Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medizinische Neurowissenschaften

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Medizinische Neurowissenschaften von Duke University

4.9
Sterne
2,459 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top-Bewertungen

MG

14. Jan. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT

21. Nov. 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 723 Bewertungen für Medizinische Neurowissenschaften

von Katarzyna L

22. Juli 2021

A very difficult and challenging course! It was a great adventure. I learned a lot and will never stop recommending this course to anyone interested in neuroscience. Great job! Thank you Prof. White and everyone who contributed to creating and maintaining this course. Greetings from Poland!

von julia e

27. März 2022

Really inspiring and well-made course; everything's explained in such a way to get all things toghether and understand them deeply, even if there's lot of stuff to study. At the end of the course, you will absolutely gain new skills and have an incredible and complete learning experience.

von Nandita R

23. Sep. 2018

It is just amazing! Had the opportunity to learn so much about the brain and its functioning. Made me become aware of the incredulous backstage processing that occurs to produce the simple ways that make us human and that we take granted for. Thank you Prof. White for the amazing journey.

von Hritik K S

6. Juli 2021

One of the best courses. I learnt about brain In Biology in Grade 12, but here in this course, I got to know the actual facts and functioning because this course contains good images, good animation, review questions and most importantly a good professor. Loved it, thank you Course Era

von Arjun M

10. Dez. 2021

I am really happy that i took this course .I was able to understand how our brain works and complexity involved in it. And I wanna thank Dr. Leonard E White sir for making this long course interesting and understandable. Thank you Duke University and coursera for starting this course.

von Bob G

4. Jan. 2021

The course was very well organized, with the quizzes reinforcing the video lectures. In particular, I enjoyed the lab sessions and the tutorial notes. The quizzes and final examination were challenging, yet fair. Overall, Medical Neuroscience was a fascinating educational experience!

von Fariel S

8. Nov. 2020

amazing course. I am from a physics background, but this course was a real eye opener for me.. a lot of things that physicists think about such as consciousness are actually explained here very coherently. I hope this course will help me in my future work. Really great instructor.

von Shannon N

30. Mai 2022

I love this course one because of the subject matter and 2 because of all the effort to teach this subject and from someone like Dr. White who genuinely has a natural ability to teach and obviously one who is extremely familiar with this subject. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

von Marco M

22. Jan. 2022

This course gives you high-quality information about the brain anatomy and functions.

The lab lessons by Professor White give a great insight about what a real brain actually look like. I've never had the chance to see it this way in all my years of study.

Highly recommended course!

von Luis B

30. Apr. 2020

It is only enough to thank each and every one of the people who have allowed us to access this course full of wisdom, passion and fun. A googolplex of thanks to you. Especially to our great teacher, Leonard. Thanks, you have allowed me to reinforce the love I have for the brain.

von Lawzha S L

28. Mai 2018

Very detailed and very informing, I learned a whole lot from this course, it contains very useful information and it is taught in an amazing way!

Upon the completion of this course I developed a passion for Neurosurgery, and I think that's the specialty that I'm going to pursue!

von Jake E B

10. März 2019

this course is challenging, but it is 100% do-able if you are committed and really assign a purpose to doing well in this course. dr white is amazing and really knowledgable, there is so much to learn from him. there are also ton of resources for you to do well. you can do it!!

von Pauline Z

17. Juni 2020

Great in many points! Sometimes very hard, but worth it.

I would have love to have more courses on cognition and emotions.

The videos are great and the quality of the course is truly enjoyable. The teacher is also great and is a very good speaker, easy to understand, to follow.

von Thin Y

31. Okt. 2020

Lenoard E.White is an excellent teacher. It is a great course that gives us a lot of interesting points and knowledge about Neuroscience. It helps me a lot in learning neuroscience. I want to suggest that everyone that is interested in neuroscience should apply this course.

von Alexandre G d A

18. Dez. 2021

One of the best courses I have ever taken at all. Professor White is excellent. Can explain in a didactic, clear and objective way, but without losing the complexity and details of the topics at hand. In addition, recordings and schematics help non-native English speakers.

von Cecile D

29. Juni 2016

Really great content and teacher, and also really challenging. Hard work needed to succeed, but it's really worth it ! Recommend it for all person interested in understanding how the brain (and all the superior brain functions such as memory, cognition, emotions...) works.

von Dr R P

12. März 2021

A great experience - learning and understanding a very complicated science.

After completing this course, I am confident that I can learn anything, however difficult or complex the subject is.

let me express a very sincere thanks to Prof White and his team. Thank you!

von fahim f

4. Sep. 2020

Absolutely Fantastic course by Professor Len White... Highly recommended for anybody with interest in the field of Neuroscience as this course gives you a great basic concept and a depth of knowledge in the subject and continuously encourages to learn more and improve.

von Angello D

25. Sep. 2020

It has been an excellent experience, the course is really well organized and professor Leonard White is very good at explaining all neuroscience topics. Neurosciences fascinate me and I found this course the best course I have ever taken so far. I highly recommend it.

von Marc L

25. Juli 2017

Excellent in-depth course. Many great features, including very rich extra materials and study tools.

One annoyance: the infinite repeating of the "core neuroscience concepts" at the start of each little section (yes, we know the brain is complex!), but easy to skip.

von Kajol V S

1. Juli 2020

Loved this course at a great extent. helped me learn a lot in fair depth. very very grateful to Mr. White for putting so much efforts in preparing this course for us. his love for the brain reflects throughout the course which makes it even more interesting to study.

von YUAN Y

25. Mai 2020

I love this course!

I enrolled in this course a year ago but cannot understand very well (I found it was an advanced course but I was just a beginner). Now I have read and learned more about Neuroscience and I finally finished this course. I feel very proud of myself!

von Roberto L

14. Feb. 2021

Many thanks to Professor Leonard White and his team at Duke.

His passion for this area reveals in this course and was an inspiration for me to continue.

He and the team can bring closer neuroscience for everyone. This a true merit and something that makes them great.

von Simonov O

2. Apr. 2017

An interesting and wonderful course, which gives a deep knowledge of the anatomy and physiology of the nervous system, and also reveals the mechanisms of different pathologies. It will be useful to both students and doctors. Thank you, Dr. White! You are the best!

von Claudio E C

20. März 2021

Realmente es un curso maravilloso, atrapante y demandante no fue ni es sencillo , pero enriquecedor en el conocimiento de la Neurociencia .Realmente agradecido por el conocimiento recibido a traves de las clases del Dr White; un Profesor con todas las letras.