Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
2,014 Bewertungen
622 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top-Bewertungen

RD

31. Juli 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

6. Feb. 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 611 Bewertungen für Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

von Carole C

2. Dez. 2016

I loved everything in the course: the structure, going in depth in the concepts, the little quizzes and the movie clips. Thank you!

von Prabhleen A

3. Aug. 2020

It was an interesting course. I loved the peculiar movie selection and the way various aspects of memory is described through them

von POTHURI S V

7. Juli 2020

It was a breezy course. My interest was kept intact throughout because of the the wonderful explanations of Professor John Seamon.

von Thomas d S

9. Apr. 2018

Came for Memento, stayed for the soothing, sexy voice.

This course is a perfect example of how to use entertainment for education.

von Brian R

1. März 2022

I​ thoroughly enjoyed this course. The lectures were interesting, on point, and the movies clips brought the topic to real life.

von Siew L T

6. Juli 2020

Interesting approach in the use of films to teach such a topic. It helps me to learn both visually and auditorily . Thank you.

von Nurtan T

10. März 2021

I really loved it. Especially as the movies made the course more alive and I will remember the material better! Thanks so much.

von Tilman J

28. Juli 2016

A thoughtful and sometimes touching course. It gave me a lot to think about memory and the changes that occur in us as we age.

von Karthigeyan

30. Aug. 2017

The course was really entertaining. Came to know a lot of concepts related to memories and also some good movies. Thanks!

von Stegaru M P

9. März 2017

The idea of linking the concepts to movies is really good. I hope to see a course that continues what I've learned so far

von Kartika M

7. Jan. 2021

For the first time I binge-learned something!! This is a wonderful course that I will be using for my research purposes.

von Emily Z

13. Juli 2020

A charming and very quick (can be done in about 5-6 hours) class but very interesting! The movie clips are fun to watch.

von Amy Y

10. Mai 2020

Amazing course. A very memorable and effective way of teaching using the movie as a guide and application for knowledge.

von Prateek R

19. Mai 2016

Really liked the idea of using movie clips.. -- gives audio/visual illustration/example to textual psychology topics..

von Raluca M

6. Juli 2017

This has been a very enjoyable course, well structured and entertaining. I have recommended it to some of my friends.

von Germán E C H

26. Aug. 2021

i BEGAN TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY IN MY CINEMA CHAIR.BY THAT PSYCHOLOGY AND MOVIES ARE MY BETTER WAYS TO STUDY HUMAN BEEN.

von Isha P D

10. Apr. 2020

Very helpful and really very interesting, Sir has a really high knowledge and puts things up very clearly! Thankyou!

von RITESH G

31. Aug. 2018

Love the innovative way of learning the concepts on Memory through some excellent collection of movies. Thank you.

von Ronald M

4. Juli 2017

This is great course about memory! I enjoyed all the movies that were used as examples in the course! Recommended.

von Christy L

27. Juni 2017

This course was easy to follow and entertaining and it was especially useful for learning about ageing and memory.

von Mary H

13. Sep. 2017

Relating the concepts to movies made them easy to learn and remember. Very comprehensible and pleasant lectures.

von Jean S

6. Aug. 2017

Excellent course informative and entertaining. I especially enjoyed the film clips which illustrated the lectures

von Maria

31. März 2016

Great course, i really enjoyed it. The material is very interesting and very well presented. Great job Professor!

von Lisa M

26. Juli 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for an overall knowledge of the memory functioning. Thank you, Jackie ;)

von Janette F

6. Okt. 2017

This is an entertaining and challenging course. I learned a great deal about memory and enjoyed the movie clips.