Chevron Left
Zurück zu English for Media Literacy

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für English for Media Literacy von University of Pennsylvania

4.9
Sterne
1,791 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

Top-Bewertungen

DT

26. Jan. 2019

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB

8. Feb. 2019

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 486 Bewertungen für English for Media Literacy

von Anderson Q V

8. Mai 2020

Un muy buen curso para aprender ingles a partir de un tema especifico (en este caso social media). Esta forma de aprendizaje permite no solo practicar y aprender ingles, sino, también, aprender sobre sobre los modelos de social media, los principales sesgos sociales y como identificarlos. Muy recomendado.

von Assel S

7. März 2020

The structure of all the lessons is very good and easy to understand. There are so many lively learning activities to both develop yourself and entertain! Everything is very useful and practical to improve your professional skills and achieve personal goals. You will lose much if you don`t take it!

von Нуриева А И

28. Feb. 2020

Course will be useful for everyone. We are surrounded by different types of Media. This course will help you improve your critical thinking skills and analyze the information while consuming it. It will help you to make right decision about your life and see more, than someone decided to show you.

von Lasantha K

19. Juli 2020

This English for media literacy course gives me how control the language in the media .

It is very use to complete my assignments and course as well. this course help me to develop my American English(reduction, transitions). I hope to do another step in this course. thank you all.

von Blademer M

17. Sep. 2020

I already had my certificate but can I ask for another one on which the time frame of the entire course from beginning to ending is indicated because it is an important information needed by our institution for promotion purpose. Looking forward to your response about this matter.

von Aigul B

29. Mai 2022

Thank you so much for such an amazing and useful course! I have learnt a lot and become media literate. This course allowed me to look at usual media , messages and information differently. Moreover, I have improved my English a lot! I would recommend taking this course!!!

von Safayet B N

25. Mai 2020

This course and it's respectable instructors are unique because of their way of teaching and it's infrastructure . People of any age can easily develop their skill about media literacy after finishing this course. Glad to be a part of this course as well as coursera .

von Aizhan S

22. Juni 2021

I truly appreciate the Media Literacy Course and recommend it to everyone, as it gives important skills in using Media. Additionally I would like to thank the organizatons and teachers who provided interesting and involving, entertaining tasks inspiring everyone!!

von DODDIE M L D

25. Apr. 2020

I love the simple and clear discussion of the topics. Also, I enjoyed doing the activities and assignments. Learning has been fun indeed in another area I knew nothing about before I enrolled. Thank you for the learning! I wish to be back soon for more courses!

von MA. C N M

6. März 2019

This course is very timely and I am happy I enrolled on this course because I have learned so much. The approach is very basic, clear and distinct, the videos are downloadable and can be used in classroom discussions too. It includes educational games as well.

von Жазира К

11. Apr. 2022

I really enjoyed the course "English for Media Literacy" and took much knowledge in types of media, bias in media, kinds of advertisement, and diversity in media too. I replenished my vocabulary and improved grammar. I will recommend it to my colleagues!

von Emelita B

7. Apr. 2022

a course that is timely and significant. We should let others learn and inform about this course also to enhance critical thinking and to be able to discern whether the things or information that we get is a fact or not. This will decrease disinformation

von Karina I

23. März 2020

This course is very useful. I learned a lot about media literacy and thing which are included. The process is really intersting and comfortable. I tried to write and record different assignments. It affected positively on my language and media skills.

von Taissiya M

12. Feb. 2020

This course was of a great pleasure and great opportunity to me. I have not only learned about media literacy but also notices some good methods of how to teach this ssubjects to others. I am going to recommend this course to my friends and students.

von Loubna H

15. Aug. 2020

From this course, I learned some things that I was ignorant of about the world of media. Grammar

lessons also helped me improve pronunciation and writing, in addition to new English words

This course is complete in all respects and deserves 5 stars.

von Sadykova A

5. Feb. 2022

I​ enjoyed this course. great teaching staff, very nice content and intersting tasks. I learned a lot. Sure that my new knowleges and skills will be helpful in my professional career. And I will continue to study on Coursera. Thank you very much.

von Gulizor A

28. Juli 2021

I want to express my gratitude to the organizers of the program. It was really helpful. I saw the media from the different perspective I really started analyzing every pieces of information before accepting it, Thanks again and all the best.

von Hagie B

22. Mai 2020

In my opinion, we have been using media with lots of bias without noticing it but now I can use social media by making sure I avoid all sort of bias especially to people from different background n culture, tribe, language or even color.

von Shahab Y

6. Mai 2020

It was the first course that I went through until completion on Coursera. It was a well-made course with very little in the way of the main content promised by the course. Straight to the point and delivered perfectly by the instructors.

von Nguyen T T T

2. Juni 2017

The course is well-organized and systematically presented, so it's quite easy to followed. However, some of the linguistic points and exercises seem to be too basic compared to content of Media Education that learners need to go through.

von Maria L D

28. Jan. 2018

Glad I was able to take this course. It made me think first of all the media that I am encountering everyday life. Hope people will also have that kind of knowledge that I had after taking this course. And this will start with myself.

von Tolybayeva K

14. März 2020

I knew much more about media literacy, for example, that information that we read on a different kind of resources have true or false information. Although by replacing it, it can be bias by placement, bias by omission, bias by spin.

von Marcio A M d S

20. März 2020

I want to take this opportunity to thank every one who made this course available online. Thanks for the University of Pennsylvania team's and all the colleagues that shared their point of views and helped me evaluating my tasks.

von Bastannyk O

29. Apr. 2018

I enjoyed the course and I want to thank all the people who contributed to it. The knowledge, the texts and test that were in this course helped me understand media way better. It really helps to learn how to think critically.

von Marina N

9. Apr. 2022

Everything was great! I 've got a lot ob useful information and I am going to share it with my students and colleagues!

It was very professionally done just beginning with clear videos to clear tasks and tests.

Thanks a lot!