Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medical Neuroscience

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Medical Neuroscience von Duke University

4.9
Sterne
2,239 Bewertungen
647 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top-Bewertungen

MG
14. Jan. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT
21. Nov. 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 637 Bewertungen für Medical Neuroscience

von David A L C

1. Okt. 2017

Es un curso muy complejo por lo el nivel tan alto de la información. Requiere mucho dedicarle mucho tiempo. Muchas actividades no se realizan por falta de tiempo, como podría ser la participación en foros. A veces las unidades se encuentran sobresaturadas de información. Los videos en algunos casos son reiterativos y en otros divagan de los conceptos trascendentales del curso. Sin embargo es un curso muy completo, formativo, comprensible aunque requiere de leer y consultar referencias fuera de los documentos de apoyo propios del curso.

von tungala s

15. Mai 2020

As the tutor had mentioned one of the largest course in the coursera. Being prepared for that I had some expectations about the course structure and relevance and worth each second. But to my disappointment, only a few modules were made interesting. Most of the time its too much jargon and irrelevant to the term medial neuroscience title.

Good points

introduction of brain lab and Sylvius.

some experimental based data to convince the concepts

an easy and simple way of presentation by the Dr White

well ordered structure to cover basics

Not so good points:

it is boring to watch some repeated concepts

one gets irritated by so much bragging about self-research in the field of visual neuroscience

so entire brain development and early synaptic plasticity were cornered to the visual cortex.

so much data points and so much stuff without a proper background or clear explanations (esp about all the special senses part, associated brain cortex part and brain development chapters)

Please reconsider the title for this program. No medical part involved in the whole course.

Good for those in the early stage of MD-PhD guys.

von Vaida

4. Aug. 2019

Terrible terrible terrible!!! I take classes about sleep disorders and I was recommended to take a class in neuroscience first. But the class here are just an advertisement. They just talk about themselves and what they are doing,what I am not interested in. I was waiting when theoretical lessons are starting,but I give up. And money is already paid.

von Haris G

28. Jan. 2021

The course is sublime. I would like to give my thanks to Dr. White, to the crew, to the site. You all made something special, a unique experience on this site and further. Starting this course back in June, I felt inspired and motivated from the beginning, all thanks to Leo's pedagogical approach. The community is strong, the volunteers are doing a great job. The course was very demanding, right from the start. I would say it was the hardest in the beginning, especially if you have no prior knowledge of the brain or medical terms. I believe that I learned a lot, but there is still so many things that I didn't get the grasp of, and that's fine. I am looking forward to taking this course again in the future. But the most important thing for me was that, with this course, I created a very healthy routine, where I would turn on the lectures after waking up, while having a cup of coffee. I can only see this routine continue further, maybe while watching some other lectures or reading. All in all it was a wholesome experience, I learned a lot, created new habits, got to know more about neuroscience with no prior experience. TEAM, THANK YOU.

To future students: My mistake was that I didn't draw the tracts and the nuclei in the brainstem. It was harder to get through the course and the exams without doing so, please follow Leo's advice, it wasn't misplaced.

von Andrey S

4. Mai 2018

Finally, upon completion of this excellent course, I have a structured understanding of brain function based on the knowledge of anatomy and cellular level processes. Solving clinical cases gives a sense of practical application of the knowledge you just acquired, especially those from the University of Utah with video recordings of real patients, where you can compare your findings with real physician's records. Lots of links to extremely useful resources which I can use in further studies make this course a great point of entry to modern Neuroscience.

To make the course even better in future versions, I can propose to include phylogenetic perspective to explain how different circuits formed through the evolution and why corresponding features of the brain were crucial for the survival of our ancestors - it allows for a deeper understanding of CNS function. The overall course duration can be preserved by compressing some duplicate reminders of core concepts, for example.

von Alisa Z

6. Okt. 2017

Incredible course! One of a kind! I can't but admire the meticulous preparation, methodology and the constant thought about the learner that's behind it. But I have to say - this was the most difficult course I've ever taken in my life... I had my ups and downs, many times I thought that I'm going to quit - but I kept going, mainly thanks to the thoughtful organization of the study materials, which makes it so rewarding at the end, and to the community support standing by. This course is definitely unique and for me, personally, it changed a lot. I am not a medical professional and this course opened a whole new world which is worth exploring further! Finishing this course is like finishing reading a good book, when closing the last page you think of those who are going to go through it for the first time and you are happy for them. :)

von Rangel P

20. Juli 2020

This course is like no other online course. It takes full dedication in order to complete it but at the end you feel like you have accomplished something really meaningful. You must work really hard and show a big amount of self-discipline and then everything pays off. The structure of the course was brilliant. Dr. White is the perfect lecturer and he manages to inspire you throughout the whole course. I'm really grateful for the creation of this intensive and really helpful course. These words come from a medical student in Germany - so that's a greatly appreciation of the spectacular work that the team of Duke University has done. I'm looking forward to participating in other wonderful projects like this one!

