Chevron Left
Zurück zu Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta by Universitat de Barcelona

4.5
51 Bewertungen
17 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you can learn about the mechanics of global weather, the foundations of ocean meteorology, predictive modeling and how sailors receive data via satellite and use high-performance navigation software. This course looks at oceanic meteorology and climatology through the lens of the sport of sailing. You will gain a basic knowledge of meteorology needed by sailors to take part in a regatta such as the Barcelona World Race, the only double-handed, round the world regatta with no stops. You will learn about the strategies employed during a round the world regatta and how these are put to use on board the latest ocean racing yachts....
Filtern nach:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

von AUBIN N

Dec 16, 2018

Really interesting course to have a really good idea about what system can be expected on a round the world regata. Also really good material for local effects and tactics.

von Luis A R A

Jul 07, 2018

Curso muy interesante para planificar navegaciones a la vuelta al mundo. Guía práctica y bien explicadas de las condiciones meteorológicas reinantes en cada área en donde se desarrolla la BWR. Material didáctico muy útil que hacen más entretenido y fácil el aprendizaje de todos los contenidos.

von JOHN Q

Jul 26, 2017

Not only interesting, but a hula lot of fun to take. I felt in the race!!

von Joseph B

Mar 11, 2018

Great course for any aspiring navigator or anyone who wants to learn about weather.

But, a majority of the course is in Spanish but, there are subtitles.

von John B

Jan 15, 2018

This is my first MOOC and it lived up to my expectations. The material covered was well presented by great instructors. That some of the lectures were in Spanish (which I do not speak) was not a problem. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in

von Fethi O Ö

Jun 26, 2017

''No man will be a sailor who has scheme to get himself into a fence,for being in a ship is being in a fence, with the change of being overwhelmed.'' Said James Boswell in 1759. It's not good enough to become a sailorThis course telling us how to use winds when you on the sea surface.Thanks for the creators and all sailors teached us which kind of subjects the meteorology included.

von Iustin T

Apr 03, 2018

Very interesting material, nicely explained. I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you!

von Kristina F

Sep 15, 2017

Awesome course. If you're into sailing or meteorology there is nothing better. The amount of knowledge conveyed in this short course is immense, yet it's fun and captivating the whole time.

von Daniel C P

Mar 13, 2018

Great info and clearly presented! Very usefull!

von Pedro R

Jul 26, 2019

Curso focado bem na rota da Barcelona World Race com ótimos conhecimentos e boa didática!

von Pier L G

Dec 26, 2018

Very useful and practical. Sometimes the audio quality is low.

von Ian F

Jan 15, 2019

Good introduction to ocean sailing meterorology

von Matt M

Aug 30, 2017

interesting course, sometimes the subtitles are not correct. But overall it is easy to follow. I had sometimes some difficulties to see the boats on the screen behind Marcel in the case studies.

von David W

Jun 04, 2018

Instructors did a great job introducing not only Meterology, but the basics of sailing equipment and technology for taking a boat around the world. Excellent!

von Federico S

Jun 29, 2017

Muy interesante! Seria ideal contar con los subtitulos en español para los audios en id

von Doris G

Feb 10, 2018

The material was insightful and useful. Unfortunately it mainly covers the route for the Barcelona World Race and I was ultimately more interested in the weather patterns for the North Pacific. I think the overview of the weather (first sections) with the latter sections chockfull of examples were great and I better understand the weather systems in sailing terms on a broad base. Thanks!!

von dan h

Aug 17, 2019

Somewhat deceptive that the course is advertised in English but given in Spanish.

von Joy S

May 05, 2017

I was hoping for interesting info about world weather. But the meteorological stuff is that concerning sections of the round-the-world yacht race route. Seems to be a class on what you would need to know to win this race safely. Some of the boating info is interesting. Also, it's largely in Spanish. So, if you are English speaking and like subtitles, then you are good to go.