Chevron Left
Zurück zu Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader von Wesleyan University

4.4
Sterne
56 Bewertungen
30 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The blank page can be the most daunting obstacle in writing. In this course, aspiring writers will assemble a “starter kit” for approaching the blank page by developing constructive ways to think about the writing process as a whole. While subsequent courses in this series will focus on the mechanics of good writing, this course offers ways to think about the writer’s relationship to her material, and ultimately develop a writing style that is uniquely her own....

Top-Bewertungen

SL

Aug 05, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

RG

Sep 24, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.\n\nI really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 28 Bewertungen für Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader

von Ruth L G

Apr 20, 2019

I loved the challenge of writing BUT I received one feedback apiece on only my 1st and 3rd assignment. I reviewed 3 assignments from others for all of the assignments. They were minimal. Maybe you should guide us what we say to other writers.

von eileen p

Aug 18, 2019

The instructor was excellent, clearly and patiently explaining key concepts; and the assignments were useful to make me think about the writing.

I am not a writer and my enjoyment and appreciation of writing have grown significantly. Thank you!

von Peter C

Jan 04, 2020

I felt that sometimes the instructions for the assignments were not clear, or if they were clear, what was being requested was rather trivial and elementary. Perhaps that was what made it hard to review one's peers. I was rather disappointed that the number of peer reviews, and their depth and content, were so minimal. I was diligent in reviewing others' - ranging from a minimum of 6 to a max of 13 reviews per assignment, over the four weeks. Yet most of the time I only had one, and occasionally two, people make any comments in the peer review. I may well have misunderstood what was being asked. So many of the contributions were of a low standard in grammar and sentence structure, even if the situations they were describing were full of interest and life. They wouldn't have passed a 5th grade teacher. Having said that, the video presentations by the professor were very engaging and I enjoyed thinking about the points he made.

von June W

Feb 25, 2019

I audited this course to brush up on my personal essay skills. I think that's something every blogger and writer, like myself, should do periodically. I enjoyed the course and I think I'll enjoy the rest of the specialization just as well.

von Margaret M J

Oct 19, 2019

Key concepts in crafting memoir are presented, explained, and followed up with dynamite exercises. I found this course extremely useful in my efforts to structure and craft a memoir of my long work history.

von Susan L

Aug 05, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

von Edeltraud V

Aug 23, 2019

Just started today and finished already teh first week...fantastic ...well spoken, well informed, easy to understand from someone english is a second language. Look forward to the next weeks.

von Roxana G

Sep 24, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.

I really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

von Paulo B

Jan 27, 2020

The course widened my perspective of the memoir genre and helped me get the tools to accept the challenge of writing.

von Tom B

Dec 07, 2019

This was really a fun course. I feel much more confident that I can write an interesting memoir!

von Filia G

Dec 18, 2019

Greg Pardlo instills the learner with the insight needed to prompt the writer in you!

von ANSARI S A

Nov 06, 2019

Greg Pardio has imparted valuable information. The pace and delivery style is great.

von Emerson M A

Dec 12, 2019

I learned a lot, thank you!

Looking forward to keeping learning!

von Denise M

Jun 17, 2019

I enjoyed the prompt activities and the use of new terminology.

von David J M

Dec 29, 2019

Great course. The writing exercises were excellent.

von Susan R

Sep 18, 2019

This was a great first dive into memoir writing!

von Travis W C

Jul 04, 2019

Great course with engaging instruction.

von Halcyee A

Jul 06, 2019

Excellent presenter

von John E P

Nov 13, 2019

Greg, I have to admit I found Course 1 of the Specialization to be harder to understand than the other three courses. I am still somewhat confused about the Frame concept and Extradiagetic frames for example.Family interviews are not really practical for me because all the people I need are dead. Even the Selfie assignment was not really clear for me especially after reviewing some of the peer submissions.

Despite the above I think a careful review of the content of Course 1 will likely prove to be very useful and I need all the help I can get, that's for sure. I'm trying to write my first book so this entire Specialization has been a great.help.

von Mark G W

Jan 09, 2019

Eye opening from a technical writing viewpoint but slightly frustrating practically as it took me longer to finish than I wanted due to relying on others to review my work. Nevertheless, this course has some vital information for writers. Recommended.

von Jennifer M

Aug 20, 2019

I enjoyed this course and found it very valuable. I thought some of the assignments were confusing and could be clarified.

von Lisa Z

Apr 07, 2019

Lots of insightful tips and thought provoking ideas for my memoir.

von joy o

Dec 08, 2019

While, I found the professor engaging in personality, I don't think he did a good job of explaining some of the concepts such as diagesis and frame well to a beginner writer. His lectures could have been longer than 5 minutes. I found myself trying to find clearer definitions and examples elsewhere and still never clearly understood them. I did enjoy the writing prompts and exercises and found them helpful to improve writing. One other point: the course needs a monitor/mentor. There is no one out there to answer genuine questions about the course. Also, I had one piece to evaluate that was porn, and that never should have gotten through. I did report it to Coursera.

von Colin P

Jun 06, 2019

I enjoyed doing the course. Some of the ideas I gathered doing it were very exciting. However, I was very disappointed in terms of feedback. I received one bit of feedback over the whole course. Also, there was nobody to contact if and when you came across problems. For instance, I was forced to review the same essay twice simply because I couldn't get hold of anyone to rectify the problem. There will always be problems so, it is important that there is someone to deal with them. This is not acceptable.

von Austine C

Aug 20, 2019

I enjoyed the course, the lectures and the incentive to write. But I was very disappointed that I did not get enough reviews of one of my assignments. I hope there will be more reviews so I can get a grade. I don't understand the deadline system. People seem to be enrolling willy nilly.