Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
2,027 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top-Bewertungen

RD

31. Juli 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

6. Feb. 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtern nach:

576 - 600 von 616 Bewertungen für Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

von Saisree M P

27. Mai 2020

It makes "memory" a lot more interesting chapter

von Jouhans H G

27. Mai 2019

Muy bueno, interesante, práctico e interesante.

von Mansi K

4. Juli 2016

Liked the course, subject, content and faculty.

von John C

11. März 2019

Awesome course. Loved the use of movie clips.

von Kousay a

18. Mai 2016

Memory is an important topic to learn about.

von elisa G d R

17. Sep. 2016

Was very Interesting! I learned a lot!! Tks

von janette v

24. Okt. 2018

Muy buen curso sobre temas de psicología

von Taska H

14. März 2022

Loved it would do it again.Great course

von Britta G

6. Juli 2016

Very interesting in an entertaining way

von Caroline B

1. Sep. 2017

Very interesting and easy to follow !

von Aleksandro d S S

23. Feb. 2020

Very interesting and useful course.

von BK L

16. Sep. 2021

Good! Great learning course

von Ivan

31. Okt. 2017

Fun and informative course.

von Eckstein B M

7. Aug. 2017

this subject is interesting

von Shirley K

7. Juli 2020

fun course glad I took it

von George L

19. Juli 2016

Great movie selection.

von Marc M

15. Feb. 2018

Very interesting !

von Chan J T

28. Mai 2017

Great Course!

von Nanditha G

28. Dez. 2021

it was nice

von Djana R

1. Juni 2018

Good course

von merit s

10. Okt. 2016

Interesting

von Angie T S

29. Juni 2017

Gracias

von 김명자

20. Jan. 2018

I

von Safwa A

3. Okt. 2017

i

von Liz A

10. Okt. 2020

The course is good - even excellent but it's difficult to compare it with other courses I've been on that are substantial, detailed and provide a way into the . It's nice and basic. Only one book is used as reference material (which you'd have to buy, and it's written by the lecturer himself), no links to research papers, self tests, or anything at all outside the course , no suggested reading lists. All the testing is done through basic quizzes - (but they're good!) no essays, self-reflection assignments, no check your knowledge embedded in the videos. I found it very interesting. Technically - videos are in nice chunk-lengths, (short and focussed) but the sound is a bit faulty: some hiss, and low volume-level , - which is more obvious as the lecturer is softly spoken. He is easy to listen to however, though. Occasionally audio and video are not together. The music used to start each video sounds like an off the shelf jingle.