Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC) von Lund University

4.7
Sterne
111 Bewertungen
36 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Hello and welcome to this course! The NPAP - Medical Applications of Accelerators is one out of three courses in the Nordic Particle Accelerator Program (NPAP). Here you will be taken on a tour focusing on the medical applications of particle accelerators. You will see that there are two very important, but different, applications of accelerators in hospitals. The first application concerns radiotherapy of tumours and the other concerns the production of medical nuclides for diagnosis and treatment. Both will be included in this course and described through four modules. The first module offers the basic principles of radiotherapy from a medical and physics point of view. You there learn about the main components of the machines used for radiotherapy and get to know why radiotherapy is important for cancer treatments. The second module guides you through the different types of linear accelerators used in the machines for radiotherapy. It also describes the design of the treatment head. The design is important because it is the settings of the treatment head that determines the dose and the radiated region. It is also in the treatment head where the dose given to the patient is measured. In the third module you are introduced to proton therapy. In this type of therapy protons are first accelerated and then guided down to the tumour by magnets. The machines are considerably larger and more expensive than machines used for radio therapy. The module also offers a description and comparison between different types of accelerators, and explains how the protons interact with tissue. Also ions that are heavier than protons can be used in cancer therapy. This is described in the fourth module, where we also introduce you to the production of medical nuclides. You learn how the nuclides are produces in proton and ion accelerators and how the nuclides come into play at different places in hospitals. Medical nuclides are for instance used in Positron Electron Tomography, PET. Enjoy!...

Top-Bewertungen

CB

May 19, 2020

The course content is good, nicely explained by video tutorials and notes. Good for beginner and learned about medical physics and its clinical application.

MD

Jun 27, 2020

This course is very useful to everyone. I have to learn some different techniques, like homiao therapy, chemotherapy ect....

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 36 Bewertungen für Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC)

von RAEES C

May 16, 2020

I got very well knowledge about particles accelerators ,thank you coursera

von Mohamed S A

Jun 14, 2020

This course is an excellent introductory to accelerator-based radiotherapy techniques used in cancer treatment. I am looking forward to involving an additional technique that is related to this category of cancer cures, which is the accelerator-based Boron Neutron Capture Therapy (BNCT).

von Geraldyne U D

May 26, 2020

This course helped me a lot as I am goingo to study a master in medical physcis. Now I have gain habilities that I can put into practise in the master. Thank you to the professor and to coursera for sharing the knowledge

von yasin a

May 21, 2020

I strongly recommend the course for many different professionals , students who work in Medical Physics field or have intention to work in this field. Also for the fellow colleagues who need replenish their knowledge.

von Sridharbabu Y

May 05, 2020

Very detailed course on Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators. I am highly grateful to Prof. Lars Hjorth for his continued support. I have thoroughly understood the concepts pertained to particle accelerators.

von Wendy K R

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you for this introductory overview. It has been a great tool to revise my existing knowledge ( diagnostic imaging) and to learn something about the hardware, physics and radiopharmacy of radiation oncology.

von Juan E D M

Jun 14, 2020

I really enjoyed so much! Im now more passionate about medical physics and how with particle accelerators we can transform and contribute to the patient's lifes. Thanks a lot!

von Lucas A G G

Jun 10, 2020

The course is a great introduction for the aplication of ionizin radiation and how it is made. The only aspect worth improving are the subtitles. Best regards!

von CHANDI P B

May 19, 2020

The course content is good, nicely explained by video tutorials and notes. Good for beginner and learned about medical physics and its clinical application.

von Ricardo A H R

Jun 10, 2020

Es un curso muy completo. Ofrece una visión global y detallada sobre los aspectos fundamentales. Con explicaciones claras y preguntas interesantes.

von Ms.K.Maheswari D

Jun 27, 2020

This course is very useful to everyone. I have to learn some different techniques, like homiao therapy, chemotherapy ect....

von Esther J G

Apr 26, 2020

Very useful to learn some more about how radiotherapy works and a good reminder of radionuclides and their use in medicine

von Pablo Z B

Apr 11, 2020

thanks very much for sharing your knowledge. It has been a great course, I am very pleasant to have done it

von Bernard K

Mar 03, 2020

Amazing experience for my first course.Would definitely purchase certificate soon.Thanks Coursera.

von Paolo B

Sep 20, 2019

Very nice course. It give me a clean overview of such interesting and challenging topic. Paolo

von Md. M R

Feb 27, 2020

Is it possible to send me the certificate. I already completed this course.

Thanks

Motiur

von Mirta D

Mar 15, 2020

Thank you for the course! I appreciate that it is thorough in physics and medicine.

von Md. J S

Jun 21, 2020

I have enjoy this course because it is very useful course for human beings.

von Guthikonda K K

Jun 14, 2020

I had a great time learning regarding various treatment methods.

von Fernanda G B

May 29, 2019

Adorei, ótimo curso, os vídeos são bem fáceis e didáticos.

von Peter N

Jul 12, 2020

Great course content - very well laid out

von JOEL B

May 29, 2020

Inspiring ...Interesting...Exploring...

von Joshy S

Aug 07, 2020

It was really informative.

von NALINI V

Jul 05, 2020

It's an excellent course .

von Yasser R

Jun 12, 2020

Well done Course.