Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong von Yale University

4.9
Sterne
152 Bewertungen
66 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

AR

May 10, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! That must mean I am weird, but proof awaits a properly performed statistical study of the population who also "attended" the program.\n\nAllen J Rovner, MD

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 70 Bewertungen für Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

von Kenneth A

May 25, 2020

Honestly an excellent course! I teach online. I take courses online and I have spent an embarrassing number of years studying at universities. This was a very good course.

The best part (aside from the professor's obvious intellectual enthusiasm for the subject matter and that COVID is absorbing all the world's newsprint and electrons right now) is that the professor really taught to the big take-ways. Not only did he summarize them at the end, but he really focused the course on creating an intuitive understanding of the key points and did not get too involved in the details that one is doomed to forget.

von Brian B

Jun 02, 2020

Thank you Dr. Wilson and team for all the time invested in putting this course together. You managed the difficult task of presenting complex information in a way that can be understood in an introductory course. With lots of humor and good nature, you eased your students into understanding -- starting with simple, quirky, examples (especially liked the ones using Yale students), but always following up with actual research papers. If only your course were a prerequisite to opining on matters medical. Unexpected bonus: a cameo by Robert Schiller.

von Suresh P

Jun 02, 2020

Of the many classes I have taken on Coursera, this will be one of the the more memorable ones. I would like to thank Dr. Wilson on the quality of the material, both the information content and depth, and presentation. The information is timely, given the Covid-19 crisis and the number of media articles about tests. The information discussed went a long way to help separate the "wheat from the chaff".

It sure was a surprise to see a cameo appearance of Dr. Schiller. His class on Coursera, a few years back, was also top notch.

Thank you.

von Diane F

May 26, 2020

As a retired college professor who was involved in online learning in its infancy, I am impressed with the outstanding utilization of lecture + graphics + internet.

This particular course is a must-view for everyone, particularly during a pandemic when social media proliferates with phony bits of data masked to look and sound like scientific bits of data.

An added bonus for me is Dr. Wilson's humor and narrative style.

Thank you for offering this most excellent course.

von Clifton L

May 14, 2020

Professor Perry is an excellent teacher. I learned quite a bit from this course. His presentation of the material and his use of his personal anecdotes and the studies from the medical literature helped a novice, like myself, to understand the material more effectively and efficiently. There is so much misinformation today regarding the medical research surrounding the COVID 19 pandemic. I am going to encourage all of my colleagues to take this course.

von Chan C H H

May 15, 2020

I will definitely recommend anyone that has little experience in reading medical literatures but wants to have an insight into understanding the basics of medical statistics. Dr. Wilson is very engaging and this will undoubtedly help me read literature with more caution when it comes to choosing journals for submitting my assignments. It will also allow me to learn to debunk some of the myths that my friends falsely believe in too!

von Lohithasree B

Apr 30, 2020

I am currently a 7th grader who has a special interest in medicine. I found this course very helpful and personally learnt so much! This course was extremely engaging and fun to participate in. I enjoyed every part of this course from the videos to the quizzes. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in medicine and likes research.

von Višnja Ž

May 12, 2020

Amazing course, I learned a lot. Thank you for pointing out all the different 'red flags' we should immediately be aware of and look for. The lecturer should do another course as soon as he can, and I expect that he continues to use the many funny scifi references. Thank you for making this.

von Amber U

May 21, 2020

This course is fantastic. I have a PhD and consider myself very analytic, but I was unaware of the vast majority of issues discussed here. I will never look at medical research the same way again, and I will always look more closely with everything I learned in this course in mind!

von Nadia H

May 03, 2020

Excellent course providing a sound introduction to to topic. Content was enjoyable, lectures were engaging and presented with flair. Highly recommend to anyone who makes any life choices based on research they might read online, hear in the media etc

von Jaime H

May 20, 2020

This course was excellent. Quality content that was educational, informative, and entertaining. Dr. Perry was factual and provided great examples. I would highly recommend this course, and I would take any other courses that Dr. Wilson offers.

von Marliz S

Jun 02, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and hope to refer back to the videos when I read medical articles or conclusions. I definitely recommend this course, not just for the great content, but also for the way it was presented. Engaging and fun!

von yewei g

May 09, 2020

Interesting course, amazing video examples, great teaching! Thank you so much! As an investor, I will no longer be intimidated by medical researches anymore. BTW, I think this course is invaluable in this crazy COVID-19 new world.

von Christiana L

May 19, 2020

This is the first MOOC that I've ever finished after attempting millions (take that as you will). It was very informative, engaging, fun, and timely! Thank you Dr. Wilson and the rest of the staff for this amazing course.

von Kevin M

May 03, 2020

Incredibly good presentation of what can be a difficult subject to teach. Examples were great, style of delivery was relaxed and friendly. I loved this course. I'm a 65 year old male and am excited to continue to learn.

von Giulia N P D G

May 14, 2020

Incredible course. All amazing, how Dr. Perry teaches is unique. The material is easy to understand. I would recommend you 100% to enroll in this course.

von Michael V

May 15, 2020

A course every health professional should take. Informative and entertaining...that speaks volume for a course on medical research!

von Sylvia W

Jun 02, 2020

I write about medicine and thought I knew all this. I was wrong. Great information, delightfully told.

von Héloïse B

May 15, 2020

Great course. Very informative and fun way to learn more about statistics. I would definitely recommend.

von Kristina J

May 13, 2020

Definitely recommend to learn this topics!

von Marie A C P

Jun 05, 2020

I'd recommend this to anyone who's a bit afraid of numbers but really wants to make an effort in separating "chaff from the grain", and contribute to more level-headed discussion. Especially as the COVID-19 pandemic continues and we're seeing so much research coming out, we need to be more skeptic and curious. It helps if you have a little background in statistics from college days, but even if you don't or can't remember, F. Perry Wilson does a comprehensive job of presenting the concepts.

von FRANCESCO A F

May 17, 2020

Amazing course!! Prof. Perry Wilson, got me interested since the very first lecture, and led me to the end of the course in no time! I recommend taking the course, especially if you are a Med-School student, because it will make your life that easier! I would also like to point out for any non-english student that nothing in the course is too complicated to understand, so it's a win-win!

von Tino

Jun 03, 2020

First of all I would like to thank Dr. Perry Wilson who has done an awesome job presenting that topic with such a great structure and passion. Secondly, I would like to thank Coursera for having free access to this module. Overall, I have learned quite a lot of things and gained a much better understanding in detail as well as in total of medical research. All the best!

von Buck w

Jun 05, 2020

A fascinating course taught by an extraordinarily gifted, interesting and often funny professor. Dr. Wilson was able to explain complex concepts in surprisingly easy to understand terms. will look forward to his next course.

von Joy B

May 30, 2020

Excellent course. I liked the non-medical references used to explain ideas. I LOVED the interviews. My only complaint is that when the instructor moved to a different board it took a bit of time for the camera to follow him.