Chevron Left
Zurück zu English for Media Literacy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für English for Media Literacy von University of Pennsylvania

4.9
Sterne
1,420 Bewertungen
383 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

Top-Bewertungen

DT

Jan 27, 2019

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB

Feb 09, 2019

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 374 Bewertungen für English for Media Literacy

von Shahab Y

May 06, 2020

It was the first course that I went through until completion on Coursera. It was a well-made course with very little in the way of the main content promised by the course. Straight to the point and delivered perfectly by the instructors.

von Nguyen T T T

Jun 02, 2017

The course is well-organized and systematically presented, so it's quite easy to followed. However, some of the linguistic points and exercises seem to be too basic compared to content of Media Education that learners need to go through.

von Maria L S D

Jan 29, 2018

Glad I was able to take this course. It made me think first of all the media that I am encountering everyday life. Hope people will also have that kind of knowledge that I had after taking this course. And this will start with myself.

von Tolybayeva K

Mar 14, 2020

I knew much more about media literacy, for example, that information that we read on a different kind of resources have true or false information. Although by replacing it, it can be bias by placement, bias by omission, bias by spin.

von Marcio A M d S

Mar 20, 2020

I want to take this opportunity to thank every one who made this course available online. Thanks for the University of Pennsylvania team's and all the colleagues that shared their point of views and helped me evaluating my tasks.

von Bastannyk O

Apr 29, 2018

I enjoyed the course and I want to thank all the people who contributed to it. The knowledge, the texts and test that were in this course helped me understand media way better. It really helps to learn how to think critically.

von Mina G

Apr 24, 2020

This is a great introduction to issues in media literacy as well as other important skills related to critical reading and grammar. The articles and assignments were interesting and I really enjoyed the peer review format.

von Dina

May 15, 2018

I really learned a lot from this course. I definitely love to enroll more courses in coursera. Thank you for sharing your knowledge to us for free. Special thanks to University of Pennsylvania. You are a blessing to us.

von Yongli W

Jan 10, 2019

Nowadays we live in society with information flooded, the course of "English for Media Literacy" give a way to analyze the information and help people to build their critical thinking. It's great for students!

von Nguyen T T D

Feb 20, 2018

This is a very good course for English learners. The videos and texts are very informative and understandable, the quizzes are fun and over all you can learn new skills which you can apply in your daily life.

von alexander

May 07, 2017

For me, this course have been a great experience and I've learned new skills to view social media with a new look. I appreciate all people who made possible this course come success for us. Thanks so much!!!

von Alla M

May 24, 2018

The teachers are extremely cool! Thank you so much for such an interesting course. Now it's awesome to be aware of all loopholes in social media and to be able to understand all the media information.

von Alyona S

Mar 20, 2020

The most informative and easy-to-follow course! There are a lot of interesting and useful topics not only about media literacy itself but also some grammar issues. I loved it, thank you veru much!

von Ronn A J A

Feb 16, 2019

It helps the student understand and widen his/her knowledge about the media. It is also useful as a student will be able to analyze an information better and know its credibility.

von sophia d c

Feb 25, 2019

It was a really effective way of learning. By this course, I was able to advance my knowledge about media literacy and as a student be able to adapt this learning in daily basis.

von Nina I C

Feb 24, 2019

What great information to know, so valuable! I really found this fulfilling, thank you. Will integrate this learning with my Integrated Marketing Communications course teaching.

von Stephen M M

Jan 07, 2018

This course is very helpful in analyzing the world of media today. As a youth, this course is very useful and it allowed me to have some critical thinking skills. *Thumbs Up*

von OUALID I

May 04, 2019

great cours,i feel like that my eyes were closed but now i have the attention for media,i can analyse ads and ask questions that could help me avoid bias.thank you very much

von Danial S

Mar 07, 2020

I enjoyed learning about Media literacy... It was an excellent course! I liked it very much! I would highly recommend to apply! You will enrich your knowledge tremendously!

von Abdullah m

Oct 17, 2017

Very useful course , thanks for the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs and University of Pennsylvania.

von Aravind u

May 23, 2020

This course is absolutely useful for a lot of people having keen interest for learning , the classes are impeccable and i think its privilege to learn under this.

von IVY O G

Jan 23, 2019

I love the course and it helps me a lot in understanding about media and it also enhances my knowledge in english. 😃 Thank you for this kind of opportunity😃👍

von Adelina M

May 08, 2017

This course was really interesting! I learned a lot about media literacy. Now I know what the role of media in our life, and how it influences people decisions.

von Iryna P

May 08, 2020

Very helpful and interesting course! Good teachers and interesting material. Every detail was described and written. I'm very glad to take part in this course!

von Fernando C

Nov 18, 2017

It is a truly user-friendly course where you can learn how to change your perspectives on how the media environment affects us these days. I fully recommend it