from scratch. The course covers all the necessary things an engineer requires.

von GAETANO P

Feb 21, 2019

Very nice course. Really well teached. The materials and exercises are well preented. Prof. Chasnov has explained the fundamental concepts of linear algebra in a clear and friendly way.Excellent course.

von Jaron v G S

Feb 24, 2019

Yes, I spend 30 hours a week but I finished it in 2 weekends. Good course, a lot of video, going from the base to more complex subjects building up.

von Kutalmis B

Feb 27, 2019

very good indeed

von xhungab

Mar 02, 2019

A good course for me.

von Christos G

Mar 03, 2019

Chasnov is outstanding! You will love the course but above all you will adore the way Chasnov marches on through the course and you are acquiring knowledge... He is a real instructor!

von Dhanada M

Apr 01, 2019

It was a wonderful course and helped me great deal to refresh my fundamental ideas about Vector Algebra. The course is very well designed and paced very well with interesting practice quizzes. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the course and would strongly recommend it for both new and advanced learners of the subject. Thank you.

von Swati A

Apr 06, 2019

Very informative and well organized. The faculty is very responsive when it comes to queries. This is the second course that I have taken by this faculty. Looking forward to more!

von Ferenc L

Apr 06, 2019

Very good course!

von John R

Apr 01, 2019

The course was very well presented in three ways. The first, the educator was very clear and the presentation technique through the use of a window board was excellent. The educator's hands on approach through exposition and examples is to be commended. The second the material is presented in a fashion that was not simple but not too hard to grasp given effort. The reinforcement through the use of quizzes, with solved examples, and examination though the use of tests, without solved examples, works.The Third, the excellent text accompanying the course is first class.

This is a high quality course.

von JORGE E M L V

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia