Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
2,015 Bewertungen
622 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top-Bewertungen

RD

31. Juli 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

2. Juni 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 611 Bewertungen für Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

von Angelina C

18. Juli 2020

It was fun to get a basic understanding of memory through movies, it made the lessons much more interesting.

von Kinga D

21. März 2019

The course was very informative. My only complaint is that the audio was very soft when the professor spoke.

von William A

26. Aug. 2016

nice way of presenting materials. i enjoyed ever bit of them.

i will recommend this course to others for sure

von Alvaro P

13. Jan. 2018

Great way to learn about memory and the brain. This approach should be an example to follow by other moocs.

von Kaori M

27. Juli 2016

Informative and entertaining! Yes, in this course you can learn about memory and have fun watching movies.

von Marieta C

23. März 2021

Highly recommend the course! Charismatic knowledgeable lecturer and a very entertaining journey. Thank you

von Moses C

6. Dez. 2020

Extremely informative, interesting and yet very educative. Its on the top of one of my edutaiment courses

von ALEXI G M C

21. Aug. 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

von Sara S X

13. Juni 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

von K. J R

16. Mai 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

von Malathi J

30. Aug. 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

von Angela K

22. Okt. 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

von chalchitrart

1. Aug. 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

von Isabella F L

24. Aug. 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

von Susan W

4. Dez. 2020

I loved this course! Such an experiential way to teach about memory. This professor is outstanding.

von Lydia V P

21. Apr. 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

von savithri i

23. Juli 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far

von Likhitha B

30. Juli 2017

Prof. John Seamon makes this course an absolute joy! Do not forgo the pleasure of taking this course!

von Vijay R

30. Jan. 2018

Extremely engaging and entertaining course that adds to my vocabulary and curiosity of human memory.

von Rachelle W

21. Aug. 2021

Terrific course! Well-structured, interesting, and informative. Enthusiastic applause for the prof!

von Anuradha D R

26. Juni 2021

very informative at one level and interestingly put together, i personally benefitted a lot. thanks

von Donna M J

12. Apr. 2018

I enjoyed learning about Memory through movies. It was a fun and intesting way to learn. Thank you!

von Kravchenko O

2. Okt. 2020

Absolutely amazing course! Thank you, Professor for an amazing journey into the realm of Memory :)

von Καλλιόπη Κ

5. Jan. 2021

I loved the way professor presented the course. I made me to be curious to explore more about it.

von Дина

2. Dez. 2017

Very useful course in which you can learn a lot about your memory watching your favourite movies!