Chevron Left
Zurück zu Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Matrix Algebra for Engineers von The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
282 Bewertungen
83 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. We define matrices and how to add and multiply them, and introduce some special types of matrices. We describe the Gaussian elimination algorithm used to solve systems of linear equations and the corresponding LU decomposition of a matrix. We explain the concept of vector spaces and define the main vocabulary of linear algebra. We develop the theory of determinants and use it to solve the eigenvalue problem. After each video, there are problems to solve and I have tried to choose problems that exemplify the main idea of the lecture. I try to give enough problems for students to solidify their understanding of the material, but not so many that students feel overwhelmed. I do encourage students to attempt the given problems, but if they get stuck, full solutions can be found in my lecture notes. The mathematics in this matrix algebra course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students would take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but student's are expected to have a certain level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join....

Top-Bewertungen

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

RZ

Oct 06, 2019

The professor’s dedication and explanation of the problem are great. This course is a basic course for advanced mathematics for engineers and is a good introduction to linear algebra.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 86 Bewertungen für Matrix Algebra for Engineers

von Dasari N

Aug 12, 2019

Very very helpful course

von Haider A

May 20, 2019

Good course for beginners!

von Dennis B

May 07, 2019

Very good course

von Jeanette Z

Aug 22, 2019

Overall, a very good course on matrices. There are a few math errors I found, but I still rate at 5 stars due to quality of the overall material. It brought concepts for me that I had learned and needed refreshing on.

von karam c

Sep 15, 2019

I enjoyed doing all the exercises. Thank you for making the book available with the worked examples, which helped tremendously. Thank you Dr Chasnov

von PHUOC P

Nov 06, 2019

excellent course. it helped me understand more about matrix algebra and its application. Thank you so much, Prof. Jeffrey R. Chasnov

von Akinori M

Sep 06, 2019

This is a great crash course of Matrix Algebra. Highly recommended for engineers.

von Mangalampalli L A

Sep 06, 2019

First of all, Thank you Prof. Jeffery R Chasnov for taking an application-oriented approach to teaching matrix algebra concept. I thoroughly understood the topics covered in the course and I recommend it for any student interested in learning about matrices.

von beryl s

Sep 08, 2019

As a college math teacher, it was refreshing and a challenge at times. I was able to re-watch parts of the videos to get the notes that I missed writing. Since I didn't have access to the solutions to the problems, I had to check all of my answers to make sure that my results were correct.

von Vidhya K

Sep 08, 2019

Enjoyed much. Thanks.

von deep c

Oct 04, 2019

amazing course....really helpful....thank u so much

von Rongfa Z

Oct 06, 2019

The professor’s dedication and explanation of the problem are great. This course is a basic course for advanced mathematics for engineers and is a good introduction to linear algebra.

von Zhang R

Nov 16, 2019

This course is excellent - useful and suit for novice. It built my basic understanding of matrices which gave me a new way to think about mathematics questions.

von Muhammad Z

Nov 21, 2019

Course material and way of communication is well structured.

von Aastha S

Nov 22, 2019

A well to do course. Teaches a lot.

von Kuo P

Nov 27, 2019

amazing class for engineer

von Тарасов П С

Nov 10, 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. With little prior knowledge I learnt a lot both theory and practice. Thanks to prof. Chasnov and Hong Kong UoST for making this possible.

von Gauri S

Nov 12, 2019

It was very detailed and gave a lot of important formulas for solving problems with Matrix algebra and the instructor followed a good pace.

von R S K

Dec 06, 2019

A wonderful intro as well as review of Matrix Algebra for students of engineering. It is a quick course.

von puneeth L

Dec 06, 2019

it was good experiencing to learn something new

von Elena H

Dec 06, 2019

I took this course to refresh my knowledge in Matrix algebra. It's my first course on Coursera, and I like the platform a lot. The instructor is great, he makes any topic (even the most complex ones) seem easy.

von Akash

Jan 11, 2019

Very systematic course ,not a typical first course in linear algebra but brilliant overall .Extremely useful for engineers.

Highly recommended!!!

von Luiz C

Mar 24, 2019

Good, but would have appreciated slides instead of just pdf, and tests are too much on manual calculus instead of thinking...

von Robert C P

Feb 17, 2019

I concise overview of useful concepts and techniques.