von Odette W

23. Aug. 2020

Excellent course, the best I've had on Coursera! I really enjoyed the depth of this course into neurology and the gradual and clear explanation of Dr. White. It covers anatomy, histology, physiology, embryology, molecular biology, pathology and much more! All illustrated with anatomical specimens and illustrations. Deep respect for the immense knowledge of Dr. White about the neural anatomy! As a medical student with affinity for neurology, I've become more enthusiastic for this specialism and this course is a good way to prepare for my residency. It's a shame that the course has an ending! But i'm definitely gonna rewatch some of the tutorials again!

von Mariane V M Á

18. Jan. 2018

Excellent material, excellent teaching techniques, excellent and challenging evaluations. Allows the student to initiate and complement study contents. I'm very satisfied with the course as a whole, and very grateful to Dr. White, Duke University and Coursera's platform for allowing healthcare professionals, like myself, to get in touch with the various aspects of Neuroscience (which are not commonly available in my country) and develop a future in this scientific world.

von Vivien K

19. Feb. 2021

Fantastic course! Thank you so much, Prof Dr Len White and team! 13 weeks full of super interesting neuroscience! I feel like having studied a whole semester at Duke University. And now I appreciate even more all the complex relationships inside our brain, the interconnections to our senses and muscles, and all the chemical and electrical dependencies. Awesome! :)

von Y.David Z

22. Apr. 2020

As a former US medical student, I signed up for this course as a rapid review for my upcoming PhD program involving neuroscience research. In terms of difficulty, the content of this course is on par with that of preclinical medical school coursework. The only difference being that medical school exams are longer, closed-book, and timed (obviously).

von Nancy

14. Mai 2019

I am not a medical student but love biology and want to explore how human body works. I am so much intrested in Neurocsience. This course is one of the best and professor White's way of teaching and making students understand the Nervous system is best of best. Though for me it takes time but I am able to learn slowly. Thanks Prof White.

von Lei Y

27. März 2019

A singular online learning experience, certainly enriching. Thoughtfully structured with Dr. White's rigorous and gentle touch. It gives me a very effective introduction into this world and now I'm equipped with a good map to further pursue one or more of the intrigues it presents me.

von Liam

29. Nov. 2018

Very well designed and innovative course. I feel as though I have really progressed as a practitioner after completing this course. I warn you however, it is a long course and can be very challenging at parts, especially if you are juggling other commitments at the same time.

von Dr E M

25. Mai 2020

This course was truly in-depth and enlightening. Compared the quality of the content with other online learning platforms and noted that this one was more practical.

It is also very trying and needs a lot of discipline and hardwork. Well done for such a programme!

von Devarshi M

11. März 2021

This is the best class I have ever taken. The amount of information that I have learned goes beyond any other course I have ever taken. As an aspiring surgeon, this information is of great importance to me and Dr. White is an excellent instructor.

von marjan g

15. Jan. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

von Ashish K S

23. Aug. 2020

One of the most in-depth, feature complete course available on neuroscience. Highly recommended to anyone interested in neuroscience, and especially for people engaged in neuroscience research.

von Indra R

27. März 2019

I used this as preparation material for a module/test for my graduate degree and i found the videos to be clearer, more complete, and helpful than my actual courses. That is quite impressive.

von Zeshan A

7. Dez. 2018

The best course I ever had in my life. Thank you Dr. Len White for providing such an great opportunity to learn neuroscience and motivating us to explore the brain.

von Eleanor M

3. Mai 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I learned so much from Dr White and was impressed with the quality and clarity of the course content.

von Jeremy C

14. Dez. 2018

Solid course. I only wish there were more. Thank you, Professor White & team!

von Abu H

9. März 2019

very good course under the supervision of greatest Prof. L. White

von Laura A G R

23. Dez. 2018

the best course that i has been

thanks Dr Write

von Judith M

1. Sep. 2017

Depending on how long one has been out of school quite hard work. Needs a number of hours every week to keep up, especially for those not having "The Book" (Neuroscience) or not having the use of all the online material provided. (Logins didn't work). However, I'd recommend it to people in health professions like me, Physical Therapists, Occupational Therapists, Nurses in Neurology, or anyone wanting to revise the work with a clinical bias. It allowed me to study from home. which is great! It's the clinical stuff that was really interesting in the final exams although quite difficult!