Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medical Neuroscience

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Medical Neuroscience von Duke University

4.9
Sterne
1,959 Bewertungen
556 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top-Bewertungen

KT

Nov 22, 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

KR

Dec 22, 2016

I have not really taken any Neuroscience courses and I have to say this was very challenging with my already full-time load at school but I did it! Yay! I love Dr. White he is an awesome professor!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 546 Bewertungen für Medical Neuroscience

von Sofia I M S

Aug 11, 2016

Great course! The tutorials are very complete and the lengthy explanations allow anyone without previous knowledge of neuroscience to join the course. There are also many opportunities and ways to interact with fellow students. Thank you!

von Noor B

Aug 29, 2016

The very value able efforts made by Professor White in Medical neurosciences, it is quite, sufficient materials for learners of medical graduates. I found this course a big challenge. Thanks To Professor Len White and the whole team.

von Ricardo R

Jan 28, 2017

Dr. White's classes are concise and very, very enjoyable. The syllabus is very complete and the overall course structure is excellent. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to know the inner workings of the human brain.

von Nielsen B E

May 22, 2020

Excellent course. The contents are explained in a clear and comprehensible way by Dr. White, who was a great instructor. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone deeply interested in the fascinating field of Neuroscience!

von Ayman T

Aug 03, 2017

This is an outstanding course and Prof. White is a great teacher and his enthusiasm and passion for neuroscience and educating others is readily apparent. I would not hesitate to sign up to any other courses developed by this team.

von Kathryn N

Jul 19, 2020

This course was truly an amazing learning experience! The material was challenging, but as delivered by Professor White was an equally rewarding and understandable curriculum. Thank you for this experience in Medical Neuroscience!

von Kodagoda T N H

Oct 28, 2020

Thank you so much, Pro.White and his team for their honest dedication to complete this medical neuroscience program. This was a great chance for me to brush up on my knowledge and it became a new path for me to change my studies.

von Liuxiaohong

Aug 10, 2016

this is a fabulous course with deep insight content as well as a professional team which is lead by an excellent professor, which could maximize the benefits for every students who want to explore the journey of the neuroscience.

von Santiago P H

Jun 04, 2020

Overall a great course. Sometimes it deviates into more experimental fields which is difficult to keep the pace, but afterward, you realize that these are still research topics and are not necessary to understand Neuroscience.

von Jennifer A

Aug 24, 2020

A Challenging and a course that really pushes you. The guys who have made this course have really out done them selves and I'm so greatful to be able to learn from them as it's really opened a new area f interest for me!

von Elena D

May 01, 2017

This is a challenging, amazingly interesting and inspiring course. It gives you great foundation in the subject as well as basis for practical application of knowledge. Many-many thanks to professor White and the Team!

von George T

Sep 16, 2017

THE BEST CLASS EVER.. In non Academic terms... "Da SH*et!" - Awesome really. Thanks Dr. White for taking the time to really dedicate such awesome materials, and with such sincerity and passion.

George - Taiwan

von Joseph D Z

Aug 23, 2020

Excellent course!! I learned a lot! It is quite technical and difficult at first, but there are many provisions that aid in learning. So eventually, one gets the hang of it. Kudos to those who set this up!

von Jordan R P

Aug 29, 2020

One of the best educational programmes I have ever had the pleasure of taking part in; this online course thoroughly put my own university course to shame and I highly recommend it to anyone wishing to learn.

von Ramyasshree R

May 25, 2019

Thank you so much for offering such a wonderful course ! Dr White has presented this course in such an engaging manner, that helped sustain the interest and curiosity throughout the course. Many thanks again.

von Kyungdo K

Jul 13, 2020

Thank you for professor White and all other team members at Duke University and Coursera.

I can learn a fascinating world of brain and plan for my next career in neuroscience. I owe it to you.

Have a nice day!

von Saif A B

Jul 27, 2017

I really appreciate this course and happy to pass it successfully. You will cover almost every aspect of medical neuroscience. This course helped me to enhance my visual and abstract neurological perception.

von Maddy C

Jan 13, 2017

This was a fantastic course, very interesting and a real challenge! I thoroughly recommend it to those who know about medical science as those who don't will struggle. It was very hard work but worth it!!

von Maria D C C M

Sep 29, 2019

A marvellous experience!

I highly encourage you to enroll this course if you want to discover the complexity of our amazing brain!

Thank you Coursera and Duke university for sharing this knowledge to us.

von letitia f

Jun 29, 2018

I am absolutely not working in the field of medical neurosciences (neither do I intend to), but I found the course amazing. Thank you very much for the pedagogic approach very clear and well constructed.

von Bridget M

Jul 02, 2017

Dr. White is phenomenal and I learned more than I imagined I could. I look forward to using my newfound knowledge to help those in need and continue my journey further into the Neuroscience world. -Dr. B

von Omar C A

Jun 13, 2017

Best course I have taken in Coursera so far. You have to work hard, but it´s worth it. Dr. White is one of the best professors I have ever had. He enjoys teaching, and he is a passionate of his subject.

von Pavan C

Oct 04, 2020

This was a fantastic course. It honestly changed my life in terms of the amount of knowledge it gave me, and the new interests that I've developed. Thank you Duke, Professor White, and all the mentors.

von Tuuli U

Sep 22, 2020

Completing the course is very time-consuming, but it helps to get a very good overview of the topic and new connections are constantly being made. A very complex topic is explained very clearly.

von Cristian N

May 08, 2018

This is a top tier course, with medical knowledge presented in a way that's easy to follow. You can see the effort and dedication shown by Dr. White and his team. Thanks for such an amazing job.